We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Lake Tekapo accommodations

Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (256)
  • Photos (112)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (52)
  • Location
  • More
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    89
    73
    31
    28
See reviews for
82
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is undeniably great. No matter where you are placed, just a minute or two's walk will get you lakeside. However, a number of the camper van plots have their view of the lake obstructed by large trees, or partially so by a building. My fiancée and I arrived relatively early (mid-afternoon), having phoned earlier and been told availability... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there from the United Kingdom I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and the site that was allocated to you. Unfortunately we only have 12 sites that have a completely unrestricted view of the lake and from there the sites are terraced and have filtered views through the trees. We obviously cant cut all the tress... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed there for 1 night. Each of us was given one coin which was used for bathing. Furthurmore, you are allowed to bath within 10 minutes. Finally, the toilette and kitchen are too far away from the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to comment on our holiday park. From your comments you obviously stayed in one of our standard cabin. A standard cabin is just that, sleeping only using the holiday park facilities and this is standard whenever you stay in a holiday park in NZ. Yes our showers are operated by a $2.00... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the motel accommodation and it turned out to be one of the best decisions we made. We had looked around for other options but there were no vacancies anywhere else and we were a bit concerned that we may not be too comfortable here, but we needn't have worried. The rooms are spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there By your comments it was a stroke of luck you being able to stay with us as it sounds like you had a great time and were very happy with your motel unit. You also stayed at the busiest time of the year and still enjoyed the hustle and bustle of it all. Thanks for taking the time... More

Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time to Lake Tekapo & really liked the facilities on offer. From the upgraded modern unisex toilets to the slightly older but very clean women's (& men's) only at the other end of the holiday park. Lovely warm tv room & the closest accommodation to the hot springs. Friendly staff. We were all very happy with our three night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello to sunny Whangarei. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Lake Tekapo and for taking the time to review us. You would have well and truly been in chill out mode having been able to spend three nights with us. We are actually working on plans at the moment for the new amenities block to replace the... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This campsite really has the most perfect position in Tekapo! We stayed in an ensuite cabin, which was lovely and warm with an absolutely stunning view across the lake. Stocked with all the crockery etc you could need, they really are a great option for a lovely, simple stay. The shower was lovely pressure, and very hot as it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Jess We are ever so lucky to have a holiday park in the perfect location with the perfect view and the hot pools down the road are a real bonus for our guests. I'm glad you had a great weekend away and found our ensuite units more than adequate and well stocked. Just a wee heads up that we... More

Cypress, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located across an access road from the lake, and on a small bluff, the motel rooms have a lovely view. We took that last unit left, a two-bedroom with a large, fully equipped kitchen with a table, and a living room. The unit was spacious and clean and within walking distance of the few shops and restaurants in Lake Tekapo.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Mallory from Cypress, California You are a long way from home so I am very happy we were able to make your stay in Lake Tekapo enjoyable, comfortable and friendly. You had the perfect view with all the mod cons. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments they are always appreciated. Take... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First night we stayed in backpackers lodge. Good facilities. Wasn't for us so next day they were able to upgrade to ensuite cabin right on lakefront. Fantastic. Very close to hot pools, minutes walk to lake front, great views of mountains and close to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Susan for CHCH I'm glad we were able to move you to another unit for your last night. Backpackers facilities aren't for everyone :-) I'm an ensuite girl myself! Thanks for your positive comments and you certainly upgraded to one of the best views in town. Hope to see you back this way again some time cheers Andrea More

Pune
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in standard cabin... location is excellent...just infront of lake tekapo. If you want to see real beauty of nature...then this hotel is perfect. You can see beautiful morning and soothing evening having cup of tea/coffee. Kitchen is shared and there are many dinning tables on the bank of lake. Bathroom was quite far from our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello I'm glad you liked our location and the uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo. You stayed in a standard cabin where you use the communal facilities. These cabins all come with a blanket, duvet and sheets and all you have to supply is a towel. All beds have the same so I'm not sure why you needed a blanket as... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived 30 minutes before check in time and were initially asked if we could come back. But we were then given our room. Not much of a run down on the area on our arrival. Good location and clean. Very close to Tekapo springs. Average experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments about our holiday park, I have just got back from annual leave so playing catch up now so sorry for not responding sooner. If you had been asked to wait on check in it would have only been as the room wasn't ready. If the rooms are ready we are more than happy to... More

Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed one night in a camper van the toilet and shower facilities were clean and tidy was disappointed we had to pay for showers after paying so much for the site. But in saying that it's open so anyone could walk up and use the facilities so maybe tokens should be given to the campers that pay so it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Girls Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our pay as you go showers are an added extra but in total the cost of the site is still only $22 per person which is still a little cheaper than some camps as you head further south. But you banged the nail on the head when you mentioned... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park is set amongst mature trees on the picturesque shores of Lake Tekapo. Our grounds offer endless views across the turquoise lake to the surrounding mountains. If you’re looking for Lake Tekapo accommodation, our Holiday park is the perfect place for a family getaway or a nights stop over, with a bed to suit everyone’s budget.Set in the scenic Mackenzie basin, our lakeside holiday park accommodation options include camping and campervan sites, cabins, self-contained motel units and a backpacker lodge, all with clean and comfortable facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list