We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Lake Tekapo accommodations

Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park to your Saves list
2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    93
    76
    31
    29
See reviews for
87
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Byron bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here at a powered site with my partner in june. Loved the sites, had the one of the best views of our entire stay in New Zealand! We didn't use the kitchen facilities but the showers were good although the only place I have been to that was coin operated but that didn't bother us. Lovely walk into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi all the way to Byron Bay You would have found it a bit cold here in June but you had the perfect site with the perfect view. Awesome! Thank you for your great comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip down under. cheers Andrea More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on a powered site for 2 nights in August. The facilities were satisfactory and clean but tired. The manager/owner was very amenable and even provided a can opener for our use when our Kea camper van did not have one included. It is a short walk to the Tekapo Springs and not too far from the village to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi ya! Thank you for taking the time to make a comment on our holiday park. It sounds like you were kept busy while here. Although I have said to people that they can walk Mt John at night to see the stars (with a good torch of course) I haven't heard back from anyone who has actually done it... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a (lakefront) ensuite cabin, at Lake Tekapo Holiday Park for a three-day break. We arrived after dark, and after checking in, followed the drive through a security point, and past the camper van parking to the 'primitive' camping area. Our cabin (handicapped accessible) was directly across from the showers and shared kitchen. Ours was a two-room unit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi down there in Dunedin Thank you for your great review on our holiday park and the Lake Tekapo area. I am sorry that your heater didn't work when you arrived but that prompted us to have it replaced so there is a super duper one in there so next time you visit and if you choose to stay in... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lake Tekapo is approx half way between Queenstown and Christchurch so it makes an ideal place to break the trip. We were travelling in a decent campervan so seemed logical to stay at this holday park. The cost for an overnight powered site was what was expected and the site overlooked the lake and boating club. The site was small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to review our camp. Unfortunately the camp isn't brand spanking new or ultra modern but it is a great camp, in a perfect location with fantastic views and has been part of the community for a very long time and holds a lot of great memories and history for many people. You... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel the view of the lake is spectacular very good location near from town Winter or summer the view is excellent the only inconvenient was that was snowing an the TV didn't work but the rest really good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Coming from Auckland you would have found it a bit chilly with the snow :-) Unfortunately Sky doesn't like snow! Other than that I'm glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the amazing view. We might see you back some time! Take care cheers Andrea More

Tumbulgum, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the 2 bedroom motel unit-5 pax directly across the road from the lake terrific, clean and cosy for our family of 4. So close to Tekapo Hot springs and main area of town with shops, restaurants, cafes historic church etc Was situated in a great spot not only for the amazing scenery but also for us to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Kellyjane40 We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our holiday park. You stayed in one of our newly refurbished 2 bedroom motels so we are really pleased it was to your liking. My goodness you guys were busy while you were here which goes to show Tekapo is more than a one night stop. Awesome! Thanks... More

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in late July on a powered site. The views were spectacular across the lake. The new unisex facilities were clean and tidy, however we preferred to use the older facilities as these were a little warmer and had a bath tub we could utilise for our 2yr old. Found these to still be clean and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there You would have found it a little chilly in this neck of the woods being from the Sunshine Coast.!! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive and friendly review. You obviously fitted in all Lake Tekapo had to offer while staying here the three nights. I hope you got some skiing... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This holiday park have a brilliant location, Lake Tekapo just at our doorstep. However, the facility is quite poor. NZ$2 for 15 mins hot water. Kitchen is small and facility is not good as well. We been there in winter time, we even cannot refuel our water because their pipes was frozen. But their view is so good that those... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there sunny Perth We are lucky to live in such a perfect location but unfortunately the winter weather does play havoc with the water supply. All our pipes are lagged but obviously this doesn't always help when you have such harsh frosts. This morning we had a campervan who's water was actually frozen in his tank! While we are... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As a family of 5 touring NZ in a motorhome for a month we got to sample many a caravan sites throughout NZ. Of all the places we stayed at whilst touring NZ, this had to be the pick of them for being the worst place to stay at. Granted the view was spectacular but so are a lot of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Wow! I have had to think about how to reply to this review as obviously you did not enjoy your stay with us. I guess, first up I must apologise as somehow we must have upset or offended you first up for you to go to such length to find fault in our holiday park. To mention that... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The location is undeniably great. No matter where you are placed, just a minute or two's walk will get you lakeside. However, a number of the camper van plots have their view of the lake obstructed by large trees, or partially so by a building. My fiancée and I arrived relatively early (mid-afternoon), having phoned earlier and been told availability... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there from the United Kingdom I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and the site that was allocated to you. Unfortunately we only have 12 sites that have a completely unrestricted view of the lake and from there the sites are terraced and have filtered views through the trees. We obviously cant cut all the tress... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Motels And Holiday Park
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park Hotel Lake Tekapo

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lake Tekapo with
any amenities