We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    108
    92
    38
    33
See reviews for
100
138
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (319)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed two couples two nights this week in one of the cabins beside reception. The owners seem proud, as they should be, about the improvements they have been making to the property. The recently renovated cabin was perfect because: right on the lake, quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious for a cabin, good linen and toiletries, visits from resident ducks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Linda K Thanks heaps for taking the time to review our holiday park. We are glad you appreciated our upgrades to the motels and had a great stay. We even put on good weather as well! Thanks again and I hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable cheers Andrea More 

Orange, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Attention to detail by the manager was brilliant right down to escorting us to our room and personally showing us how to use everything. Views out of our unit were brilliant overlooking the lake. Overall it was great value for money. Beds were very comfortable and the unit spacious. Lots of good literature. We have travelled extensively in nz and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Dave F from Australia. Congratulations on the cricket! (its Monday am) Thanks heaps for your positive feedback and we are very happy you had a great stay and everything was as you expected and you were well looked after. I hope you enjoyed the rest of little old NZ Thanks again cheers Andrea More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this kiwi bach - so many interesting bits and pieces - very retro! and also had great views of the Lake. Hot water bottles in case it was really cold - but also good heating. Would definitely stay here again - it was awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Morning Robin K from Auckland Thank you for taking the time to write such cool comments about our Kiwi Bach's. I'm glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the Kiwiana come retro look of the bach's. It's starting to get cooler now so I think the hotties will be getting a work out soon :-) Thanks again cheers Andrea More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

perfect location overlooking the lake, pitch sizes somewhat cramped. Had the misfortune to run out of gas so had to use the only kitchen on the site. It was a nightmare with people milling around, sharing cookers. Made worse by some of the hot plates being faulty or incredibly slow. On such a large site they need at least one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Alan P from Sutton Thank you for talking the time to review our park. I'm sorry you didn't think it up to your standard however we do have two amenity blocks each with a kitchen, toilets & showers so I'm not sure how you managed to miss the other one. On check in everyone is given a map of... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice big camsite with plenty of amenities Lake view site really nice. Yes it was hard & dry but hey it's summer people. We slept in our van so no problems there. Swam in the beautiful & refreshing lake all day every day we were there. Some people have disgusting toilet habits, however when the office was notified their staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Morning Alan T You were one brave person swimming in our lake, yip refreshing is the right word lol. We have had a little rain (still not enough) so the place is greening up a little but thanks for reminding everyone it is summer and yes it is dry :-) Thanks for your great feedback and we are very happy... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

what is the point in booking if when you arrive they change it? We booked on 12/02 to arrive on 09/03 (nearly a month in advance) We were 3 people, so we bookwd a 4dorm room, bit when we arrived, they put us in a 6dorm room. we booked the 4dorm because we had a 67 years old lady with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your feedback however I find your comments a tad harsh as I have just looked into your booking as to why we would change your booking when you had supposedly requested a four bed dorm. Your request was that "you all be in the same bedroom away from loud/noisy people, much appreciated". There was no... More 

tirau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only good point is the view. Staff need a lesson in people & communication skills. Emails sent. Not returned. Phone calls - no communication back. Even tho we booked for a large group mid 2014, what we got was not what we had booked. Staff couldn't care less. No smile - just a blank stare....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you found our reception staff unhelpful and without knowing exactly what you had booked it is hard to comment other that to apologise and ensure this doesn't happen again. Not everyone has a good day however blank stares, no smile, is not the way I have trained the staff and this is... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in late, and this was ok as we had informed the site. Nicely organised paperwork at reception waiting for us and we found camp site easily. Hard clay site, difficult to get standard tent pegs into. Went to reception in morning to register properly and was charged for our second night, having being invoiced on paperwork that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your review. I'm glad our after hours procedure worked for you but unfortunately we obviously got it wrong the next morning... I emailed you a couple days after receiving your email on the double charge and refunded you regardless of not hearing back from you. As you will be aware we are in a bit... More 

Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The hostel is 10 mn outside the city. We have been to the camping area. The floor is horrible. No grass. Just some clay and rocks... I spend 2 horribles night. We wanna cook something for the dinner. Unfortunately there's nothing to cook. They don't supply any pan or stove... If you don't have your own... You can only go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi there You are right we don't supply pots etc in the kitchens and this is well advertised on our website however it also says under the kitchen information that we can loan you pots etc if you don't have them. Had you asked we could have loaned you everything you needed at no charge. We use to have stuff... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
76 hotel reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I think we were given one of the best powered sites. Beautiful lake views from our van and not too far to the facilities. In spite of it being a weekend it was not too crowded although the noise of the power boats starting up early for the skiers was a bit annoying. The walk to the village is longer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Lee T You must have been on site 30 - 17 with a great view. We need another 100 of these sites lol. Thanks for your nice comments and I'm glad you had a great time. Those boaters ah! If the lake is calm - there goes your sleep in! Must confess we were a bit like that when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question