We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park

2 Lakeside Drive, | 8770, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    125
    98
    43
    34
See reviews for
112
155
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (357)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (124)
All months
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the motel part. We turned up late, so collected key from outside office. This was all fine. When we got to the room it was freezing cold and took a good half an hour to warm up, not so very welcoming. The room was lovely, but the bathroom a bit squashed and average. Also freezing cold, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a two bedroomed unit called number one cabin and it was called that for a reason - the views are amazing (when it's not foggy). The unit was spotlessly clean, the beds are really comfortable and the heating works well. This is an old unit that they have done up to some degree. The bathroom is still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location, just off the main drag. Very quiet with amazing views from my cabin. Very clean and functional. Although very popular and busy it was nice and quiet when I stayed in April 2015. Great place to relax and recharge. Checking in was quick and easy all the staff I met were very helpful and friendly with some great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great location with stunning views and you've got a captive market. With the price you're charging for campsites, it really is time to spend some money doing up the older ablution block. The showers are a disgrace. Glad there's a coffee cart though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time myself and my boyfriend have stayed here and each time we are more than ready to leave after one night. The view and the location are perfect but thats pretty much as good as it gets. As there is no other camp grounds in the area, the rates are expensive and the management can get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be honest, I was a dissappointed, we stayed in one of the motel rooms (#5) which is about $160 a night, not cheap. The bed was only a queen size, and not comfortable to me. The sheets while warm (we went in winter) were quite noisy, every time I turned or my partner turned, we woke eachother up. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The locals told us it was the only place to stay in lake Tekapo, we later found a couple places for freedom camping. All the amenities are old and in poor condition, showers were $2 for 10 minutes and I had no hot water. Will not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry you had a cold shower but to date other than when we had the big snow dump and power cuts late June no-one has had issues with the showers if they have used the correct NZ $2.00 coin. The showers don't operate without this. You must also turn the hot water tap on, it is not automatic... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

$20per head that's pretty normal $2for 10minutes of water in the showers $4 washing machine $4 dryer $2 washing detergent $7 WiFi for one device for 24hours Struggled to see all the expense value. Facilities were clean views were nice but that's all I'd take away from this place. Staff at the reception seemed a little short with us too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry you had a cold shower but to date other than when we had the big snow dump and power cuts late June no-one has had issues with the showers if they have used the correct NZ $2.00 coin. The showers don't operate without this. You must also turn the hot water tap on, it is not automatic... More 

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a motel and a powered site. The motel was good, clean and well equipped. The place was very calm and the view from the motel was fantastic. They also have some ducks around the area, my daughter loved to chase the ducks. They have some time restriction to the powered site. We didn't try the shower as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrea C, General Manager at Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you and your family had a nice stay with us. Lats summer was a blinder with the awesome weather and all. Thanks again cheers Andrea More 

Whakapapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed at a powered site and it looked like #25 to #28 were the best spots in the house and we got #26. The views were amazing, decent price, but I was a bit surprised when I found out they charge $2 for a 10 minute shower. They had unisex bathroom/showers and had separated womens/mens as well. Clean bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay