We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Stratford B&Bs / inns

Stratford Heritage Lodge

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   103 Miranda Street, Stratford 4332, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stratford Heritage Lodge to your Saves list
Stratford Heritage Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
83%
Ranked #8 of 9 Stratford B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014
Claude H Palmerston North
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here before & after our Forgotten World trip in golf carts on the rail and found it charming. It was a nunnery and has been converted to accomodation. The chapel has been turned into the lounge which doubles as a place to have our delightful continental breakfast. As we had taken over all the available rooms there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night and room was comfortable. Sink in room and small TV screen to catch up on news. Only a few clients so no waiting for share facilities of 1 toilet,1 shower and 1 bathroom which had toilet, bath and a shower. Would be cold showering in winter there. Kitchen is very small if you are cooking. Combined lounge/... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol D, Owner at Stratford Heritage Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, it does sound like you prefer motel type accommodation so maybe shared lodges are something you need to avoid, naturally you will pay accordingly but that is OK everyone is different. More

Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I loved this place, the hosts are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. All rooms are clean with quality furniture i.e. this is the bedrooms, kitchen, lounge and bathrooms. Because it was a convent the whole place has a lovely feeling to it (well blessed) and the lounge was the chapel so has amazing stained glass windows.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StratfordHeritage, Owner at Stratford Heritage Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Adele, glad the weather was kind to you and you were able to do all things you did in this area from the walks, rail cart trip etc More

Pokeno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed here three times now, and will again. The owners make you very welcome, the rooms are very clean and tidy, and its very central to all of Taranaki. The public rooms are warm and cosy, and the owners are very knowledgable about the history of the lodge and the surrounding areas. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol D, Owner at Stratford Heritage Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks, good to know what we offer is so much appreciated More

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
87 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the cottage owned by the same couple who run the lodge. It was beautiful and well equipped. The Digbys are super people and run a lovely establishment. They also have a fast wi-fi connection for free. They provide a great value and the location is perfect, close to parks and downtown. Don't miss... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol D, Owner at Stratford Heritage Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much, glad we were able to offer you our cottage after your long drive - hope the rest of NZ treats you well :) More

UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Owned by a lovely couple with a genuine passion for the great outdoors. Super rooms, really clean and lots of public space in lounge/dinning area. Awesome views from bedrooms, if Mt Taranaki appears from the clouds!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stratford Heritage Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stratford Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratford Heritage Lodge

Address: 103 Miranda Street, Stratford 4332, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratford Heritage Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Stratford Heritage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Heritage Lodge Taranaki

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stratford with
any amenities