We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn By The Bay

Hotel website
78 Front Road | Box 33, Dildo, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 1P0, Canada
Inn By The Bay
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Duncan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The Inn By the Bay is a B&B not to be missed. The breakfast room overlooks the ocean. Tammy looked after all our needs and then some! She is a real gem! The Inn has been sold and there is talk of them serving dinner again. Our room was great. Very clean and everything we needed--again thanks to Tammy. Because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June of 2011 and fell in love with the Inn. When we decided to return to Newfoundland this year, we couldn't wait to go back to this charming place in Dildo. We were disappointed to find that there is no longer evening dining available and we were forced to go to the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

I am the new owner of the Inn and apologize to you for your previous experience. As the new owner I would certainly go beyond to ensure you had a wonderful stay with us and a wonderful hot meal at breakfast. Our dining room also would be opened to serve you a gourmet meal from our wonderful chef!!! Please visit... More 

Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We checked only for a room for three people, online there was a room available. we booked it, 50$ were reservation fee. the next day we got an email saying the rooms could only be used only by 2 people. we canceled the reservation (since we ARE 3 people after all), 3 months in advance. Took me by surprise, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

Hi we would like to assure you that the INN BY THE BAY is now under new ownership and we would love you to visit and have a really good experience this time around. I apologize for your previous experience but would certainly make it enjoyable this time round Colleen owner More 

Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at this charming place some years ago .They had a different owner then.read some of the recent reviews and wasn't sure if it would be the same experience.well....IT WAS! Believe you me the four of us had a great time there(2 couples)..The owners sister, Evelyn was really gracious and even offered us some beautiful spice cake with our tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was very nice with just enough space to be manageable - not super roomy but enough to be practical. Very comfortable bed. View from dining area is nice but view from our room was of the driveway. Not a big deal except that it was hot and we wanted the window open for sleeping. Good thing there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The inns breakfast room is right next to the water. Imagine outer delight while enjoying our coffee Starbucks I might add four minke whales were surfacing right in front of us. They were going back and forth for at least an hour. The fact that breakfast including fish cakes and they were able to give me gluten free toast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This lovely inn was renovated beautifully by the previous owners who continue to own the George House Heritage B & B which is up the hill. The room was very comfortable with lots of hot water. Under the new owners, there is no fine dining as there is no chef on the premises. The staff tried their best but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

We are the new owners of the Inn and apologize for your past experience please know we would certainly make your experience unforgettable this time around More 

Guelph
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A beautiful building on the water in Dildo, but the price is far too high for what you get. We only stayed one evening, but we never met the host(s) - which is disappointing because that is part of the B&B experience. The breakfast room is very chic, but the breakfast is very small (as opposed to every other bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

We are the new owners of the Inn and we would certainly make your experience enjoyable if you visited us again. I Apologize for you previous experience from the previous owners. regards colleen More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Inn on one night during our trip. One of the reasons that we booked there was because it said Fine Dining restaurant "on site" as we did not want to go looking for places to eat for a one night stay arriving in the afternoon. I received an email from the Innkeeper the day before arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your experience at the Inn. I am the new owner of the Inn and invite you to come visit as we would certainly make your experience most enjoyable. We took over the Inn in October and we are so sorry about your previous experience at the Inn. If you would like to come visit... More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for one night during our trip around Newfoundland and our stay was pleasant enough, but was nothing special. The room was quite large and comfy and had been recently re-carpeted from the looks of it. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was a reasonable size. The breakfast was served in a very nice dining room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colleen M, Owner at Inn By The Bay, responded to this review

Hello and first I would like to apologize to you for your previous experience at the Inn. We are the new owners of the Inn and would certainly make your return visit most enjoyable and certainly as the new owners would show the Nfld hospitality you would expect and enjoy. Regards Colleen M More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question