We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Dingwall hotels

Tulloch Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tulloch Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dingwall
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DSMtravel West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (342)
  • Photos (145)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    88
    58
    57
    45
See reviews for
56
186
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just some words that came to mind after we visited Tulloch Castle – for the last time. We have been here before some time ago and standards were slipping back then but we thought we would give Tulloch Castle another chance as we had heard that the place was under new management and things were improving. So, we decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking forward to a "castle experience" and the building met our expectations. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were experiencing a heat wave and the rooms are not air conditioned. Our windows opened with difficulty, but a fan in the room was helpful. The rooms are definitely a bit shabby and in need of new curtains,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel through lastminute.com and got bed & breakfast for 2 for £99.00. The directions to get to the hotel from their website weren't the best and when we arrived, we both though oh dear what have we booked into! The gardens and driveway do not appear to have been attended to. We parked the car and tried to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently stayed at Tulloch castle for valentines and loved it soo much we were hoping to come back again next year so we phoned up and said the room we wanted was available and was going to get back to us for prices a few weeks has passed so thought we would phone back and find out what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lloret de Mar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night with my wife, we were lucky because we found a last minute offer at half price. I think this hotel was a bit overpriced for what they offer. The castle is extraordinary, our room was really comfortable and has an extraordinary scotland atmosphere. The location is also spectacular, but the hotel service is not the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked two nights here late July. We had checked out the website and were looking forward to having a couple of nights in a lovely hotel. What you see on the website is not what you find when you arrive! The first thing we noticed when we got out of the car was a terrible smell. This turned out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your thoughts. We apologies for smell you experienced in the car park. We were also frustrated. Unfortunately, our waste collector had issues with their collection vehicle and the pick up was around week late. The fantastic temperatures we were experiencing at this time did not help the situation. As per legislation we check and record... More

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This property is in serious need of a cash injection both internally and externally. The room we were in was really shabby. The wallpaper in the bathroom had scrapes and holes in it. The shower curtain was mouldy round the bottom. There was thick dust on the shelves in the bathroom. There was a very old over sink light that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. We apologies for your unopened door and I have spoken to the housekeeping staff regarding this issue. I understand your feedback regarding the building and we are constantly repairing and maintaining. We would love to welcome you back so you can see other areas of the hotel and enjoy the "excellent food" you... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the 2 bedroom castle apartment which was a fabulous space. Big living space dinning area and really nice decor. Really enjoyed my stay just could have been so much better folks with just a little more effort from housekeeping. Cobwebs are good for effect but not inside the rooms. Also wee things like loose door knobs and torn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your helpful feedback. I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team. We do have guest comment forms in the bedrooms, however, following your comments we have now left a supply on our reception desk. Thank you for this helpful advice. Kind regards More

Edzell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very old and traditional castle and understandably not easy to maintain but some simple things would make such a differance here. Decor in public rooms very good. Bar area poor and resembles average pub with food style, not befitting such a grand hostelry Paint peeling chipped and just generally grubby in many areas......could be easily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your thoughts on your stay at the Castle, which we will certainly take on board. I will certainly pass your comment onto our housekeeping department who will be disappointed to read that they have not achieved your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed the service in the bar and the food and service in... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tulloch is a bit of a mix, it is a very interesting building and well looked after, our room was very large and had a very nice four poster bed, the public area is very atmospheric and has a good selection of magazines. Dinner in the hotel was quite good, the breakfast buffet was about as bad as it gets,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TullochManager, General Manager at Tulloch Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay and inparticular the breakfast provision. I will definitely be reviewing the issues you mention, as I was surprised to read them. We usually offer grapefruit segments and prunes as well as a small selection of cut fresh fruits. I am glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tulloch Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
1

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tulloch Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer