We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Combe Grove Manor Hotel

Brassknocker Hill, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Combe Grove Manor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Combe Grove Manor Hotel
Combe Grove Manor Hotel
Combe Grove Manor Hotel
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    279
    201
    114
    98
See reviews for
152
554
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (980)
  • Mar-May only
    (258)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (286)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (211)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (225)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can not recommend this hotel despite its fabulous location. I was very disappointed to be in the annex, which does not provide the expected four star experience. Thought at least it would be quiet, overlooking a green valley, but it is on the exit road from the hotel and sports complex so there were cars going right past our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel as a treat for my birthday ... needless to say it wasn't cheap. We were extremely impressed with the grounds and the appearance of the hotel, it looked lovely. When we booked we thought we were staying inside the hotel, in a beautiful room ... but when we checked in we were told to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westerham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is situated in wonderful grounds and from tge outside appears a "grand" place to stay. However, the bar is situated in a lower floor necessitating going outside the main facilities to obtain a drink. We were shown to a lounge to await our evening meal assuming there would be a bar where pre-dinner drinks could be purchased -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here this weekend just gone and it was lovely. We stayed for one night under the Sparkle offer which included a 3 course meal, bottle of wine and breakfast. The location is superb, the food was amazing and the service was excellent. We stayed in the Manor House building and the room was very clean... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Themainlegend, Many thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review after your stay at The Combe Grove Manor Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Rafael Gonzalez General Manager More 

Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a weekend break and a spa day here for my fiancé's birthday. We were rather disappointed!!! The room was really very dated and in need of a complete overhaul. On the plus side it was a fantastic view. The main hotel looks as though it has been recently renovated and is in better shape. We had dinner at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerchiss, I am sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay here for your fiancés birthday. Your feedback regarding your evening meal will be discussed with my chef and his team as this is not of our usual standard and we usually get lovely feedback regarding dinner. The points for improvement that you have mentioned are appreciated... More 

Travelers are raving about these Monkton Combe hotels

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful Hen weekend here last Summer. I was upgraded to the Bridal Suite which sadly I had to give to my mother as she has mobility issues and there is a lot of stairs! My room however was lovely, the views amazing. Dinner was delicious and the service friendly & attentive. We used the spa facilities which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheMarchantsx4, It is fantastic to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable hen weekend here with us at the Combe Grove Manor Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback especially regarding your rooms, evening meal and also the attentive service you received. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.... More 

London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in Hotel Collection establishments before and been impressed by the high standards of their period properties I was very much looking forward to a weekend at Combe Grove Manor for my partner's birthday. Unfortunately we were both sorely disappointed as our accommodation turned out not to be in the beautiful Manor House pictured on their website, but in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathryn36, It is shame to read that your recent stay was a disappointment and that certain aspects were not to your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for highlighting a few issues with your room; the Maintenance Manager has been made aware and the appropriate action taken. I do hope that you will consider another visit to the hotel... More 

Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Combe Grove Manor Hotel. The hotel It is set on a hill above the historic city of Bath. Our room had wonderful views across the valley and treetops. We had a wonderful warm reception, the room was amazing and the facilities suited us perfectly. We ate well in the Bistro and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N5777TEbillb, Thank you for the review and I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at The Combe Grove Manor Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back for another visit again very soon. Kind regards Rafael Gonzalez General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited for a Spa day and so I am not commenting on the hotel. My wife has mobility issues, she can walk short flat distances but cannot manage more than a few steps and struggles with slopes. The website does give accessibility information and it does state that access to the leisure facilities is ‘via steps’ and that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pianodidge, Thank you for taking the time to write about your spa day experience. I am disappointed to read that it did not meet your expectation on this occasion and that the stairs made for bad mobility issues. Your suggestion for the stair lifts has been handed over to the relevant department and will be looked into. I do... More 

Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here for a weekend. Our second floor room was very comfortable, although there were minor maintenance issues, and well furnished. The catering was excellent and the service top notch: nothing was too much trouble. We also enjoyed the spa facilities, the indoor pool and the indoor tennis courts. Those with mobility issues, the main house has NO lift and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at Combe Grove Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 19Busymum, Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, enjoyed our spa & leisure facilities and found our catering and service to be top notch at The Combe Grove Manor Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

562 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (233)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (49)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (35)
Viewed
Family Room with Terrace (28)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (19)
Viewed
Standard Double Brown Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Green Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay