We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bear Inn

Northgate | High Town, Bridgnorth WV16 4ET, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bear Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bear Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    21
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
9
56
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Only stayed one night but fell in love with the place. Walked into the bar to enquire if the room was still available and was greeted by the landlord and landlady, who obviously take pride and love their business as we was made to feel welcomed straight away.Room was really comfortable was clean and smelled of fresh linen bright and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penkridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a lovely quirky room which had been the brewery. Had it's own private garden area which we enjoyed in the sunshine. Very clean. Good breakfast. Excellent location at the end of the main street. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was small but adequate and clean.The only real issue was there was only one tea bag and no milk which was rather disappointing. Breakfast was superb, just what was required after a night sampling some of the towns fine ales. Would recommend the hotel for a cheap stay over in bostin Bridgnorth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but reading some of these I felt they were unfair. We stayed in the room at the end of the garden which was lovely. It was clean and had plenty of space for the 4 of us. The shower could probably do with a new head as was not great but lovely and warm. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Visited whit monday. Left food . Mash reheated. Peas uncooked. Onion gravy set in small pot. Barman saw meal pushed to one side and never enquired if there was a problem.wouldnt have served it to anyone. Rubbish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

The Bear Inn is situated in a very convenient location at the end of the main high street in Bridgnorth. There is no parking, but that is the same for most hotels in the area - there are many long stay car parks where you can pay £3.00 all day. On arrival the owners were extremely friendly and as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Booked initially as 'live bands' at the pub at w/ends. Quaint Inn with 5 rooms and the room we were given had such a comfortable bed...Each bedroom is different with our room having exposed beams and was clean and fresh. The Inn is situated on the main street with plenty of shops, eating places and other public houses nearby. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed here for a night out with friends, room was warm, clean and tidy and had a good nights sleep. Great location. Ideal for a short visit to the area, plenty of good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Romsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Like a growing amount of people we turn to trip advisor before making that important choice in accomodation, I do not usually post reviews as I believe we are all individually looking for something different but on this I feel the negative reviews are cruel and injust. Phil was one of the most friendly owners we have every came across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn I would like to thank you for your review. The previous couple did a great job, which we are going to build on further, and I hope you will visit again. More 

Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked the apartment for £60 but when we arrived we were told it was not available due to drainage issues and were put in another room which i later found out was £5 cheaper a night, we were not offered any money back and when i emailed the hotel asking politely for the £5 to be refunded i got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn I would like to apologise for the experience that you had. We have recently taken over and have made many changes that we feel our guests will appreciate. We are currently working on a long term solution for the parking issue however we are able to recommend alternative cheap parking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay