We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bear Inn

Northgate | High Town, Bridgnorth WV16 4ET, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bear Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bear Inn
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    9
    5
    16
See reviews for
9
54
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but reading some of these I felt they were unfair. We stayed in the room at the end of the garden which was lovely. It was clean and had plenty of space for the 4 of us. The shower could probably do with a new head as was not great but lovely and warm. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited whit monday. Left food . Mash reheated. Peas uncooked. Onion gravy set in small pot. Barman saw meal pushed to one side and never enquired if there was a problem.wouldnt have served it to anyone. Rubbish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bear Inn is situated in a very convenient location at the end of the main high street in Bridgnorth. There is no parking, but that is the same for most hotels in the area - there are many long stay car parks where you can pay £3.00 all day. On arrival the owners were extremely friendly and as I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked initially as 'live bands' at the pub at w/ends. Quaint Inn with 5 rooms and the room we were given had such a comfortable bed...Each bedroom is different with our room having exposed beams and was clean and fresh. The Inn is situated on the main street with plenty of shops, eating places and other public houses nearby. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed here for a night out with friends, room was warm, clean and tidy and had a good nights sleep. Great location. Ideal for a short visit to the area, plenty of good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Romsley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Like a growing amount of people we turn to trip advisor before making that important choice in accomodation, I do not usually post reviews as I believe we are all individually looking for something different but on this I feel the negative reviews are cruel and injust. Phil was one of the most friendly owners we have every came across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn I would like to thank you for your review. The previous couple did a great job, which we are going to build on further, and I hope you will visit again. More 

Wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked the apartment for £60 but when we arrived we were told it was not available due to drainage issues and were put in another room which i later found out was £5 cheaper a night, we were not offered any money back and when i emailed the hotel asking politely for the £5 to be refunded i got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn I would like to apologise for the experience that you had. We have recently taken over and have made many changes that we feel our guests will appreciate. We are currently working on a long term solution for the parking issue however we are able to recommend alternative cheap parking... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We travel the UK extensively and have never had such an awful experience as this. The hotel's online system somehow allowed us to book and pay for the same room twice, rather than two separate rooms. The hotel staff didn't take any initiative to make us aware of this in advance of our arrival. Fortunately we called ahead to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn please allow me to apologise for your experience. We are reviewing our guest room booking procedures and as such we will not be using multiple booking channels, removing the instances of double bookings. I sincerely hope that you give us a chance and visit again and allow us to show... More 

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Booked last minute on a Saturday morning. Didn't know what to expect but we knew it was in high town. Parking was a little tough due to the market that takes over the car park. Entered through the pub which 1st impressions is oldyworldy Rock pub. Sat and had a drink with the friendly locals before being shown to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear Inn I would like to thank you for your review. The Bear is a fantastic pub with superb letting rooms. I hope that you visit again soon so as we can introduce ourselves. More 

wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

The old saying of you get what you pay for is usually true, but not in this case. Sure its cheap at only £50 for a 3 bedded room, but its just not worth it, then we find out they charged us £60.On arrival we met with half a dozen loud drunk locals who kept asking if we were rich,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
PaulTacchi, Owner at The Bear Inn, responded to this review

As one of the new proprietors of The Bear I apologise unreservedly for your experience. We have spent a lot of time making changes to the operation of the premises to ensure that what you experienced will never happen again. We have also removed the children's play area and have planned maintenance for the gardens to the rear of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay