We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Essex
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night as we were going to a party in the area. The room was quite basic but fine for a one night stay. There was free parking. The restaurant and bar are nice, food was nice.

Helpful?
Thank JadieLou
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night to attend a 40th birthday party. On arrival was told that although I had booked a double room through Expedia months before planned trip they could only give me a twin room. When I queried this they said that you can only book twin rooms on Expedia sight, I explained that this definitely wasn't the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CambridgeKaren
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I have looked in to your booking details and having spoken to the Receptionist on duty I believe that the original booking you had made through Expedia was for the wrong date so when you arrived at the hotel we weren't expecting you. I'm pleased that we were able to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Canvey Island hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for 2 nights first night trying to get to sleep all we could hear was the next rooms tv until 1.30am as i had come here to work for the next 2 days was not happy.Second night the noise was unbelievable with doors slamming shouting from the rooms & hallway from a large group of loutish drunks who made... More 

Helpful?
Thank eugenetomlin
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at the hotel. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to the Receptionist on duty when you checked out and passed on your feedback as then we could have tried to deal with your complaint. Although we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We stayed for one night to go to a friends party. Reception friendly. Room would have benefitted from a Fresh coat of paint. Bed comfortable and clean. Shower ok. Car parking available. Great breakfast friendly service nice restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank VivienneandNeil
Benfleet,Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Invited to the local Business/Charity Xmas Bash held in the Function Room upstairs, good time for Networking & seeing old faces. This is the 4th Function (of varying kinds) I've attended - never expected much, but has always been very good (for mass catering), & this was no exception. We all had to leave by 3.30 as they were starting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron R
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Christmas Lunch with us and would recommend the hotel and restaurant. We were extremely busy during the Christmas period so it is pleasing to hear that the food and service were of a high standard. Hopefully you can return to the... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Lovely and clean rooms. Very good breakfast. Nice hotel and very friendly staff. Can't wait to come back again very soon. Very good surroundings. Plenty of food outlets if you dont to eat in hotel. Also if you get a takeaway you are allowed to eat this in your room and hotel said to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, we pride our self on being friendly and helpful so I'm glad this was the case. More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

The tables were decorated lovely we was all looking forward to a lovely meal and evening, The food was served it all went down hill from there. 11 of us had paid £30.00 each and received childrens portions that were tasteless , starter was e few prawns dumped on top of two slices of cue and a little shredded lettuce,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig K
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry and surprised to hear that you were unhappy with your Christmas party night at the hotel. Our party nights are extremely popular and sell out year after year and many of the customers return to us every year to celebrate the festive season. I have passed your... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

We booked for a family function and booked the a more expensive suite. The room was great size, plenty of tea and coffee and a wonderful view of the estuary. However the carpet was badly stained, the bedside shelf badly marked and the sofa legs rather wobbly. We could not open 2 of the rooms windows as the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am disappointed that you were not completely happy with your stay at the hotel. I have passed your feedback on to the housekeeper regarding the carpet and other bedroom issues so these can be rectified. All of our rates are room only and competitively priced in the local market. Breakfast... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Arrived at hotel, 6 rooms booked for family, greeting lacklustre, asked for quite room. Room looked like it was decorated by a chimpanzee. Bathroom door had a hole in it, general appearance grubby. Bathroom in need of updating. Food in bar adequate. Noisy neighbours and despite asking for a quiet room was put on ground floor next to main entrance... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am disappointed that you were not happy with your stay at the hotel. We are in the process of refurbishing the ground floor rooms at the moment as all of the other rooms in the hotel were refurbished recently. Our Reception is not manned 24 hours hence why you went... More 

wrexham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

I have used this hotel on 2 occasions this year unfortunately in the cold of November. I believe it would be a better experience in the summer . However i was treated courteously by the staff and had good food and a very comfortacle room. The rates were very reasonable.I was on business but enloyed the hotel and the town.

Helpful?
Thank rollo2522
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#7 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
4.4 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 4 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#9 of 18 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay