We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poecylia Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Localita Becco, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Poecylia Resort
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
14
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of spending a week at Poecylia in July. The place is literally off the beaten track and very well integrated in the Mediterrean shrubby vegetation. Views over the sea from the cliff top are second to none. No sounds apart from crickets and no light pollution at night. This is the place to be if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not good because: - expensive - no acoustic insulation between the rooms (I could hear the neighbor in the bathroom) - no privacy - no air conditioning - street to arrive in the "resort" is a nightmare - beaches are very far and everything is very far (not possible to cook for the policy of the "resort" even if in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have spent 4 days in this so called resort... When we arrived we have been approached by the owner that tried to describe the place and the local policy. We have understood few minutes later that it was a scam..but having paid all in advance ( cost is relevant in this "resort" ) we have been obliged to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are looking for the modern, glossy, delux hotel with cap tipping doorman, forget this place. Poecylia is for those of us who want to experience wild beauty, breathtaking sunsets, a sense of release from the madness of city life and time to just be together or in the company of two rae and wonderful people i.e. Simona and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

what a place to stay!!! one of the best places where we´ve ever stayed definetly on sardegna and even in the entire world.. if you´re looking for a chilled,romantic and picturesque place to relax and get out of the busy all day live you shouldn´t miss staying with simona and piero!! talking about them they´re wonderful warm hearted, helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
istanbul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The minute you take the path from the main road towards Poecylia, you will be will be wondering what you will find at the end. And for us, we found what we were looking for; a combination of serenity, privacy and natural beauty. We loved the nature, the amazing view, the fact that it only has 6 rooms and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More 

Paris
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is not a hotel, and most definitely not a "resort," as they label it. It is a couple's home (the beautiful pictures, on a cliff), with dormitory-style rooms 500 meters away, deep in a ravine, with no views. There is no privacy--you have to walk in front of other's rooms, and they yours--and neither air-conditioning nor even a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
piergiak, The Chief at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

Gentile Tripadvisor, We have responded privately to two e-mails Mr. Lovejoy from the tone and statements for anything shared, especially in relation to the link between the claim and the negative publicity in the absence ventilated and, unfortunately, as we see, implemented. We are really sorry that the stay was not pleasant for the ns. Guest and his Lady, unlike... More 

Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent one week on the island of San Pietro at the end of June. We were very impressed by the wilderness and authenticity of the place which is what we usually look for. We could not have dreamed of a better place for our stay than the Poecylia. The attention to details in the decoration is outstanding and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
piergiak, Chief at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

Thanks More 

Paris, France
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spent a week-end with my girlfreind last week at Poecylia resort and it was just as perfect as we were wondering about it! The view is just wonderfull and at night you will see a sky with more stars than you ever could see... The bedroom and accomomodation were realy clean and beautifull, everything is made in order for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More 

Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Poecylia was recommended to us through a friend of mine who spends at least 1 month a year in Carloforte. My wife and I decided Poecylia would be the first stop on our honeymoon tour of Sardinia and Corsica. We stayed 4 days and 3 nights at Poecylia and our time there was nothing short of amazing. Upon our arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question