We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Carloforte B&Bs / inns

Poecylia Resort

Save Saved
You added Poecylia Resort to your Saves list
Localita Becco, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Hotel amenities
Poecylia Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Carloforte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carloforte
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
14
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of spending a week at Poecylia in July. The place is literally off the beaten track and very well integrated in the Mediterrean shrubby vegetation. Views over the sea from the cliff top are second to none. No sounds apart from crickets and no light pollution at night. This is the place to be if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not good because: - expensive - no acoustic insulation between the rooms (I could hear the neighbor in the bathroom) - no privacy - no air conditioning - street to arrive in the "resort" is a nightmare - beaches are very far and everything is very far (not possible to cook for the policy of the "resort" even if in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have spent 4 days in this so called resort... When we arrived we have been approached by the owner that tried to describe the place and the local policy. We have understood few minutes later that it was a scam..but having paid all in advance ( cost is relevant in this "resort" ) we have been obliged to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are looking for the modern, glossy, delux hotel with cap tipping doorman, forget this place. Poecylia is for those of us who want to experience wild beauty, breathtaking sunsets, a sense of release from the madness of city life and time to just be together or in the company of two rae and wonderful people i.e. Simona and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

what a place to stay!!! one of the best places where we´ve ever stayed definetly on sardegna and even in the entire world.. if you´re looking for a chilled,romantic and picturesque place to relax and get out of the busy all day live you shouldn´t miss staying with simona and piero!! talking about them they´re wonderful warm hearted, helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
istanbul
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The minute you take the path from the main road towards Poecylia, you will be will be wondering what you will find at the end. And for us, we found what we were looking for; a combination of serenity, privacy and natural beauty. We loved the nature, the amazing view, the fact that it only has 6 rooms and that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More

Paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is not a hotel, and most definitely not a "resort," as they label it. It is a couple's home (the beautiful pictures, on a cliff), with dormitory-style rooms 500 meters away, deep in a ravine, with no views. There is no privacy--you have to walk in front of other's rooms, and they yours--and neither air-conditioning nor even a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
piergiak, The Chief at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

Gentile Tripadvisor, We have responded privately to two e-mails Mr. Lovejoy from the tone and statements for anything shared, especially in relation to the link between the claim and the negative publicity in the absence ventilated and, unfortunately, as we see, implemented. We are really sorry that the stay was not pleasant for the ns. Guest and his Lady, unlike... More

Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent one week on the island of San Pietro at the end of June. We were very impressed by the wilderness and authenticity of the place which is what we usually look for. We could not have dreamed of a better place for our stay than the Poecylia. The attention to details in the decoration is outstanding and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
piergiak, Chief at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

Thanks More

Paris, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I spent a week-end with my girlfreind last week at Poecylia resort and it was just as perfect as we were wondering about it! The view is just wonderfull and at night you will see a sky with more stars than you ever could see... The bedroom and accomomodation were realy clean and beautifull, everything is made in order for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More

Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Poecylia was recommended to us through a friend of mine who spends at least 1 month a year in Carloforte. My wife and I decided Poecylia would be the first stop on our honeymoon tour of Sardinia and Corsica. We stayed 4 days and 3 nights at Poecylia and our time there was nothing short of amazing. Upon our arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
piergiak, Amministratore at Poecylia Resort, responded to this review

thanks More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Poecylia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Poecylia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poecylia Resort

Address: Localita Becco, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Carloforte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Poecylia Resort Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Carloforte with
any amenities