We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
12 Quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Hotel amenities
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
fota2248 Ireland
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    293
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
112
289
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (526)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (224)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Port-en-Bessin played a major role during WW2. An undersea pipeline (codename PLUTO) supplied the allied forces with fuel, and this pipeline was laid from UK to this small town in Normandie. The german forces did not have any major fortifications here, so you have to look elsewhere to find larger concrete structures. There is however some smaller MG bunkers (pillboxes)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IBIS B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for having taken time to announce us your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel. We are delighted to notice that you had a good stay with us and we thank you very much for your positive comments on our services (car park, cleanliness). Actually, there is no refrigerator in rooms, however we put at... More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights as our base to tour the Normandy Landings beaches and surrounding areas. It was a smart decision. What a great front of house team. So helpful and happy. We had a room at the rear which was very quiet. What we really did like is the 'Poppy' theme that is carried throughout the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IBIS B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for having taken time to announce us your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel. We are delighted your stay pleasantly takes place. We are very sensitive to your appreciations about the team and the geographical location. We look forward to seeing you all next time. Sincerly. Aurélie Rochas More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Recently myself and two friends came here for a weekend to sight see. The staff were very friendly, & as we had questions about a two bedroom suite, one of the staff offered to show the room to us before we committed to it. The room and common areas were very clean, & breakfast the following morning was also not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IBIS B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, responded to this review

Dear costumer, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We greatly value feedback from our guests. We are delighted your stay pleasantly takes place, we do our utmost to be attuned and at the disposal of our custumers. We know that we have the chance to be ideally to place at... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Husband, adult son and I stayed one night during 3 day visit to Normandy to visit landing beaches, Le Mont St Michel and Honfleur. Reception staff very welcoming, upgrade to Family room from Triple share was appreciated as it meant our son had his own room and full sized bed. Rooms were clean and spacious, bathroom has double sink and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IBIS B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, responded to this review

Madam, Sir, We thank you for having taken time to announce us your opinion concerning your stay in our hotel. We are delighted your stay pleasantly takes place. We are very sensitive to your appreciations. We have the chance to have a lot of good restaurant just near our hotel. Is will be with pleasure to welcomming you in the... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Another lovely stay at the Ibis, we came in the summer for the WW2 Normandy 70years anniversary and loved the hotel and Port en Bessin so much we came again in December a week before Christmas, it is a perfect way to get away from the hustle and bustle of the UK, Everywhere was much calmer with a lovely Christmas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IBIS B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin, responded to this review

Dear guests, We are delighted to have been able to welcome you in second time in our hotel. We thank you for having taken time to inform us about your opinion of your stay. Your satisfaction is our priority. Sincerely. Aurélie Rochas More 

Germantown, TN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. This was our base for touring the battle sites in Normandy. The hotel seems to be fairly new and the room was large, plus the staff was very, very helpful. Parking is free in a secure car park behind the hotel. You have a short stroll to the heart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in room 112 whilst visiting the battlefields of Normandy. We've stayed in IBIS before theyr'e ok but nothing special and the same applies here, Its not quite up to the standard of HI Express. The Hotel is in a good position opposite the inner harbour and about a 5 minute walk to the restaurants on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beaconsfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Ok, it's not luxury, but this hotel had everything we needed for a long weekend looking around the area. A few minutes walk from lots of restaurants, some excellent, really friendly staff, nice buffet breakfast and comfy beds. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question