We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica

Certificate of Excellence
Calle no 6, from national route 606 to Tilaran | 100 mts Este. 100 Sur, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was chosen for us by tour company (2 night stay). The rooms were very spacious (3 beds) and bathroom was quite big. They only serve breakfast (included), but it was convenient enough to walk into town to eat. My only complaint would be; they had a message for us (2 rooms of friends) from our tour company with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AimRee
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fine. The wi-fi worked. The shower didn't really get hot unless you let it run for a while, but they have a sign that suggests we only take 5-minute showers, so I felt guilty about letting the water run. The complementary breakfast was literally the WORST I've ever eaten, unfortunately. The eggs were gray, the pancakes were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
Edmonton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just spent three nights in this hotel as we explored the area. We knew coming in that the roads were not the best, but were really not prepared for what we encountered! They are really rough!! That has nothing to do with the hotel, just a word of caution for those driving themselves (we came from... More 

Helpful?
Thank VIVAHUME
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having read the trip advisors I can confirm their all correct. We had horrible weather and the room we were in had gaps between the door and door jam. Also the gap between the door jam and the wall. As appears normal for Costa Rica there is very little hot water but this place could only provide a barely warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was a bonus. The rooms were clean, but unfortunately, the beds were really terrible. My fiance and I woke up the next morning with multiple bug bites all over our bodies. They were also quite uncomfortable and it was difficult to get a good nights sleep. The walls for the rooms are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kytoh4
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

Hello Kytoh4, greatings from Monteverde Cloud Forest . Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write your comment, we had already received the same review from your agency which we will not give the name, sometimes for lack of information people become victims of ignorance, in the Monteverde area mosquitoes are nonexistent and is the first... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Hotel Cipreses for one night when we were in Monteverde. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to downtown (which is a very small town) where we were able to catch the public bus to Monteverde Forest. The hotel itself had a great breakfast, clean room with hot water and large bathroom. We were impressed and quite satisfied... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danish2016
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

We love your comments, thank you very much for making our daily work worthwhile. We hope to be your home on your next trip to Monteverde and to welcome you as very good friends. Part of our obligation is to provide information and bus schedules, so on that way our guests can plan the itinerary that more like it during... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
466 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is more like a motel or an old fashioned lodge with wooden boards on the ceiling and walls (which are thin and you can hear people talking in the rooms next door). The staff were very friendly and helpful during our two night stay. The grounds are beautiful and the setting is very nice. The lobby, restaurant and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld2014
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

Hola seetheworld2014. Thank you very much for taking your time and review us, we really appreciate your observations and make us feel happy we do not expect to be a Las Vegas Hotel, in the present world there is something that becomes new, from some years ago is call rural tourism and monteverde is characteristic of this type of tourism... More 

Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

The hotel is good with friendly staff, reasonable breakfast and the room was ok. The big problem with the hotel is Wifi connection and there is no connection in the rooms. This was already mentioned to the staff but they didn't seem to care

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Narayanan T
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

Hola Narayanan, thank you very much for your comment and rate, we take the comments seriously and we like that hotel has been satisfactory for you, unfortunately Monteverde is located in one of the areas where the climate is rudest than in the rest of the country and while it is true internet connections in Costa Rica are not the... More 

Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Beautiful rooms. All the necessary amenities and a big breakfast. I wish I could have stayed here longer. They were accommodating to our early tour schedule and let us in to get breakfast a little early. The one thing missing was a pool or hot tub, but not really a big deal in this area where there is so much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex F
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

Hola Alex the best regards from Monteverde Cloud Forest, nice comment, it makes us happy that the hotel was very good on your journey, read daily comments and seek answers to situations that could happen to improve is a daily challange, you are kind to tell other future guest of the restaurant early service, as long as it is in... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I stayed here as part of my tour and it was a fantastic hotel. They gave us two double sized beds which I appreciated as we were two people. There's a fan in the room, no air conditioning, and a decent sized bathroom. I also liked the little balcony outside the room (though management didn't allow us to hang clothes... More 

Helpful?
Thank niftytastic
Jose Arturo B, Director General at Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica, responded to this review

Hola niftystatic. Your comment has touched the best spots of our hotel and we love it when people usually enjoy your entire trip and can be reflected in the comments, laundry correct price is $8 for 2 kilos, which is typically the size of supermarket bag, noise seems to always be a hard point to control, is not enough to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay