We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pension Santa Elena

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
250 m al Sureste Banco Nacional en el corazon de Santa Elena, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Pension Santa Elena
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    136
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
158
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location can't be beat... not that there's much to do around Santa Elena. Attached to Taco Taco (that's where breakfast is served - amazing breakfast taco). Rooms were super clean, comfy beds, roomy and cool lay out. Really enjoyed the shared kitchen area... though I'd suggest re-washing something before using it, some people just aren't clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the staff were great, always willing to help with information about the area, arranging for tours, etc, the assortment of rooms was very appealing. Breakfast was very good from Taco Taco which happened to be attached to the building. There was always coffee available and it was pretty good. Location was fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Londres
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there after someone recommended it to us and we were really disappointed. Ok the price is very reasonable but the room was super dark, not even a window. The bathroom was clean but right next too an outdoor corridor very smelly. The place was noisy too. I would not go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepse, Owner at Pension Santa Elena, responded to this review

Dear Billie I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Pension Santa Elena. The hotel offers many, many choices for folks traveling on different budgets. The room you chose is a very basic room without bath located in the older part of the hotel, next door to the reception area and lounge. The cost is $14... More 

La Crosse, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hostel staff was very friendly, helpful, both while making reservations and during our stay. They had good recommendations for things to do and see, and were knowledge able about further transport. Common areas (including a well-stocked kitchen) were always bustling. Dorm was a bit dingy and damp, but served its purpose. I would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leelanau County, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed with our four kids in one room - a double, bunk beds and loft. Pros: It was clean, efficient, right in town and the staff was super helpful. Cons:pretty noisy, but my guess is everything in town will be. There are a bizillion dogs wandering around that bark all night and constant motorbikes (major mode of transportation on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All you could ask for in an hostel. Jonathan and all the staff were very helpful, not pushing you to do any activities to get a commission. They were very honest. The room was clean, as was the hostel. The free coffee was excellent! Low prices for what we got. I'd recommend it in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm so happy I was able to stay here. I originally had issues getting a hold of them via email, but that was apparently due to their internet provider. Its such a cozy place, warm/hot shower, clean, and my favorite is the coffee at 5:30 am, nowhere have I found coffee that early. Diego and Leo are also amazing, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Right on the main street, so an excellent location from which to explore the surrounding area. The staff are exceptionally helpful, providing us with tons of information and helping us get the most of our two days here. Very willing to book taxis/shuttles/tours etc which were all a great success. Strong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly Staff, great location, strong Wi-Fi signal, free breakfast and fresh Costa Rican coffee served all morning and afternoon long. My husband and I stayed in a private bedroom with bathroom for 3 nights. The bed was comfy and the shower was warm with great water pressure. All of this for less than $40 a night, it was an absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found this hostel after the Cabinas del Pueblo did not honor our booking. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in 3 months of traveling. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We were even taken to see a local sloth baby after I complained we hadn't seen one! Now that's service. The cooking facilities were good. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question