We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monteverde Country Lodge

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monteverde Country Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland Dorset
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well the weather was absolutely terrible during our two day stay here. Very strong winds and relentless rain - I know that the lodge couldn't do anything about this but it didn't make for a great experience. I would describe this hotel as 'OK'. Major complaint is that the rooms have no heating and were very cold - major like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Come on. I hate to know what that smell was. The bed was terrible. The floor boards where broken in a couple of places. You could hear everything from the rooms above and beside you. Toilet almost overflowed twice with even not flashing any paper products. The only good thing was the staff. WiFi did not work once in room.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lisa M, thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. We feel like there is a lot we could have done to make your experience better, please remember that waiting until you leave our premises or until you get home to complain is in no way beneficial or effective. It leaves us with no choice but to offer... More 

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am rating this hotel "Very Good" due to the front desk staff and the beautiful grounds. Darel at the front desk was extremely helpful with information and transportation. The grounds are beautiful with an abundance of beautiful flowers, plants and fountains. The included breakfast buffet was nice. The rooms are another story. We reserved a standard room and though... More 

Helpful?
Thank QuitYourJobandTravel
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear QuitYourJobandTravel, your feedback about our hotel is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, we cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains and lounge areas. Our staff is another one of our highlights, they are truly dedicated to provide exceptional service. We agree, there are some details that need... More 

Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed there two nights. We booked Classic room. It was clean but xtremely noisy. Windows didnt close all the way, so all the noises and cold in night time came in. Next day we luckely have to opportinity to change room little pit farther and it was great. They said that they are working on the noise factor. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suppura
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Suppura, thank you so much for posting your comments about Monteverde Country Lodge. We are glad to hear our staff was efficient enough to address the issue about your room. We are truly dedicated to provide exceptional service. It is nice to know you enjoyed our food. Our menu features traditional Costa Rican cuisine made with local ingredients. The... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked the rustic nature of the rooms. An adequate breakfast was provided each morning.It is close to two walking trails which you can use unguided or guided. It's not close to town but is walkable ( 2 kms to center of town). I did not sleep well because I am a light sleeper and the hotel has no sound... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kay G
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kay G, thank you very much for posting your comments about Monteverde Country Lodge. You are right when you mention our hotel´s rustic nature. Our ideal is to maintain the classic Monteverde ambience: wooden structures, spacious corridors, comfortable, cozy rooms, gardens, fountains, green open areas. We are located near town but in a more peaceful area from where it... More 

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean rooms and the breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choices. Stayed here as part of our tour and it was nice and basic. A 15 min walk to the main town all down hill getting there but a big trek coming back. Nice location for seeing the sunset and was surprised on how many people went to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teulu_o_5
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teulu_o_5, your comments about your stay at Monteverde Country lodge are well appreciated. As you mentioned in your review provinding great, friendly service and nice, clean accommodations are our top priorities here. Monteverde Country Lodge is located in a privileged area in which you can access everything (we are just a few minutes from town) but at the same... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location and services. The staff was very nice and quick to help since we arrive at the front desk. It was quiet and it had an amazing view. The facilities are well maintained, the restaurant offered a lot of options.

Helpful?
Thank AriCoto
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AriCoto, thank you so much for posting a positive review regarding your recent stay at Monteverde Country Lodge. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our location, restaurant and services. Monteverde Country Lodge maintains a traditional, cozy and quiet style. We are near town, accesible to entertainment, yet from our location you can breathe tranquility in a rural environment... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff were accommodating, polite, and very friendly. We arrived in mid morning and had arranged to do some sight seeing. The hotel staff allowed us to check in early so that we would be unpacked when we arrived back. The room was very clean. The hotel is eco-friendly and takes it serious. Glass cups to drink from etc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yendani
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yendani, thank you so much for your kind comments and for sharing them with others, we understand a satisfied customer is the best business strategy, we try really hard to provide the best experience for our guests. We are so happy to hear that you were well taken care of by our friendly staff and that you enjoyed the... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We were late in making our reservations for our end of the year Costa Rica vacation and we had to book this hotel. After reading the reviews I was kind of prepared for the worst. But my husband and me were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was quite good, and surpassed our meagre expectations by a mile. We got a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vaidehist
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear vaidehist, thank you so much for posting a positive review regarding your recent stay at Monteverde Country Lodge. As you mentioned in your comment we offer clean, comfortable rooms and beautiful well-kept gardens. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, we make sure it is healthy, fresh and delicious. We offer a good environment to... More 

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

While the room are not that great, felt a bit dated, the restaurant and staff were very helpful. I think the hotel needs to upgrade the rooms and amenities, restaurant, location, staff etc us all very good. All in all, a pleasant stay, we stayed for two nights and were satisfied with our stay here.

Helpful?
Thank summidada
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear summidada, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Monteverde Country Lodge. We are glad to hear our staff took great care of you and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Monteverde Country Lodge is the one of the best hotels within the 3 star hotels in the area: our open areas, beautiful gardens and rooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#2 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay