We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Santa Elena accommodations

Monteverde Country Lodge

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Santa Elena, Monteverde | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Monteverde Country Lodge to your Saves list
Monteverde Country Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    47
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
19
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The check-in process was OK until we were told that we had to wait for a carrier to take our bags to our room, which was maybe 15 feet behind the checkout desk. That was odd as we were in a hurry and it would have been nice to be told our room was 15 min away. The room itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Lana. It sure sounds like you were at the wrong kind of establishment for your own taste and expectations. Nothing really worked for you while you stayed with us. Please, next time this happens to you say something to somebody and have them find you a better, more suitable hotel somewhere else. We´d done it before, I accept... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed by the friendly and hard working staff, as well as the cleanliness. A delicious breakfast is included and we ate both lunch and dinner there on different days. The arroz con pollo was amazing! The musician played traditional music as well as American and was quite talented. The juice upon arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mr Yankee. What a nice review, thank you very much. It really shows you enjoyed your time spent with us and our services. We cater for the best service possible and good quality within our means. Home style, warm, personalized attention and good quality are our strengths, yet we are also aware of all the fixing that needs to... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room was not very big but very clean and comfortable. I was worried because I read in reviews people complaining about the noise but we didn't have neighbors next door so it was very quiet. The food was good but the same breakfast every morning. The staff was absolutely lovely and helpful. The only problem is the location. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Jojo, thank you for your review, I´m glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Country Lodge, our rooms aren’t very big but they are very comfortable even though a bit basic. I´m glad you had a quiet, relaxed time with us, and thanks on behalf of all our staff. We are trying our best to be accommodating, personal and... More

Chaplin, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Small but clean rooms (hard beds though). Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast & lunch were good - typical fare, rice & beans served all the time, but epic fail at dinner on the first night with thin pork chops cooked into hockey pucks. Power went out for about 3 hours one afternoon and hot water in the shower was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Deb. Thank you for your review. Student groups are always welcome even despite the fact that sometimes other guests are not so happy about having kids staying at the same hotel, we have worked with EF and other student companies and our hotel has always ranked very high. I´m sorry for the chops sittuation; we try our best to... More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely staff, nice rooms, big bathroom, good food, did some good trips as well. Lots of places to eat close by as well. Nice grounds to sit out in, and a lovely little courtyard to have a coffee. Restaurant very good , all staff very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Oshea,. Thank you for such a nice review, down to the facts and simple. Thank you for choosing Monteverde Country Lodge for your stay in Monteverde. I´m very glad you enjoyed your stay, tours, restaurants, food, etc, these are the things that really matter, to be able to enjoy a destination by experiencing what it has to offer,... More

Douglas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This is, without question, the worst hotel I have had the misfortune to stay at in 50 years. First the good points - the Reception staff are courteous and helpful and the fruit compote served at breakfast is nice. OK..... now for the bad.... The rooms aren't sound-proofed so the noise from other guests is terrible, even a gentle tread... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello David. I´m sorry you didn’t enjoy our property, We are very much aware of our weak spots, as well of our strengths, and I know for sure, we are a good hotel, among the best in Monteverde, I´m sorry you disagree, yet this is your personal opinion and you are entitled to give it. I´m sorry you were forced... More

Harrow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is just out of town, which does not matter because the local buses pick you up from your hotel and take you to the main attractions of the guided walk areas, hanging bridges and zip lines. The hotel has intermittent wifi - but the connection is much stronger in reception than in the rooms. Excellent restaurant and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Mrs / Miss Andrea. Thank you for your very nice review. we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the room, the restaurant, our common áreas and our service. Thank you for compliments on our service and staff, we are doing our best and it is paying off!!!! Not only we have a great restaurant, there are quite... More

Brandon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A great room in the new part with a king size bed a small balcony to enjoy morning coffee and lovely grounds to walk around through. Exceptional staff here. Would recommend this place for sure! We are here for a couple more nights and are loving the people and the surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director de Recepción at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thrifty. Thank you for such a great comment, we are so proud of the job of our staff!! We set our selves a goal for this year: to become exceptional in service, we are still trying and it´s great to know we are on the right track!!! Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and thank a lot!!!... More

San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were celebrating our 7th weeding anniversary and we chose this hotel with no much references. The place is very nice, the trees sounds a lot at night because of the wind but it is kind of cool. The rooms are simple but they have cable TV and safety boxes. Also at night they are warm even when outside is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Byron, thank you very much for such a nice review and again, for letting us be a part of this special celebration. You were always very kind and it was a great pleasure for al of us to meet you both and to assist you during your stay. You have described our services and facilities very well, with us,... More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that the service by the staff was great. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was mostly clean but there was a weird smell as soon as you walk in. The paper thin walls did not make for a great environment for sleeping. If you are anywhere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOTELPOCOAPOCO, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor User, thank you for review. We constantly encourage our staff members to be particulary careful with these situations. We stress this request specially to the kitchen staff and the waiters, since they arrive at the hotel before 6 am every morning, what you heard at 3:00 am was a group of 24 passengers, departing for the airport.... More

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Santa Elena, Monteverde | Santa Elena, Monteverde, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco´s fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980´s. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room’s amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest’s enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monteverde Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.