We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel El Sueno

Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Sueno
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Sueno
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a 30 something couple traveling Costa Rica and found this hotel to be very clean, comfortable, and hospitable. Traveling in September, this is the off season. So it's very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel. Notably, we booked a deluxe room at Pension Santa Elena on Lonely Planet's recommendation and, immediately upon seeing the room, cancelled our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group on a school trip, while basic, it was clean and safe. The manager even came and lectured some of the kids on hotel safety after they left their room key in their door. The location can't be beat in the adorable town of Santa Elena- right around the corner from the "downtown" area with shopping,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly A
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel, the son of the owner was very helpful and helped us set up a coffee plantation tour, zip line and transportation over to Playa Hermosa. The rooms were cozy although it can get a little loud if large groups are staying there. Breakfast is delicious and the staff is friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone just wanting an... More 

Helpful?
Thank biowiz15
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler781
rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

thank you for your comments now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning so the only way if you were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Took a group of high school students from the United States on an educational tour of Costa Rica and this was one of our scheduled hotels, the location was close to our planned activities and they were reasonably priced. Upon arrival our rooms, the bathroom particularly was filthy and had a lingering septic smell, not a huge deal if you... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Itravelight9
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Itravelight9 we are sorry for all the trouble caused however after you and your group came back late a night from the bar, how can you blame us from your acts, doors were not forced, we have never had this issues here we dont want to say or mean to say is your fault for whatever you did that... More 

Montpellier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked 2 nights to the hotel El Sueno with hostel bookers. When we arrive the owners of the place (i think the son and the father) told us there was no room reserved for us :/ Finally the son said that he goona put us in other hotel just next to him, but the quality was much lower and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Talvi1
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Talvi1 we thank you for your comments it help us get better every day please note you did not reserve directly with us, therefore is your responsibility to make sure you have a room, with who ever you book with. we try to do our best to get you a place at another hotel, we even offer you breakfast... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location but that doesn't compensate with the price they charge. There was very little water in the mornings, the rooms looked dirty but altogether I didn't feel totally at ease when I went to bed. The owners seemed annoyed when I asked them to freshen up the room the next day, for $40 a night I expect they clean... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TDPanda
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear TDPanda please note there were a few issues with the water system in monteverde, however that is fixed now, that is out of our control. we would never get annoyed on serving our guest, actually that is why we are still on business as per the room, cleaning is made everyday, even if the rooms are empty thank you... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms are comfortable but the ones near the street are very noisy and second floor rooms get a lot of wind noise. Spring winds create that condition at most moderate priced properties. It's a great family running the business and we enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank GOJ1970
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear GOJ1970 thank you very much for your comments wind noise haven been fixed with some great plants and threes we hope to see you back again soon More 

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were in Montverde for three nights, but only stayed in El Sueno for one... Slow internet, noisy area, NO hot water, drafty floors and even though the room looked clean, it felt musty and the bathroom was smelly. When we booked a tour the owner's son was friendly, but he said the card machine wasn't working and demanded cash..... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie K
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

dear Lucie K please note credit card machine, works with the land line telephone it is very common that it doest not work for a few hours. we are sorry you were not happy with the room, however we do clean them every day thank you , More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Safe parking, good breakfasts, clean room and shower and helpful staff/owners. Very convenient to visit Frogpond (evening is best), Serpentarium (excellent) and the trek up to Monteverde and Santa Elena Cloud Forests.

Helpful?
Thank Ty G
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear y G thank you for your comments we are very happy you enjoy your staying with us we hope to see you back soon thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#17 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay