We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Santa Elena hotels

Hotel El Sueno

Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list
Hotel El Sueno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
47%
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Santa Elena
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013
GOJ1970 Spokane, Washington
  • Overview
  • Reviews (51)
  • Photos (9)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Sueno
See the most recent reviews
Montpellier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked 2 nights to the hotel El Sueno with hostel bookers. When we arrive the owners of the place (i think the son and the father) told us there was no room reserved for us :/ Finally the son said that he goona put us in other hotel just next to him, but the quality was much lower and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Talvi1 we thank you for your comments it help us get better every day please note you did not reserve directly with us, therefore is your responsibility to make sure you have a room, with who ever you book with. we try to do our best to get you a place at another hotel, we even offer you breakfast... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location but that doesn't compensate with the price they charge. There was very little water in the mornings, the rooms looked dirty but altogether I didn't feel totally at ease when I went to bed. The owners seemed annoyed when I asked them to freshen up the room the next day, for $40 a night I expect they clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear TDPanda please note there were a few issues with the water system in monteverde, however that is fixed now, that is out of our control. we would never get annoyed on serving our guest, actually that is why we are still on business as per the room, cleaning is made everyday, even if the rooms are empty thank you... More

Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms are comfortable but the ones near the street are very noisy and second floor rooms get a lot of wind noise. Spring winds create that condition at most moderate priced properties. It's a great family running the business and we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear GOJ1970 thank you very much for your comments wind noise haven been fixed with some great plants and threes we hope to see you back again soon More

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were in Montverde for three nights, but only stayed in El Sueno for one... Slow internet, noisy area, NO hot water, drafty floors and even though the room looked clean, it felt musty and the bathroom was smelly. When we booked a tour the owner's son was friendly, but he said the card machine wasn't working and demanded cash..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

dear Lucie K please note credit card machine, works with the land line telephone it is very common that it doest not work for a few hours. we are sorry you were not happy with the room, however we do clean them every day thank you , More

Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Safe parking, good breakfasts, clean room and shower and helpful staff/owners. Very convenient to visit Frogpond (evening is best), Serpentarium (excellent) and the trek up to Monteverde and Santa Elena Cloud Forests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear y G thank you for your comments we are very happy you enjoy your staying with us we hope to see you back soon thank you More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a good budget hotel. They charge 20 $ a person. You dont get A/C, but you dont need it because it can get a bit chill in santa elena. Its family owned and they recieved us with open arms. The parking is a but difficult to drive out but it can be done. Dont expect wonders of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Poeleke thank you for your comments it help us get better everyday we are very glad to see you enjoy your staying with us thank you More

pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and a group of friends had been touring around Costa Rica and came up to Santa Elena to visit the Monteverde cloud forest. We parked across the street from El Sueno while my friends went to the Chamber of Commerce for some information, I walked over to El Sueno to admire the rocking chairs on their porch. The owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear theparadorinn thank you for your comments we are happy we were your best choice while your staying in santa elena we are now serving even better breakfast thank you for your visit More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Slept here one night. My bed went up And down When somebody walks next to our room in the halway. Next to 2 busy street And some kind of bar with loud music, so very noisy. Ouwners (soon?) Helps if he can make money (with to expensive tours, if you compare it with tours that are offert by backpacker places)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear R-le-chat thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to told you the issue with bed When somebody walks next to our room in the halway, has been fixed the price with have for the tours are the same or lower than others in the area thank you for your comment More

Three Rivers, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. Great wooden rooms with hot water and central location without all the noise. The breakfast was delicious and was included in the room price with large cups of coffee. The owners try to push tours with prices elevated for gringos, but that most likely happens at most places in this town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

dear LM_PO_1983 thank you for your time to write your comments we are happy to see you like your staying with us we strive to give the better server every day thank you More

Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

At this moment we ar staying at this hotel in room 19 (double bed). The owner and son are very friendly and helpfull with any kind of question. The room is nice and has a good bed. Its in the middle of the centre, which we like very much because you are close to everything. For breakfast you can choose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

dear Roy_Helene we are very glad to see you enjoy your staying with us we hope to see you soon again we will be uploading new pictures soon thank you More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Santa Elena with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pension El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Sueno staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer