We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Santa Elena hotels

Hotel El Sueno

Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel El Sueno

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com HostelBookers.com
48%
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014
gpotvin Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were travelling with a group of students and while one of the students was showering, the showerhead caught fire and filled the bathroom with smoke and then the room with smoke. No smoke detectors or alarms went off in the room or in the halls. Once the front desk was advised, they instructed us to time the water use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on a two day excursion to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The facility is a bit rustic but is quite good for the area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, which was included, had a number of options including eggs, pancakes, rice and beans, as well as a variety of fruits and juice. They serve very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
75 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights it was 35 dollars a night. The rooms are wooden and quite small and basic, they do the job. There is no aircon or fan or sadly no hot water! Not good when it gets a bit chilly in the evening. You get two towels and one soap, the sink also hangs a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a 30 something couple traveling Costa Rica and found this hotel to be very clean, comfortable, and hospitable. Traveling in September, this is the off season. So it's very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel. Notably, we booked a deluxe room at Pension Santa Elena on Lonely Planet's recommendation and, immediately upon seeing the room, cancelled our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with a group on a school trip, while basic, it was clean and safe. The manager even came and lectured some of the kids on hotel safety after they left their room key in their door. The location can't be beat in the adorable town of Santa Elena- right around the corner from the "downtown" area with shopping,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel, the son of the owner was very helpful and helped us set up a coffee plantation tour, zip line and transportation over to Playa Hermosa. The rooms were cozy although it can get a little loud if large groups are staying there. Breakfast is delicious and the staff is friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone just wanting an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

thank you for your comments now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning so the only way if you were... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Took a group of high school students from the United States on an educational tour of Costa Rica and this was one of our scheduled hotels, the location was close to our planned activities and they were reasonably priced. Upon arrival our rooms, the bathroom particularly was filthy and had a lingering septic smell, not a huge deal if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Itravelight9 we are sorry for all the trouble caused however after you and your group came back late a night from the bar, how can you blame us from your acts, doors were not forced, we have never had this issues here we dont want to say or mean to say is your fault for whatever you did that... More

Montpellier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked 2 nights to the hotel El Sueno with hostel bookers. When we arrive the owners of the place (i think the son and the father) told us there was no room reserved for us :/ Finally the son said that he goona put us in other hotel just next to him, but the quality was much lower and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Talvi1 we thank you for your comments it help us get better every day please note you did not reserve directly with us, therefore is your responsibility to make sure you have a room, with who ever you book with. we try to do our best to get you a place at another hotel, we even offer you breakfast... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent location but that doesn't compensate with the price they charge. There was very little water in the mornings, the rooms looked dirty but altogether I didn't feel totally at ease when I went to bed. The owners seemed annoyed when I asked them to freshen up the room the next day, for $40 a night I expect they clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear TDPanda please note there were a few issues with the water system in monteverde, however that is fixed now, that is out of our control. we would never get annoyed on serving our guest, actually that is why we are still on business as per the room, cleaning is made everyday, even if the rooms are empty thank you... More

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pension El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list