We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Santa Elena hotels

Hotel El Sueno

Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel El Sueno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Leah W Boston, Massachusetts
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great little hotel in the center of downtown Santa Elena. Clean rooms, friendly staff and great included breakfast! (8 options with English translation available). Only con was the view - our room only had view of interior hallway, but the clean rooms, hot shower and comfortable bed made up for it! There are also a few fun chill-out areas on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

It's quite difficult reviewing very basic, budget hotels as you end up having conflicting expectations: you want a cheap deal, but then perhaps expect too much... We opted for this hotel after reading a review in Lonely Planet. This hotel is run by a tico family who seemed friendly. The lady on reception didnt speak much English but this didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel was fine. Nobody speaks english though. The breakfast was really good. The rooms were fine but they didnt have AC. The bathroom was fine. Overall it was fine. Pretty cheap place. I dont think I would stay here again but it was fine for the two nights we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were travelling with a group of students and while one of the students was showering, the showerhead caught fire and filled the bathroom with smoke and then the room with smoke. No smoke detectors or alarms went off in the room or in the halls. Once the front desk was advised, they instructed us to time the water use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
62 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on a two day excursion to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The facility is a bit rustic but is quite good for the area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, which was included, had a number of options including eggs, pancakes, rice and beans, as well as a variety of fruits and juice. They serve very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
87 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights it was 35 dollars a night. The rooms are wooden and quite small and basic, they do the job. There is no aircon or fan or sadly no hot water! Not good when it gets a bit chilly in the evening. You get two towels and one soap, the sink also hangs a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a 30 something couple traveling Costa Rica and found this hotel to be very clean, comfortable, and hospitable. Traveling in September, this is the off season. So it's very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel. Notably, we booked a deluxe room at Pension Santa Elena on Lonely Planet's recommendation and, immediately upon seeing the room, cancelled our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with a group on a school trip, while basic, it was clean and safe. The manager even came and lectured some of the kids on hotel safety after they left their room key in their door. The location can't be beat in the adorable town of Santa Elena- right around the corner from the "downtown" area with shopping,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel, the son of the owner was very helpful and helped us set up a coffee plantation tour, zip line and transportation over to Playa Hermosa. The rooms were cozy although it can get a little loud if large groups are staying there. Breakfast is delicious and the staff is friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone just wanting an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

thank you for your comments now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning so the only way if you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel El Sueno

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby