We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Tambor hotels

Barcelo Tambor Beach

3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tambor
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
sophiacostarica San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Overview
  • Reviews (228)
  • Photos (182)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    64
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Months later, my 6 and 9-year old still talk about the fun activities here, as well as the pools, food and also the macaws! There's quite a bit to keep young ones occupied between arts and crafts, trampoline, the various pools, and the macaw area (as well as spotting the wild macaws and watching the huge iguanas lounge about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Ms Sophia. Thanks for publishing your comments on this website. For us is a big pleasure to get to know your stay in our resort have met your expectations. We thank your comments regarding our activities staff and the medical support. We take into consideration your observations related to the serpentarium and the inscription of the activities aimed to get... More

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort offers great value for the price. I've been to some luxury all inclusive resorts but of course the prices I paid were much higher, too. We got an awesome deal on the ocean front room so we decided to come here. Only a few of the staff speak English. But that is not much of a problem since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear M. Denver C. Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach; It is a big pleasure to know we have met your expectations during your trip. We want to thank you for the good comments in regards with the relationship of the amiability of our staff and our a la carté restaurant. We will take into consideration your suggestions regarding the handling... More

Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 days and nights. The accommodations were so so. The room was comfortable and the A/C worked. Our room safe was broken and we never got it fixed for the 3 days we stayed. Someone stole all of our belongings from the pool area. ID's, cameras, phone, credit cards, money towels ect. This of course is of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Mr Joseph T: First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took in publishing your comment in this website. We fully regret the inconvenient occurred in the swimming pool; actually we have been working for this not happen once again. We have been carefully following each one of your comments regarding food and the reservation... More

Brandywine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First let me start by saying this hotel was much better than I expected. The photos on the website did not do the hotel justice. I have to give the staff at the Steak House kudos for the dinner on Thursday 26, June 2014. There was an unexpected storm and we were forced from the dining area into the actual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Notlrac 1971: Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach resort& spa hotel. Thank you very much for the time you spent on writing a comment through this website. We have proceeded to congratulated our staff at the steak house “El rancho”, aimed they keep on working in such excellent manner and customer service. It is a honor to know we... More

Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The all inclusive price seemed great for the food, drink, and activities. Room comfy. Expect only one beer option, which was good local, but different varieties of light vs regular would have been great. Sunrise was beautiful on the beach, just be sure to wear shoes at the beach with the rocks. Glad we had our Keens. Only a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

2014 GatorFans; We highly appreciate the time you spent writing your experience through this webpage. We are so content our hotel met your expectations. In regards with the recycling comments, It´s our duty to let you know about our recycling inner program. In which our staff is in charge of discriminate the waste into non recyclable and recyclable matter. The... More

Bergenfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have been to several places for warm weather vacations: Aruba, Cayman's, St. John, Thailand, Hong Kong, Philippines, and I have to rate our vacation at Barcelo Tambor in Costa Rica the biggest bargain of them all. The biggest surprise was the park and aviary in the resort, which provided wildlife watching without having to hike great distances. In fact,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Mr Maine We are more than happy for the publication of your comments through this webpage. We are taking into consideration your observations you made about the buffet restaurant and Japanese restaurant too. We have had a reunion with our executive chef who will be focusing on those important spots. It would be a real pleasure for us if you... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I visit Costa Rica a lot and have never had good service. Not like cancun or Punta Cana anyways. That being said, the buffet at Barcelo did not disappoint with their bad service. There are two specialty restaraunts however that surprised me with good service. You have to make reservations for these restaraunts, for every 2 days stayed you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you very much for let us know about your comments on this website. Regarding with the beds, the hotel has king size beds that are available when you request your reservation. We fully appreciate the comments related with customer service and food. We´ve talked with the executive Chef for him to expand the variety and presentation about... More

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Barceló Tambor Beach in Costa Rica and were VERY disappointed. This is an all inclusive resort but after staying at several other all inclusive resorts in Costa Rica we would never recommend this location. Front end staff were very unfriendly and not helpful to say the least. We were needing to have wifi to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Mr Quapp, We really appreciate your feedback made through this webpage and fully regret your stay in our resort didn´t met your expectations, we have been working in each one of the several observations aimed to improve our customer service. Our hotel is going thru a renovation, in fact our internet service and antennas has been changed in order to... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had an excellent time in our vacation. The service we received was amazing. The whole staff was very helpful. Special thanks to Edwin, Luis and Marjorie. They were wonderful!! Went out of their way to accommodate me and my friends. All the surrounding was just amazing. The parrots, monkeys, iguanas and having the stable on site was very convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Ms Julie; Thanks for publishing your comments on this website. For Barceló Tambor Beach is a real pleasure to know that our hotel met your expectations for your vacation at the resort. We will be willing to deliver your congratulations to our mentioned staff and the chef of the Japanese restaurant. In according to the free Wi-Fi, this is a... More

Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family of four spent a week at this resort during March break. We booked through Nolitours and flew into the resort from San Jose, and everything went smoothly. We upgraded to an Oceanview room, and were put into building 3 with the closest view. It was magnificient, just down the stairs and less than 30 seconds onto the beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer; Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, thanks so much for the time it took to publish your comment. We are very glad to know that your stay in our resort was important to your family and you had a great time while you were in here. Each one of your comments and observations make us thrive and improve as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (46)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
402

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer