We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Tambor hotels

Barcelo Tambor Beach

3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Tambor Beach to your Saves list
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com Barcelo.com
and 11 more sites!
66%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tambor
A recent review
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    49
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
73
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visit Costa Rica a lot and have never had good service. Not like cancun or Punta Cana anyways. That being said, the buffet at Barcelo did not disappoint with their bad service. There are two specialty restaraunts however that surprised me with good service. You have to make reservations for these restaraunts, for every 2 days stayed you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Steven Thank you very much for let us know about your comments on this website. Regarding with the beds, the hotel has king size beds that are available when you request your reservation. We fully appreciate the comments related with customer service and food. We´ve talked with the executive Chef for him to expand the variety and presentation about... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Barceló Tambor Beach in Costa Rica and were VERY disappointed. This is an all inclusive resort but after staying at several other all inclusive resorts in Costa Rica we would never recommend this location. Front end staff were very unfriendly and not helpful to say the least. We were needing to have wifi to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Mr Quapp, We really appreciate your feedback made through this webpage and fully regret your stay in our resort didn´t met your expectations, we have been working in each one of the several observations aimed to improve our customer service. Our hotel is going thru a renovation, in fact our internet service and antennas has been changed in order to... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had an excellent time in our vacation. The service we received was amazing. The whole staff was very helpful. Special thanks to Edwin, Luis and Marjorie. They were wonderful!! Went out of their way to accommodate me and my friends. All the surrounding was just amazing. The parrots, monkeys, iguanas and having the stable on site was very convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Ms Julie; Thanks for publishing your comments on this website. For Barceló Tambor Beach is a real pleasure to know that our hotel met your expectations for your vacation at the resort. We will be willing to deliver your congratulations to our mentioned staff and the chef of the Japanese restaurant. In according to the free Wi-Fi, this is a... More

Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our family of four spent a week at this resort during March break. We booked through Nolitours and flew into the resort from San Jose, and everything went smoothly. We upgraded to an Oceanview room, and were put into building 3 with the closest view. It was magnificient, just down the stairs and less than 30 seconds onto the beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer; Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, thanks so much for the time it took to publish your comment. We are very glad to know that your stay in our resort was important to your family and you had a great time while you were in here. Each one of your comments and observations make us thrive and improve as... More

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This was the 4th time we were at Barcelo Tambor. We went back because we always loved it, but this time were very disappointed. The first day my husband went out early and put our towels on chairs on the beach, which we had done every other time, and when we got there they were gone. We had to pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ms Sally S. We appreciate the time you invest in publishing your comment on this website and we fully regret about your recently stay in our hotel wasn´t good for you. According with the incident on the beach, we have already gather our security staff and some changes has been made such an increase on the number of security... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff at the hotel was very friendly, joval and helpful with questions and concerns and spoke very good english. The resort grounds surrounding the resort is bonita (beautiful) at the pool side or a few steps to the beach. The only set back is the food not very tasty not sure if the resort is cutting back on their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer; Greetings from Barcelo Tambor Beach, Thank you very much for the time it took to write a review. We are more than pleased to know our resort met your expectations. In fact it´s very gratifying to know that you stay in our hotel was special and heartwarming. According with the food issue, I personally have spoken to the... More

Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed Monday- Saturday. The room was decent size, clean and comfortable. It, like the rest of the resort, is well kept, but not new and shows some signs of age. The resort is on the smaller side of the All-inclusives that we have been too. Great because you don't have to walk a mile to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer, Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, We must thank you for the published comments and observations made in this website. We found ourselves very happy to know that your stay in our resort was heartwarming and the hotel met your expectations as well as the different excursions and the surroundings. We have congratulated to the staff in order to... More

Hazel Green
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The resort was very clean. There was great security available. There are iguanas and macaws on the resort property. Enjoyed watching the howler monkeys travel to sleeping quarters - usually around 5:00 p.m. They travel back through the trees in the morning, but missed this event. Enjoyed the Macaw Sanctuary. Did not go to the spa, but our motel neighbors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Customer Regards from the Hotel Barceló Tambor Beach. Thanks for sharing your comments on this website. It´s very gratifying to know that you fully have enjoyed your stay in our hotel with the wildlife and all green surroundings, likewise We are very pleased you had a good time with the several excursions offered by our hotel. We appreciate your... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

While this all inclusive was the first resort from the ferry off Paquera, we arrived there at 11pm and everything was closed or just about closing. No food after 10 pm and we barely got a couple of drinks. The greeting staff was negligent and indifferent and we were just happy to have a place to sleep. We got to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Grace Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach; We sorry your stay in our resort didn't fill your expectations, We have worked to improve our service in order to please customer service. A meeting has been scheduled with the involved departments to externalize their comments and also avoid future dislikes related with room delivery, meals at night time and WIFI.... More

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This all inclusive resort was a great place for a weekend vacation. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The food was good, nothing out of this world but good for an all inclusive resort. The drinks were decent. The bartender Alonso made killer mint margaritas and was a great time! The beach is beautiful and it felt as though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Melanie: Thanks for the time spent to post comments on this site. It is a pleasure for us to know that we resort met your expectations during your stay. We proceeded to congratulate our bartender Alonso for his great cocktails and customer treatment. Likewise, we congratulated the animation team for their work and dedication. Once again thank you... More

Been to Barcelo Tambor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Tambor Beach

Also Known As:
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Beach Hotel
Barcelo Hotel Tambor Beach
Barcelo Hotel Puntarenas
Barcelo Playa Tambor
Hotel Barcelo Playa Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor Costa Rica
Barcelo Tambor Beach Costa Rica
Address: Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Tambor Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Tambor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Tambor Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.