We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Tambor Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Playa Tambor, Tambor 771-1150, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Tambor Beach
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    128
    62
    32
    28
See reviews for
168
115
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (446)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a rule, I try not to stay at all-inclusive resorts. As much as I like complimentary poolside cocktails, what keeps me away is the food. When I travel, I want to enjoy local cuisine prepared just for me, not food made for the masses; overcooked by heat lamps and strategically bland to appeal to all palates. Barcelo Tambor Beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kris Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, Thanks you very much for sharing your experience with us as well as your comments in regards our gastronomy and cleanness of the rooms and gardens. In relation with the stingrays we have proceed to take this into account. Respectfully I want to mention that in accordance with their migratory characteristics of this... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

•All te services were great!!! •The food delicious!!! •The room so confortable... •The pool so clean •The animation from the employees in te theater, they really wants to make us happy. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The best vacations of my life 😄😄😄😄😄

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lisseth: Thanks so much for leaving a comment in this website. We appreciate the fact you want to share your experience in our hotel during your stay this due to your comment is taken as source of information to improve ourselves. We are very happy to read that you could enjoy the different services we are up to offer.... More 

Nootdorp, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are travelling around the world and had one of our worst experiences here, also the first issue we had so far with a hotel. We drove past the hotel and informed about the next days price and agreed to come back the day after. While checking in, we were told the rate was around 25% higher. Long story about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Costumer, Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach resort. We want to thank the time it took to write a comment on this website as well as ask for an apologize for the inconvenient during your stay. After long analyze of what you mention on the comment I must say that the rates are constantly in change. In fact we are... More 

San Leandro, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be careful when booking. If you look closely they give you an option of 1 king but then it says or two doubles. There is no way to guarantee your room type! I had to pay an additional $100 because of course the only rooms they had available with 1 king were upgraded rooms. Plus, I looked online and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear, Miss Anabel621. Thank you very much for writing a comment in this website. We regret your stay in our hotel didn´t meet your expectations. Thank you very much for let us know your opinion the one which help us to improve our client service. In regards with your observation about the King size bed, in the moment when you... More 

San Ramon, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few nights as a family of 6. The place was nice but very busy and full. That's not really the hotel's fault, but it did detract a bit from the feeling of relaxation you might be looking for. The rooms are good, the staff is nice, and there's not much that stands out as either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you very much for letting a comment in this website. We are a team which works to give you a service with the satisfaction expectations required for our customers, in accordance to the quality standards. We are more than happy to get to know that during your stay you could enjoy the personal treatment as well the... More 

Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

My wife and I were looking for a place in the middle of nowhere, that we could shut down and relax. Barceló Tambor Beach was the perfect place to do this. We really tried to like this place but there were just some nagging things that could easily be fixed. None of these items took away from our relaxation. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mr Godadddytrecker Thanks so much for writing a comment in this website and sharing your experience through this website. We have taken into consideration the observations you made. Reorganizing laundry department schedule and towels deliverance aimed to avoid this sort of inconvenient. Likewise It has been indicated to the personal who is in charge of filling the minibar that... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I uses to love coming here for vacations and relaxing time, actually this is my 4th visit in the last 2 years and I probably won't return again, this time food was just very poor quality, like if they cant afford a chef to even taste the food, this is not only my opinion, I've talked to some other visitors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Gabriel, Greeting from Barceló Tambor Beach commercial department. First of all we must thank the time it took for you writing a comment on this website as well as sharing your experience with us, we are always interested on applying the services improvements we currently offer, indeed we constantly receive an excellent feedback an so we can generate alternative... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed at this resort at the end of an active week in Costa Rica. I would have been disappointed in this resort if we were here for more than 2 nights. The resort has passed it's time. Whilst scenic with lovely gardens, it has a sad vibe. In March, it was more than half empty. The nightly entertainment all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ally, Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, First of all, we want to thank you for the time it took you to write a comment on this website. Your support contributes to keep an excellent communication with our customers, this it helps the opportunity of having a correct feed back to gradually improve and provide a better service and better... More 

Etobicoke, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Booked via a package from Toronto, I found the hotel overpriced, but comfortable. Getting to the hotel is a big pain by ferry and car/bus/taxi. It just seems so out of the way, and the beach isn't the best sand. Going the ferry route takes to the main airport in San Jose takes almost a full day. Flying to Tambor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear customer, We are so glad to greet you up as well as show our gratitude by letting a comment in this website. Not only show our appreciation by sharing with us your experience in Tambor but also letting you know that this improve our development for working day after day in customer service. Indeed working in identifying possible mishaps... More 

Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This resort has beautiful grounds and very relaxing feel, Never more that than a few people in line at the bars or restaurants. The weather was perfect .Only down side was the shows were all in Spanish. Tip: go to the south side of the resort in the morning to see the monkeys in the trees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alejandra G, Channel Manager at Barcelo Tambor Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ruth O, Greetings from Barceló Tambor Beach, We are so glad to greeting you as wells as expressing our gratitude for letting an opinion on this website. Knowing while you was in the hotel enjoyed the variety of flora and fauna that the hotel is surrounded by is truly satisfactory, we also thank your comment related to the show,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (56)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities