We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Unawatuna hotels

Unawatuna Beach Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   galle Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Unawatuna Beach Resort to your Saves list
Unawatuna Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    141
    70
    39
    33
See reviews for
89
161
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed for two nights at the Unawatuna Beach Resort. We had a lovely new modern room, with a spa, and balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend half board, the breakfast and dinner buffet was absolutely delicious, one of the best I have ever had. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Unawatuna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very surprised during my stay as I did much research to select a hotel I thought was one of the best in the area. I upgraded to a luxury room which was needed because the other room I had booked was horrible. In my luxury room, the shower did not work for 2 days and hairdryer did not... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days in a group of 7 people with children. When we arrived at the hotel, everything was well-organised, the reception offered us a welcome drink, and after 10 minutes, we were shown to our rooms. One of us had a luxury room with a whirlpool tub and sea view. The luxury room is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DElhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reached Unawatuna Beach resort as were seriously disappointed to see that there was no beach at all. We had heard a lot about this hotel from our friends and it was highly recommended. We there was nothing we could have enjoyed during our stay here. We decided to have our dinner in the hotel restaurant and got disappointed again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights i feb 2014. At firswt got a (good) room an the backside close to the parkinglot. However the next day we managed to change rooom to one of the best with view to the beach, restautrant and the sunset. A very nice and spaisious room with a nice balcony and bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for the positive and complimentary comments regarding our hotel. We are sorry you had one of the rooms at the back at the beginning of your stay, however because we were fully booked, it was impossible to rectify the situation immediately. Regarding the beach, there are now moves by the authorities to halt the erosion of... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was hesitant arriving at the hotel due to some of the negative reviews I read in December. It seems the change of management (?) and branding is helping, as I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. Front office staff were excellent it has to be said. The room was spacious and the bathroom was ultra modern. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review of our hotel. The hotel was launched under the new name of Calamander Unawatuna Beach on 14th December 2014. The process of change is continuing and it is encouraging to know that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding the gym facilities and we will urgently review the equipment on offer... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We managed to get one night here at the last minute and got up-graded! A beautiful room with a spa bath etc. Excellent service throughout. The Staff managed to make you feel like an honoured guest even though there were many others! Good pool. Interesting access to the sea, not really a beach! Excellent restaurant with a variety of good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, You have encapsulated in the title of your review, exactly what we are aiming to achieve and we believe and hope that this is what sets us apart from many other middle to large size hotels of similar status. We have noticed that our guests feel equally comfortable dressing up for dinner as they would dining in beach... More

Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in Jan.14 end. Too good....right on the beach, specious, fresh, chilled & relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. Lots of variety in food. Love to go again for sure. MR. Sumant Pune - India

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and plan to return. We have taken on board your comments about the corner rooms. Our reservation and front desk staff do inform both travel agents and OTA's about the status of the rooms but sometimes this information does not get to the guest before they commit. This... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our 3rd hotel stop on our visit to Sri Lanka and this hotel did not disappoint us. The Front Office Staff Zafran., welcome us on our arrival. The views from every view point in this resort are breath taking and the selection of freshly cooked food is just fantastic. The rooms are attended too a very high standard,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your observations regarding your stay in our hotel. Zaffran is a trainee customs relations officer, so it is good to know that he is doing his job so effectively. Yours sincerely, Miss Paloma Scott Board Representative for the Calamander Group Inc. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A group of us had our last 4 nights here after a trekking holiday. The hotels is superb , rooms are very modern and comfortable. Beach location is great, and there is lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Hotel restaurant is actually very good, and buffet arrangement is excellent. I will definitely return to this hotel, its a class act.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Board Representative for the Calamander Group at Unawatuna Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to get better and better and improve and add more facilities for our in-house guests. We look forward to welcoming you again to Calamander Unawatuna Beach soon. Yours sincerely, Miss Paloma Scott Board Representative for The Calamander Group Inc. More

Been to Unawatuna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unawatuna Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Hotel
Unawatuna Beach
Address: galle Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unawatuna Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms & suites Two restaurantsSwimming pool: yesWheelchair access: yesRoom service: yesFree parking: yesChildren activities: yesBeach: yesBar: yesBeverages: yesAirport transportation: yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Unawatuna Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unawatuna Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.