We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

3.5 of 5 Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    58
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
46
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Visakhapatnam, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in second week of Jan'15 for 2 nights and must say a wonderful resort in Unawatuna. As we visited when the tourists were less, we did not find much of crowd and it was pleasant. As the bar lounge area and lounge near the beach is small, they can get overcrowded during peak season time. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. It is one of the very special aspects of where we are sited on Unawatuna Bay. We have noted your comments regarding the AC size and... More 

zurich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Almost all of the service and restaurant staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. We liked the place, Unawatuna is not the biggest and busiest bay, but this was what we liked and have been looking for. The hotel is located at the end of the bay, which is okay. We booked not a standard room, which was not located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the various aspects of your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed the variety of the food and the leisure activities on offer. Thanks again for your recommendation and we do hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott More 

india
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Memorable experience of staying in this cozy beach resort in 2012. Excellent sea-food served here along with the choicest wines. And the shores are just a minute away from your room. This place was completely washed away in the Tsunami of 2004 killing hundreds in Galle itself. BUT the BIG drawback I encountered was while checking out. After I checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that we have not heard from you to verify your stay with us. We have written to you on the private message board, as we have no record of your stay; we are very puzzled by the incident of the safe box and the key. Our rooms have electronic safes. We do not use keys.... More 

Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a week at this place. First night pretty ordinary, had booked a deluxe room, which was anything but. Noisy, with thin walls, shocking bed and very dated decor. Upgraded to the Superior rooms for the remaining 6 nights. These are definitely the ones to stay in. Very modern, the rooms were spacious, clean, and the bed was soooo comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It obviously had a great impression on you that you remembered both the good and the bad in such detail, several months on. And to read such an expressive, punchy headline that is both complimentary and critical, leads the reader to want to know more. There... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being severely let down by the hotel we'd booked, and then spending the night in a really grotty hotel down the street - Unawatuna Beach Resort saved our skins when we were left with nowhere else to stay at the busiest time of year - and we couldn't have been happier to have ended up there! We were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our service and the experience you had staying in our hotel. Management is delighted that we were able to accommodate you during our busy period and that Suranga did a fine job of looking after you. It is very good for us to know that you enjoyed our... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Calamander or UBA as the locals refer to it was my least favorite hotel during my two weeks in Sri Lanka, their website describes beautiful beaches and rooms with views but sadly this hotel has neither (the beach has been washed away from in front of the hotel due to a new sea wall built that has changed the ocean's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We accept your criticisms and we noted all you have said regarding our website, pool, staff, housekeeping, buffet, breakfast and check-out. We are sincerely sorry that your experience of our hotel was so negative in so many areas. The process of change and improvement is never easy and clearly we have a long way to go. We cannot... More 

Ko Samui, Surat Thani, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think there are several other reviews that voice the same criticisms that I am about to make and others that give the same praise. So, I feel that what I am about to write is valid. I do travel a lot and visit many countries, so I believe I have a broad experience of hotels. I made a last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, thank you very much for the time and effort you have made to examine, give negative and positive criticisms and show a balanced assessment of our operation. You have a very valid point regarding the echoing of sound from the corridors. And this is something we need to address physically. Of course most hotels have carpeted corridors... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The most wonderful and friendly staff I have ever encountered. Beautiful surroundings however our view from our room wasn't that great otherwise modern clean rooms, bathroom needs a showercurtain. The food was ok but not great. I would like to acknowledge a couple of persons from the staff but unfortunately I can't remember their names. In short, the best hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just want to thank you for your compliments and your comment about the shower curtain and the food. The shower curtain is something that we are aware that we do have to resolve; however it was a design decision not to have one but clearly it does need to be rethought. Regarding food: we are trying to balance... More 

Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading so many negative comments before we arrived we were rather worried about staying here but, need not have been. The hotel is situated in a beautiful bay... the restaurant has the best view. The staff were friendly and professional at all times and we were always greeted with a smile. We had to change rooms after a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give a comprehensive summary of your stay, high lighting any issues you had and how we dealt with them. And we are delighted that you enjoyed our Christmas and New Year events and we do hope that you will be able to join us for another... More 

UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not really happy with this place at all as they clearly overcharged me for a whole main course meal in the restaurant. When we were leaving it was late and we were all tired from working that day and so it wasn't until the next day that I noticed that we had been clearly charged for a main course meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I write on behalf of the Calamander Unawatuna Beach and sincerely regret the over charge. It was a genuine mistake and you will be reimbursed for the mistaken item immediately. Thank you for helping us to identity the error, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Yours sincerely, Miss Paloma Scott. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Calamander Unawatuna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calamander Unawatuna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Calamander Unawatuna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unawatuna Beach Hotel Unawatuna
Unawatuna Beach Resort

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay