We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Unawatuna, Galle, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    78
    30
    14
    9
See reviews for
42
64
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Also called UBR. Best hotel in the area. Unawatuna is a lovely bay. Actually swimable which many other places are not. UBR is right on the water. Litteraly 5m from the restaurant with uninterrupted views. Really special (and food is good). Excellent service e.g. cheap luxury hotel minibus for daytrips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel. We are very proud that you, as an experienced reviewer, enjoyed your stay so much. Unawatuna Beach is rare that it has, despite the strong currents, safe bathing, And of course when the tide is out and the water calm, there is nothing to beat swimming in Unawatuna... More 

Moratuwa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to UBR on 18th April for one night stay and found it to be a very nice place now. I was there long before with some friend from India, bu the place now looks stunning. Sea was still rough for swimming, but there were people outside offering jet ski and banana boat rides. Food was good, but tasted similar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day and night in Calamander Unawatuna Beach and that you recognize all the changes that we have made and the impact it has had on the perception of the hotel from being a well loved but rather run down... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where do I begin, the rooms are fantastic! Clean, well decorated the outdoor lounge and pool area are second to non, beautiful. The best thing about this place is the service, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty! They made us feel so special. We travelled across sti lanka and stayed in the best hotels all across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is not often that I have read such a positive review of a hotel anywhere in the world, let alone Sri Lanka! Speaking on behalf of The Calamander Group, I am immensely proud of all the hard work our staff at Calamander Unawatuna Beach have put in to making the hotel what it is today. A friendly,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very calm hotel during my days I stayed in. The hotel's restaurant was really beautiful at night because of the light it holds. In the nights the firework display was really beautiful. I would recommend this hotels the bathrooms are very trimmed. The food of course very delicious & there were various type of dishes. My whole family really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and liked our food as well as the location of the restaurant. We hope to welcome you as our guests again soon. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott. More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rating could arguably be described as harsh. The customer service was very good and the food we had was very good. There is an excellent selection at breakfast. However, the packed breakfast we had when we went whale watching was poor. The main criticism would be the noise of other guests when they come in at night. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting our hotel for a second time and taking time to review us again. We are of course very happy that you have found that our service and food continue to be of a good standard. Our WI-FI service continues to be improved and recent comments on Trip Advisor have called the service... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I and four other friends stayed at this resort for five days while touring Sri Lanka.....we didn't want to leave....it was upmarket and stylish......the beds and rooms were spotless and spacious.......the pool area was amazing loads of sun beds and parasols and great wifi on the beach to.......the restaurant was beautiful in the day and elegant in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much and liked the location and atmosphere and the food of our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family as our guests again once you visit Sri Lanka. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the Buffet was by far very minimal and didn't offer any variety. stayed for 2 nights and the menu never changed and it was very basic. This is despite the lunch buffet costing Rs. 2,250 when compared with the high-end Colombo city hotel buffet which range 2500-2600/head this was worthless.If the premium is for the location - then traveler's pls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director & Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with our buffet fare. We have a different theme night, based on a 7 day cycle, every night, in order to avoid repetition, so we will look into this. We have noted your comments regarding value for money and... More 

New Delhi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Calamander is a confusing place. It is superbly located, food is quite good, service is friendly but the hotel is very strangely constructed, probably because the size of the plot is not adequate for a hotel. Rooms are quite small and the layout of the hotel makes you feel you are in a 3 star hotel. And worst of all,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to review our beautiful hotel. Our location is indeed superb and we have created an intimate, family friendly hotel that looks and feels quite unique. Unlike most hotels in Sri Lanka that either slavishly copy the international style of a Hilton or Marriott, or ape the post Bawa aesthetic or mimic... More 

Pensacola
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel location is very nice, but the AC does not work very well, so getting ready to be warm. There were also no wash cloths available. The people were very friendly and very accommodating. The dinner buffet was nice as well. I would rate this as a nice 2 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director and Board Representative rd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We understand that you were part of a group booking from Red Dot Tours. Your group consisted of 22 guests occupying a total of 13 rooms and you all stayed for two nights on half board basis. We have checked our house keeping records... More 

bangalore, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having decided to stay one night in Galle, someone suggested Unawatuna. Online Calamander looked very good, and it was. We reached in mid-afternoon heat after spending the morning at the Galle Fort. We loved the hotel right away, the smiling faces of photos of their employees pasted as wall paper behind the reception said it all.... "we believe in service"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paloma scott S, Director at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety of facilities and activities on offer. Our Luxury rooms are indeed ideal for families with children and we apologize for the bathroom door not shutting right. Our Front Office is available 24/7 to assist on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question