We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calamander Unawatuna Beach

Parangiyawatta, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Offers & Announcements
Special deal Feb/March
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Calamander Unawatuna Beach
Panoramas (16)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in this Hotel in January 2016. Everything was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. It had all the usual facilities. The breakfast was very good, though the "tea service" can be improved. The counter staff were very polite and helpful. It is a great place to relax and unwind.

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive observations about Calamander Unawatuna Beach. It is most encouraging for our staff to have such acknowledgement of their hard work. We note your comment regarding our tea service and we will ensure that this is improved. We hope that if you visit Sri Lanka again, you will return to Calamander Unawatuna Beach. Kind... More 

Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel for the last week, would be returning again next year it looks the best hotel on Uttawatuna beach, nice friendly staff, nice rooms. The rooms are spacious but not clean up to normal standards but we had a lovely time.

Helpful?
Thank Beth035
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you had such a great time at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We note your comment on the cleanliness of your room. This surprises the Management and we are quite sure there must have been a particular circumstance to have caused this lapse in our service. We do apologise for this and will look into the... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, although a bit pricy restaurant compared to other restarurants in close proximity. Service was great, with very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived on a Saturday, and there were a lot of loud music from bars close by into the long hours of the night, but other than that we slept well. It is right on the beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdrianRaj
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We note your comment about our restaurant and our pricing compared to other restaurants along the beach. Previous customers have made this same observation and we are not embarrassed to state publicly that we are law abiding and pay all our taxes and of... More 

Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
1,138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The beach is attractive but is lined with a variety of restaurants. The resort is fairly basic and would struggle to achieve 4 stars. The place was clean and the room was basic without a view unless you like looking at reception and the restaurant. This may be one of the better places in Unawatuna Beach but there has to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for making time to review your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. Our rooms are designed to provide comfort and cleanliness. The rooms have been fitted with high quality bathroom fixtures and fittings, bespoke mahogany bedroom furniture and 5 star quality mattresses. Our style is the antithesis to faux, antique, colonial decoration, repeated slavishly in most Unawatuna... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a deluxe double from booking.com on a great deal. We arrived at 2am and they were waiting for us. The room was comfortable, clean and had great views of the red pool. Everything in the bathroom worked fine and the pools, restaurant and beach were just exactly what we had hoped for. Lovely staff and great food. I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank judydidi
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your complimentary review of your stay at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are delighted that our hotel met so many of your expectations and you enjoyed the Sri Lankan cookery classes. Very surprised that Delhi is cold and foggy, sounds more like London! We hope you will return to Calamander Unawatuna Beach, if you... More 

Hjoerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very beautiful hotel with fantastic view and very friendly staff. We had a luxury room in the new building, a very nice room with a beautiful beach view, and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. The hotel is nice and clean and have two very nice and beautiful swimmingpools. They serve a nice breakfast buffet, with continental as well as local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Braun9700
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your experience of staying at Calamander Unawatuna Beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves and you appreciated our very original swimming pools. Management are also very pleased to learn that you had the best coffee in our hotel, during your stay in Sri Lanka. To address your criticisms of our... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having just cancelled our reservation at the Unawatuna MBR Resort because it was so dirty we arrived here to be told that they only had rooms for one night (we wanted 3 or 4) and they were USD220 when Agoda showed them AUD136. After some discussion the manager said he had found a room which we could have for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank john s
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise most sincerely for the problem you had with the pillows. It does serve as a reminder to our Housekeeper to ensure that all our bedding and linen is of a good standard. Management provides guide lines for length of usage and standards of cleanliness are set for each and every room. This oversight however seems to... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Smallest room below average and they call it deluxe... with a view of an ugly road... find my fare and standard chartered gave a fake offer saying 25% off and the price i paid wasmuch higher than direct rate... ever again will i stay in the shabby place they call a resort... stay away from fake offers given by find... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelsl1982
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We like this relaxed and happily-run hotel. Travelling with small children, we stayed in this resort hotel last year and were delighted then with the accommodation and the bright, clean, modern. facilities. The open-sided dining area has spectacular views of the Indian Ocean and the buffet-style food, much of it cooked to order, is excellent and varied with a large,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resort (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the staff at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, we thank you and appreciate your comments and observations. It is most gratifying to have given you and your family such a enjoyable holiday and we look forward to hosting your family in the future. Kind regards, Miss Paloma Scott More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

not what it is maybe 1.5 star old dirty bed with worn spring mush have bribed to get a 4 star changed name for the same reason misleading all the way staff very rude manager wanted extra payment for upgrading to 2 star but had paid for 4 star rotten corrupted staff seaview ???? opened window its walls set on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank al h
OriginalPaloma, Director, Unawatuna Beach Resorts (pvt) Ltd at Calamander Unawatuna Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You made two room bookings through your travel agent. You requested two deluxe rooms and because you told us you were coming as a family, we designated one of our family suites, rooms 111 and 112, which has interconnecting doors. Both rooms have been refurbished to a high standard together with high spec bathrooms. Upon arrival, you requested... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

632 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (206)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (94)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (51)
Viewed
Glass Pool (29)
Viewed
Luxury Room (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (83)
Viewed
Super Deluxe Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#6 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 27 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#11 of 27 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay