We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    155
    72
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
80
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent five nights at this hotel as a part of our family holiday, booked in a two bed room suite which looked ideal for my family, we were all able to sleep in one unit so the kids were comfortable in their own king bed. The beach setting was ok and the nicest was their private beach area which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very good location 🌅excellent service 🍵🍴🍸🍷good staff 👫 we had a good time in Sri Lanka with my family I will highly recommended anyone go to Sri Lanka book this hotel ❤️❤️❤️🍻🍷🍸🍴🍧They're arrange spa treatments 😘😘😘

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one week, really enjoyed, great foods, friendly staff and clean room. Spa was wonderful. Lovely hotel I recommend and thanks for staff and specially management. We had taste Sri Lankan foods that's was amazing and services were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review and 5-star rating of Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you liked your stay with us relaxing in your room, enjoying the beach and feasting on the huge variety of food available in our property. We... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Thaproban Pavillion in august 2015 with the family (two parents, two boys of 14) in the family room. It had a naster bed room on the ground floor and a kids bed rooms on the first, each with its own bathroom. The room was very nice on itself and well set-up. We found it a diadvantage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We are thankful for the time you have taken to write a review about our hotel following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback of all kinds in order to improve and give you the best service possible. We are truly sorry for the troubles you faced and we have taken immediate actions for improvement. Most of... More 

West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To begin, I must confess, I don't know why this hotel is so highly rated. Some of our issues had to do with the timing of our visit, but the location and the restaurant are just not great. For starters, we were led to believe this property is on the beach. It is NOT. While they have a very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time you have taken to write a detailed review about our hotel following your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for staying with us and for the aiding review that you have posted. I would like to extend the apologies of the Management for any inconveniences caused during your stay. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was spacious and clean. The pool area is pretty. The breakfast was satisfactory. Some of the male staff were very dismissive of me (a female) and directed all communication to my partner. I appreciate there are cultural differences in Sri Lanka but the staff here came across rude. Other Sri Lankan men managed to balance good manners while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thankful for the time you have taken to write a review about our hotel following your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback of all kinds in order to improve and give you the best service possible. We are truly sorry for the troubles you faced and we have taken immediate actions for improvement but we are... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing hotel! We were greeted by the most caring and friendly staff with "refreshing towels" to wash out faces, fresh papaya juice and free towels for the pool. We arrived slightly before check in, but that was not a problem. We were able to lie by the pool (with a private beach next door) until the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for choosing Thaproban Pavilion Resort &Spa for your recent visit and taking the trouble of sharing your experiences of our resort. We are delighted to note that you were extremely happy with the resort and its services and had a memorable stay with us Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this place for four nights. The location is great with friendly staff. The design of the hotel is nice and swimming pool, private beach nicely laid out. The food is good but it was the first time we had to eat inside during our stay in Sri Lanka. We have rated this hotel lower for the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa ! We are pleased note your positive thoughts of our Staff, service, Concept, Location and specially Private Beach. Let us clear your constructive feelings, it was a very heavy windy & rainy day, due to unusual situation we could not hamper your family,We always take customers view positively and drive... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very relaxing stay at Thaproban. Beautiful pool with a view. Excellent room (though too few windows). Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rodrigo and Kolvin from the reastarant really made us feel at home. Pricey, but worth it. Bit away from the beaches (the hotel's private beach is more of a token beach).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa, Unawatuna and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and loved our hospitality and services. Glad to know appreciated the warmth extended by our service associates Specially Rodrigo and Kolvin... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did a quick trip to una and spent one night here. The hotel is beautiful. It's in a nice secluded area with a small private beach cove. A lovely pool perfect to watch the sun set. The rooms were big and very clean. We took a two room suite and had a lovely jacuzzi. The only thing was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shalla Many thanks for choosing to stay at Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa, Unawatuna and for sharing your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel well located , Duplex rooms comfortable with spacious beds and our service standards to be top notch. Your generous comments have been shared with the entire team... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unawatuna
1.2 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#7 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#11 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay