We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Unawatuna hotels

Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa to your Saves list
88%
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
A recent review
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
50
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel with amazing views and great customer service. The room was modern and had lovely view especially at dawn and dusk. The pool side was beautiful and relaxing. Love the architectural design which has recreated the atmosphere of the dutch era whilst being nice and modern inside. The restaurant was elegant and had a nice ambience to it. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights at this Boutique property. The rooms, the staff and the cleanliness were all to a good standard. What needs to be done, is that surrounding area and the access road need to be cleaned up and repaired. The General Manager, Mr. Maragoda and F&B Manager Ajith were excellent hosts, willing to go that extra yard for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good things:- friendly and helpful staff, great pillows, nice view and pool.. However, the food was quite poor, bland and only a few sea food items which is a pity since this is a beach resort. All the windows in the room did not have blinds so it was impossible to sleep in. The tv was very far from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We thank you for your review of the Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa and it is nice to hear your positive comments. We are also quite surprised that you have mentioned about food verities in your review. But we have wide selection food by an a la carte Menu, All-day dining and vegetarian options for customer’s choice.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 12 nights here and loved every minute.The staff were all very helpful and friendly and so cheerful too! We had a pool pavilion which was perfect. The food in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard and beautifully presented.One night they held a seafood buffet on the beach ...again beautifully presented and a wide selection of tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel three nights in August 2014. The hotel is situated close to the sea and contains a pool and also a small seawater beach. We loved the curry that the kitchen served and we also ate grilled fresh fish that was really delicious. The staff was friendly and professional and the room was very nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. My dad was happy to bond with the manager, Alex over cricket. Beautiful hotel. We stayed in one of the duplexes. Both floors were lovely-huge comfortable beds. Nice side view of the sea from the 2nd floor balcony. Loved the bathroom and their products. The pool is great. Terrific view of the setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel staff went out of their way to cater to our every need, the staff were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are gorgeous, they have air conditioning and very pleasant... the bathrooms were a little 'hot' as there is not much ventilation, also the duplex room we were in had swing doors for bathroom doors..... which could get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review .we are very pleased to note that you felt our warm welcome and enjoyed our Hospitality ,and your positive comment about Sri Lanka.If you visit to our country in future we trust you will stay with us More

Dubai
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Unawatuna. The view from the pool is absolutely breathtaking! The hotel had the friendliest staff I have ever seen and the bed is INCREDIBLE ! The hotel is walking distance from a few bars (ask the staff and they might even offer to walk you there!) Thank you for to everyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Thaproban pavillion ,We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and feel free comment about our service team and satisfied with room,food and Hotel location in unawatuna.It is more encourage to our team too to continue an excellent service standers as a cannot wait to see us again.. More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Booked this resort based on the Tripadvisor reviews. I thought it would be great. However I was thoroughly disappointed. The resort looked worn off and is in serious need of renovation and refurbishment. When my partner and I arrived, we were welcomed by hesitant staff who looked puzzled. I do have to mention that the road to the resort at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa. As mentioned in your review, you have gone through the good reviews that we have received in the site which led you to have selected the hotel. So we feel those reviewers have not faced such disappointments of the product and the services of Thaproban Pavilion... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Although I really enjoyed staying at Thaproban resort it sadly began on a sour note. Upon arrival we were shown to our room where the lights, tv and AC did not work. This was fixed within 30 minutes but it is not what you would like to have after a long days travel. After speaking with the manager about my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa

Address: Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa