We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka
Special Price
50% OFF Seasonal Discount
Cantaloupe Aqua
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Pauline P Toronto, Canada
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    111
    45
    18
    6
See reviews for
48
175
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had to upgrade from the room Amoma listed. Not a pleasant room! Great staff! Manager very attentive! Our upgrade lacked hot water, but the manager offered a refund of the upgrade costs without blinking an eye. Hotel was closing for renovations for at least a month sometime following our visit in March. The terrible room was to be renovated. Great... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to sit and stare at the sea with charming, helpful staff and excellent cocktails. We had had a ghastly time at an overpriced and underwhelming hotel in Unawatuna, this lovely hotel was a welcome relief.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Nigel, Thanks so much for your review ! Sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience elsewhere and we are so glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Do come and visit us again, just to let you know we are offering direct booking promotions of upto 40% off till the end of June. Cheers! More 

doha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is excellent, the service is very good everybody is polite and speak English very well. The food is marvellous the breakfast too.The rooms are not like the photographs and they smell mould, windows could not open and make the atmosphere dirty. Its a nice hotel but too expensive for the quality of the rooms

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us and your kind comments on the location, food and service. We will definitely pass this on to the team We are sorry to hear you did not find the room satisfactory.While we believe the Aqua Aqua rooms are reflective of the photos the property is currently undergoing a mini refurbishment... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a week travelling with family. We had a great stay. All the staff were very warm and friendly and helped in any way they could. The location was great, just a short tuk tuk ride into Unawatuna, but far enough away to feel peaceful. It has a great spot overlooking the ocean, and a nice beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Laura, We are delighted with your review and thank you for taking the time to write it. So pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were also able to visit our second property Levels, we hope you enjoyed the pool and the view. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the Kitchen team, the... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully designed rooms with fantastic view, very nice helpful staff, great food and very imaginative cocktails. A great place to sit and stare at the sea. Absolutely brilliant, highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us this great review and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We would say sipping a cocktail while watching the sun set from the deck is hard to beat! Looking forward to seeing you at Aqua again and do keep in touch. Cheers! More 

Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We made a stop for one night on our trip between the Hill Country and Bentota and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We took all our meals at this hotel (which we rarely do) even though there are many alternatives in the neighbourhood, just because this place is so magical. Imagine you are sitting (or lying)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the amazing review and beautifully written words! We do have to agree with you on the spectacular views from the deck and restaurant. The kitchen and hotel staff will be so pleased to hear your feedback. We would love to see you at Aqua again and are currently running direct booking promotions of upto 25% as well... More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We have just returned from a delightful stay, the staff were so friendly and caring. They discovered that it was my husbands birthday at breakfast on our departure day, within minutes we had a delicious birthday cake and the staff fussing over us, lovely. The location is some way from Galle, which suited us to be away from the hussle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Thanks for the great review and we are so happy that we could make the occasion special for you and your husband. Will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team, hope to see you at Aqua again. Cheers! More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Aqua is a tuktuk ride from Unawatuna, which is cheap and always available. The hotel has a fresh clean feel to it, but it is a bit shy of a 5 point rating. The food is okey, but not spectacular. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is a lot smaller than I imagined from the pictures, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Erik, Thanks for your positive review and we appreciate the feedback on the service. Our pool is indeed a plunge swimming pool due to space restrictions but as you stated there is a large beach stretch right next to the hotel. Would be great to see you back at Aqua again and do let us know so that we... More 

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Beautiful pool overlooking the sea. Long stretch of white sand. The only sound you get is of waves hitting the shore. It's a beautiful property with not too many people. The rooms at the top looking at the sea are simply amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie, Thanks for your great review and we are so glad you enjoyed the stunning views and beach. It would be great to see you back at Aqua and wanted to let you know we are currently running direct booking promotions of up to 25% off as well as stay 4 nights and pay for 3 or stay 9... More 

Norrtalje, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Good hotell with nice rooms and very good food. Small pool but the beach just a few meters away. Service of the staff was very good, specially from the waitingstaff and a man called Sandun who was very serviceminded and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Joakim, Thank you for your review of Aqua. Your comments on the hotel, room , food, service and location were most kind, it's always nice to receive wonderful feedback on our hotel. When mentioned to our staff they asked me to thank you personally for such a wonderful review and hopes to welcome you in the near future. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

352 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (295)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities