We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Bungalow

Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Joe\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    12
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Amazing! Waking up to such a beautiful view, so tranquil & relaxing each morning was just fantastic - breakfast, lunch & dinner you are spoilt for choice.....rooms are comfortable, clean & a big plus for me way the power shower! Loved everything about this place - couldn't ask for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I and 3 colleagues stayed at Joe's Bungalow's between 19th - 26th Feb 2015. As we were on business we were in Unawatuna for this brief time. I'll start with the positives firstly the Location is excellent, a small beach is located adjacent to the property but also Unawatuna Beach is just a 5-10 minute walk away which is visible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have read your review with the greatest of regret. I have done a full investigation into your complaints and my findings are as follows. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further if you so require. We received a reservation for 4 single rooms on "set menu" basis from your agent. The hotel Manager greeted... More 

Travelers are raving about these Unawatuna hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd of May weekend...let me start with the view and location...absolutely awesome! me and my group of 12 friends were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The hospitality was exceptional as was the food which exceeded expectations. The staff were very obliged and went out of their way to make sure everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are really happy to hear you had a great Birthday weekend and we were able to make it an event to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

INDIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The property is almost on the beach. Clean rooms and a special thanks to the very obliging and hospitable staff. The food too was very good. I will most definitely like to come back and spend a few extra nights soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and the management was beyond pathetic. It seems this hotel/bungalow is facing a severe identity crisis as they are not sure if they are operating as a hotel or a bungalow. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and we were asked to wait until the rooms were made ready (which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in this awesome property for 2 nights. Awesome because the view and the location is fabulous. We were there on 28th & 29th Dec'2013. My only suggestion to all Indians will be never visit this property. The manager is pathetic. I feel bad to see such a lovely property is being handled by such an unfriendly, rude manager.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Myself and my wife have stayed at Joe's Bungalow on three occasions in the last two years and I thought it only right that I pass on my thanks and gratitude. The bungalow is basically directly on the beach and is perfect for morning and evening walks along the beach front. The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have been in my extensive travels, having worked for Emirates for some time I thought I had seen it all. To my surprise once the main gate to Joe's bungalow was opened and I saw the sunrise over the property I was truly speechless. The staff are so accommodating and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you had a great holiday and Joe's Bungalow is one of your favourites! I am glad that our staff were able to meet your expectations and we do hope to see you again should you return to Sri Lanka! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Joes Bungalow and what a beautiful, tranquil and stunning get away. Its set right on the beach but has very easy access to local bars and food places, such an ideal setting. We stayed in the smaller guest quarters rather than the main bungalow itself and its was absolutely perfect, the 2 guys onsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a great holiday and that you were happy with our sevice. Should you return to Sri Lanka again we look forward to seeing you! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

colombo
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Have stayed here many times. Always had a great time with friends and family. Fabulous view of the ocean, probably the best beach in Sri Lanka. No pool but has a hot tub. You actually do not need a pool as the sea is pretty calm. Staff does a super BBQ on the beach. Travel Tip - Close to historic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.0 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#7 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#11 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.3 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 26 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 26 in Unawatuna
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay