We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Bungalow

Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joe's Bungalow
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Joe's Bungalow
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I and 3 colleagues stayed at Joe's Bungalow's between 19th - 26th Feb 2015. As we were on business we were in Unawatuna for this brief time. I'll start with the positives firstly the Location is excellent, a small beach is located adjacent to the property but also Unawatuna Beach is just a 5-10 minute walk away which is visible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have read your review with the greatest of regret. I have done a full investigation into your complaints and my findings are as follows. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further if you so require. We received a reservation for 4 single rooms on "set menu" basis from your agent. The hotel Manager greeted... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd of May weekend...let me start with the view and location...absolutely awesome! me and my group of 12 friends were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The hospitality was exceptional as was the food which exceeded expectations. The staff were very obliged and went out of their way to make sure everything was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are really happy to hear you had a great Birthday weekend and we were able to make it an event to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

INDIA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The property is almost on the beach. Clean rooms and a special thanks to the very obliging and hospitable staff. The food too was very good. I will most definitely like to come back and spend a few extra nights soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and the management was beyond pathetic. It seems this hotel/bungalow is facing a severe identity crisis as they are not sure if they are operating as a hotel or a bungalow. We arrived earlier than the check-in time and we were asked to wait until the rooms were made ready (which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in this awesome property for 2 nights. Awesome because the view and the location is fabulous. We were there on 28th & 29th Dec'2013. My only suggestion to all Indians will be never visit this property. The manager is pathetic. I feel bad to see such a lovely property is being handled by such an unfriendly, rude manager.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Myself and my wife have stayed at Joe's Bungalow on three occasions in the last two years and I thought it only right that I pass on my thanks and gratitude. The bungalow is basically directly on the beach and is perfect for morning and evening walks along the beach front. The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have been in my extensive travels, having worked for Emirates for some time I thought I had seen it all. To my surprise once the main gate to Joe's bungalow was opened and I saw the sunrise over the property I was truly speechless. The staff are so accommodating and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear that you had a great holiday and Joe's Bungalow is one of your favourites! I am glad that our staff were able to meet your expectations and we do hope to see you again should you return to Sri Lanka! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Joes Bungalow and what a beautiful, tranquil and stunning get away. Its set right on the beach but has very easy access to local bars and food places, such an ideal setting. We stayed in the smaller guest quarters rather than the main bungalow itself and its was absolutely perfect, the 2 guys onsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your husband had a great holiday and that you were happy with our sevice. Should you return to Sri Lanka again we look forward to seeing you! Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow More 

colombo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Have stayed here many times. Always had a great time with friends and family. Fabulous view of the ocean, probably the best beach in Sri Lanka. No pool but has a hot tub. You actually do not need a pool as the sea is pretty calm. Staff does a super BBQ on the beach. Travel Tip - Close to historic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have visited Joe's Bunaglow many many times with family and friends. We have always had the best of times at that place! The staff are friendly and efficient.. and the location is simply awesome.. the hot tub in the garden and the proximity to the beach is really cool... we go there at least once a year.. one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Joe's Bungalow soon!! Many Thanks Joe's Bungalow More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities