We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thaproban Beach House

Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thaproban Beach House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    146
    41
    14
    16
See reviews for
93
238
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (483)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thaproban Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Loved it, loved it, loved it. The staff were wonderfully friendly, the room was beautiful, the service was sensational. We loved being right on the water, but away from crazy packed beach (only a short stroll if that's your thing). Sometimes a bit of noise from the bars nearby, but at Unawatuna I'm not sure there's anywhere you'd escape that!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I studied the tripadvisor reviews before booking this hotel and was torn between this place and its sister hotel, not on the beach. I should have been warned by the reports of noise. Unfortunately this is not the fault of the hotel itself. The management and staff were very polite and smiling at all times. I had a penthouse suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Eileen16, Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that the taxi service was not arranged by the hotel, as it was arranged by the travel agent who booked your room at Thaproban beach house. The hotel didn't asked you to check out at 9am as you have the right to stay in the room till... More

Falkenberg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed in Thaproban Beach House for 13 nights and had a wonderful stay. Clean rooms, a lovely restaurant by the sea with excellent food, and wonderful staff with good service in any time. Our room was a "deluxe room" at the ground floor with sea wiev directly at the terrace restaurant. No problem with privacy or noise from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Very nice, attentive and unobtrusive service. A very nice greeting at this point to Umara, of which we unfortunately could not say goodbye in person. Beautiful room on the first floor with direct sea view. Good food and reasonable prices. Unfortunately, the limited choices for breakfast make this boring quickly. We can recommend Thaproban but in any case.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Large clean rooms with big bath room and balcony - it met all our expectations. Friendly and attentive staff. Our room/balcony was just over the outdoor restaurant so we were afraid that there would be noice, but that was not so - after 10 pm it was quiet. Excellent food in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We were unimpressed by the Thaproban Beach House and in no way did it compare to the photos on the website! Our room was a 'deluxe' room but lacking in any privacy as the doors opened right onto the restaurant. Loud music from the bar next door was playing until past midnight and there were cockroaches in the room. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Susanah, Thank you for your review. I would like to recall that your reservation at Thaproban beach house was made by an agent. Im not sure how the room was described to you to match your expectations. However for all guests who book direct with the hotel we honor all special requests. If the agent has informed us to... More

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Over priced....The rooms are pretty good.. Poor service... The rooms were really noisy... Thambapanni retreat is a better option...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We chose this hotel on the basis of the positive reviews but were really disappointed. The first night was in a deluxe room situated next to the road. The mosquito nets were dirty and the sheets old and really small! We then had seven nights in a penthouse room the room was beautiful and the view stunning but our whole... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thaproban, Public Relations Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. Regarding the room you were in for the first night. The management has inspected the room, the mosquito net has been replaced. The bed sheets are the standard sheets that is layed for queen size beds. We replace the bed sheets with new sheets on a frequent basis therefore... More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This hotel is justifiably popular, offering good value for money rooms with lovely fresh decor. The upstairs sea-facing rooms are definitely the pick - spacious, private and with excellent views. The downstairs sea-facing rooms open directly onto the terrace restaurant so they are not particularly private. The food is as good as any in Unawatuna (although that is not saying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We spent a few nights at the Thaproban Beach House between Christmas and New Year. It's situated on the ocean side in the centre of Unawatuna. At the back of the hotel it has a lovely enclosed area overlooking the beach where you can have breakfast and a larger restaurant at the front facing the road, serving the best curry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

282 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (271)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay