We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Add Your Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    216
    70
    36
    25
See reviews for
141
301
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (630)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (180)
All months
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I - fresh newly weds - travelled to Zanzibar for our honeymoon, now in February 2015. We stayed at Karafuu Beach Resort which was just amazing!! On arrival, we were welcomed with friendly smiles and shown to our room - which had the most incredible view - straight out onto the beach! We stayed at the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much to have chosen Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa and it was the right decision. We are very pleased that we met your needs, requirements and expectations and your general experience was wonderful. We always strive to deliver quality services to maximize guests’ satisfaction. Thank you for your review and we ready to welcome... More 

Howick, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with Karafuu Hotel in November last year. The views are amazing, rooms clean and love the variety of the restaurants. I went on my own just to have a short break and when i left i felt i was part of the island..i was just unhappy about one thing, the last i had sunburn on my feet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to start by thanking you for your Feedback by identifying your negative experience which eventually going to help us more to improve our team to offer good quality services. It was very unfortunate to get negative answer at the Reception that did not meet your expectation. I am sorry and really apologize for all... More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Karafuu Beach Resort and Zanzibar was our first Island experience. We travelled to the island in April 2014 for 7 nights. We were blown away by the beauty of the island and the crystal clear waters. The rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The food was good and nice variety to choose from. We enjoyed the Italian restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, I am very pleased to have received your feedback which is very vital for us. It is our privilege to serve you to your satisfaction and always our Friendly staffs are at guests’ disposal to make sure all their needs, requirements are met to their contentment. Thank you once more for your satisfaction in everything as per... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed here in May 2014 with a friend of mine to relax from a safari and to play beach volleyball. The good gym and the nice empty beach gave us the perfect training conditions. All of that was sourounded by great food and nice staff. I recommend to book all inclusive as the food variety is so huge!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, I take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to put across your positive review to us. It is with much appreciation and concern to realize the satisfaction of your vacation with us reached to its identity by assuring us that most of activities carried by our dedicated animation Team really made your holiday perfect.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Karafuu happened by ‘mistake’ after our travel agent ‘forgot’ to confirm our resort of first choice. Having read all the negative reviews on Tripadvisor I prepared for the worst. However, Karafuu was a most pleasant surprise from the moment we walked into the beautiful reception area. The location is picture perfect: powder white beach, calm turquoise sea, palm trees. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is my pleasure to thank you for having spending your holiday in our Resort with your family even though you did not plan and it happened by chance that made you prepared for the worst following negative review in TripAdvisor which probably you did find physically. Thank you for your valuable feedback which is very vital... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We booked for two, inter-connecting Bondeni pool rooms - paid for in full in September 2014. On arrival in December 2014, we were given various (and conflicting) stories about the availability of the rooms that we had paid for. Mr Zacharia (General Manager) was called several times to resolve the situation - he was apparently visiting the construction site. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

1. Most of the staff cannot converse in basic English therefore hard to communicate when you want something. 2. They have a rule that you cannot reserve a dinner table....yet one particular guest was allowed to always reserve her table...no consistency in rules here! 3. They said we could use the other restaurants available on the site but this you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Collette, Greetings from Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa! Thank you very much for having spending your holiday in our Resort and valued feedback you gave us touching poor communication in English of the staff, Non Table reservation in our main Restaurant but few guests were given that chance. I promise you that this will be checked properly and... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

A nice resort hotel just next to the beach. Lies quiet and calm on the east side of Zanzibar. Pros. Resort with everything that comes with a resort. Animations like waterworkout, volleboll etc. Different bars and every evening there was a new theme in the evening buffe. Different evening performance from dancer etc. Two a la carte resturants if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Warm greetings from Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa!! I am very pleased for having chosen Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa and happy to receive valuable feedback from you touching food quality which was good but did not meet your full expectation and areas where the activities, Excursions, diving and the Trips you planned did not materialized either... More 

Madrid
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

The treat their customers as prisoners with not alternatives in the area, several examples: - The most important, they only accept payment with credit card with a 5% extra charge and they only accept payment in US Dollar at their "special" exchange rate that is 10% over the airport rate. in total you pay extra 15%. Unacceptable. - Internet, completely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We spent a truly delightful week at the Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, myself, my husband and our daughter and her husband. Id read the reviews on TA and was hopeful that things would be good. There were a few poor reviews, but most were positive. This was our fourth visit to Zanzibar and our daughter's first. Well, Karafuu proved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

854 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (837)
Viewed
Room/suite (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (221)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (120)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (309)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question