We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    224
    71
    37
    25
See reviews for
143
309
29
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (647)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (180)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is amazing but if you want to travel the agency inside the hotel is very expensive and taking advantage of the fact that there are almost no alternative near by. So if you want to travel you can get all the trips you hear about in half price at the hotel right next to karafuu (going South). Another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not bad but not what was expected. The service in general lacks well behind the scenery and the friendly staff. The food was OK but not whaauw. The resort is apparently 20 years old and it is time for serious renovations. Quite clear that time and nature has been taking its toll on all man made stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a week in the Karafuu resort, HB deal. the place is beautiful, very relaxed, very nice and helpful staff. they have 3 pools so you can always find a quit one or a crowded one, depend what you are looking for. the meals are good, you can choose from 3 different restaurants on the premises. the beach is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for business for three days. Upon arrival we had to wait four hours for our room in the sweltering heat. Although the manager did his best to help us out including a free lunch it set the tone. The hotel also gives a very bad rate when settling your room bill. If you pay in dollars be prepared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments. I and my Team believe that both negative and positive comments are the way forward to know the bad ones that always lead to rectification and improvement. I would like to inform you that our check in time is 14:00hrs but always trying our level best to give room out as... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been to several island holidays around the world and this one is truly in a rustic class of its own. Water like you've never seen. A turquoise endless bath on a shore of powdery white sands in a beautiful tip of the world. A privilege to have stayed here. Stunning rooms, superb service ! Genuine time out. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. As you have mentioned, Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa is the True Paradise that one can relax and calm down any stress to enjoy Holiday. We do believe and have everything for Holiday makers. Thank you once more and really very happy for your satisfaction. Yours sincerely, Dominic Ouko Assistant... More 

Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My husband and I - fresh newly weds - travelled to Zanzibar for our honeymoon, now in February 2015. We stayed at Karafuu Beach Resort which was just amazing!! On arrival, we were welcomed with friendly smiles and shown to our room - which had the most incredible view - straight out onto the beach! We stayed at the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much to have chosen Karafuu Beach Resort & Spa and it was the right decision. We are very pleased that we met your needs, requirements and expectations and your general experience was wonderful. We always strive to deliver quality services to maximize guests’ satisfaction. Thank you for your review and we ready to welcome... More 

Howick, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I stayed with Karafuu Hotel in November last year. The views are amazing, rooms clean and love the variety of the restaurants. I went on my own just to have a short break and when i left i felt i was part of the island..i was just unhappy about one thing, the last i had sunburn on my feet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to start by thanking you for your Feedback by identifying your negative experience which eventually going to help us more to improve our team to offer good quality services. It was very unfortunate to get negative answer at the Reception that did not meet your expectation. I am sorry and really apologize for all... More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Karafuu Beach Resort and Zanzibar was our first Island experience. We travelled to the island in April 2014 for 7 nights. We were blown away by the beauty of the island and the crystal clear waters. The rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The food was good and nice variety to choose from. We enjoyed the Italian restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, I am very pleased to have received your feedback which is very vital for us. It is our privilege to serve you to your satisfaction and always our Friendly staffs are at guests’ disposal to make sure all their needs, requirements are met to their contentment. Thank you once more for your satisfaction in everything as per... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed here in May 2014 with a friend of mine to relax from a safari and to play beach volleyball. The good gym and the nice empty beach gave us the perfect training conditions. All of that was sourounded by great food and nice staff. I recommend to book all inclusive as the food variety is so huge!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, I take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to put across your positive review to us. It is with much appreciation and concern to realize the satisfaction of your vacation with us reached to its identity by assuring us that most of activities carried by our dedicated animation Team really made your holiday perfect.... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Karafuu happened by ‘mistake’ after our travel agent ‘forgot’ to confirm our resort of first choice. Having read all the negative reviews on Tripadvisor I prepared for the worst. However, Karafuu was a most pleasant surprise from the moment we walked into the beautiful reception area. The location is picture perfect: powder white beach, calm turquoise sea, palm trees. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is my pleasure to thank you for having spending your holiday in our Resort with your family even though you did not plan and it happened by chance that made you prepared for the worst following negative review in TripAdvisor which probably you did find physically. Thank you for your valuable feedback which is very vital... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

870 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (853)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (226)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (121)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (314)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question