We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    301
    234
    75
    38
    26
See reviews for
151
324
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (191)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (180)
All months
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We had a perfect holiday at Karafuu beach resort. We loved the hotel beautiful setting on the white sand beach, the swimming pool with the bar and mostly the kind staff. Great sport activities at the pool and on the beach, conducted by Yussuf and Ali. We would love to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The hotel is very nice. The landscape is amazing. Betty from the reception is amazing. We had a problem with the air condition in the room and she always concerned to send the engineer. There were several power outages, but they last no more than a few minutes. The food at a reasonable level. It would be nice if there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked at last minute. Staff cant do enough to assist in anyway... from cutting open fallen coconuts to remebering drinks orders to happy smiling faces to providing medication for a sick traveller. At low tide the walkway out to sea is fantastic to get passed any sea urchins. Front row beach is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were at the hotel in August. We met staff courteous and smiling. All our requests received and responded to our satisfaction. Our rooms were large and spacious, with a balcony overlooking the manicured garden towards the pool. Built as a resort. Everyone has their own privacy, and social encounter is: dining room, the lobby, the pool and the sea.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

What an absolute blast! My first visit to Zanzibar could not have been better. The Karafuu family - in their entirety- are magnificent! Their hospitality, spirit, humility, serenity and passion is difficult to compare. We were made to feel special at every occasion, each meal, each encounter, each moment. The restaurant staff with their attention to detail was amazing -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Karafuu was the first hotel of three that we visited in Zanzibar. The hotel has multiple activities to keep the whole family busy. Unfortunately they don't really cater for honeymoon couples. The rooms and bathrooms need to be upgraded. Overall the food was okay and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barberton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We planned a 21 for my daughter to Zanzibar and choice Karafuu as the best location for diving and snorkeling the all inclusive package and because of burning of hotel we where moved to another local with out giving us a choice of hotel or location and that busted the 21 total. We could not have a special diner for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your review and the concern of your experience. For sure i do understand the negative feeling you have and we really apologize for the inconvenience caused due to unexpected incident that we incurred. It was also a same to us and your bad experience would have not happened if your planned holiday would have been... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

The hotel is amazing but if you want to travel the agency inside the hotel is very expensive and taking advantage of the fact that there are almost no alternative near by. So if you want to travel you can get all the trips you hear about in half price at the hotel right next to karafuu (going South). Another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having stayed with us and your positive review. We believe that we have a wonderful and amazing Hotel even though you found some of the services are too expensive and not to your expectation We shall make sure all this issues are rectified for the satisfaction of all the clients. Once again thank... More 

Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Not bad but not what was expected. The service in general lacks well behind the scenery and the friendly staff. The food was OK but not whaauw. The resort is apparently 20 years old and it is time for serious renovations. Quite clear that time and nature has been taking its toll on all man made stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Very unfortunate that your expectation was not fully met. Both positive and negative comments help us measuring our standard and lead us to improvement. We appreciate your stay with us and to have mentioned areas that need to be improved. We are now doing serious renovation in some of our rooms and... More 

Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed a week in the Karafuu resort, HB deal. the place is beautiful, very relaxed, very nice and helpful staff. they have 3 pools so you can always find a quit one or a crowded one, depend what you are looking for. the meals are good, you can choose from 3 different restaurants on the premises. the beach is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do appreciate your concern in regards to your review which touches your satisfaction during your stay with us. Thank you very much for the positive comments in areas of facilities, beauty of the environment, good staff even though there are some areas which need to be improved on in terms of Excursion arrangement and prices. We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,440 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (902)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (129)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (233)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (345)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (521)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Bondeni Pool (11)
Viewed
Cottage (78)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Masai Pool (9)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (109)
Viewed
Samawati Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
16.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
32.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
32.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
22.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
32.0 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#14 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay