We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Bpullar Dunedin, New Zealand
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently had our wedding reception at the golden gate lodge it was a fabulous weekend which went perfectly from start to finish. The manager and staff went out of their way to make our big day as special as possible and it really was great . Great food, atmosphere and service made for a brilliant weekend...many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean - the bathroom was a bit weird (it was wheelchair-friendly, which is fine, though I didn't request or need that feature) - the hand basin was outside the bathroom, as part of the actual room. The walls are a bit thin - I could hear my neighbour peeing in and flushing the toilet in the night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

A group of friends have stayed here for the Cromwell car show for about 4 years now. We've always thought it was fairly priced clean & tidy accommodation which kept us coming back. There are a group of about 12 - 16 of us each year and as the years have passed we've managed to get our rooms reasonably close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Fortunately we did have the availability on check in and on departure.The group had booked prior to your arrival and are attendees of the Car Show and the rooms that were booked were obviously not articulated very clearly to you. I understand your disappointment and we are happy to book well in advance. We try to accommodate return guest where... More 

Gaven, Queensland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I was part of a wedding group (reception was held at the Golden Gate), I had my elderly parents with me and I cannot speak highly enough of the service, the apartments and the food. As I had my parents with me, they provided a ground floor unit and early check in....what a relief as that can be difficult for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had a room at the rear of the building, spacious clean 7 well appointed, bathroom yet to be remodeled we were told. Would stay again, we were late dining approximately 8pm were told sorry we don't have anymore fish left and we don't have something else either, not mush choice at all left, 4 people dining at our table,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Not sure why we have fallen short on food and service for you. Our new menu has had nothing but great reviews and our service is what has set us apart from others in the past. I will be auctioning this review appropriately as this not the Golden Gate Standard at all. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We were in a newly refurbished room, bathroom was 1980's fittings but clean and working. Gym is in need of some serious attention and is best not worth using. The service at reception was fine and professional but nothing memerable. Overall it was good and felt the price was fair for what we got, except for the gym

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you your response. The advice we have been given is it is an adequate hotel gym with the following equipment. Treadmill, Rower, Weight station, limited free weights and bench. We offer NRG Gym as an alternative for those who require complete facilities and it is only a 3 minute walk from the hotel. I will get them back up... More 

Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

If I am just passing through I generally don't have high expectations, but this place was so outdated and old that it left a bad impression. Parts of the hotel have been renovated, but I unfortunately got one of the old rooms. Remember those old boxy vacuum-cleaner looking hair dryers attached to the wall (circa 1980s)? This place had one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, you are correct we have 32 premium rooms and 15 standard rooms. Both styles are priced accordingly and accommodate a wide arrange of travellers. We encourage all guests to view rooms prior to check in. This would give you the opportunity to have a view over the Golf Course or Vineyards. We have a fantastic... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We selected Cromwell as we didn't want to stay in Queenstown, just spending the day there and than on to the West Coast. Nothing wrong with the motel, good bed, good room. We didn't like its restaurants and bars and went into town and were surprised to see old Cromwell, quaint,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We found it to be a great hotel, we stayed upstairs, so had a great view over the vine yards. The service was excellent, It wasn't very full when we stayed so the two nights we had were lovely and quiet. We had a fantastic Christmas Eve and Christmas day with them. Lovely bottle of complimentry wine and cheese board.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments More 

Hassel, Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

there is not much choice in hotels in this area so we stayed at the Golden Gate lodge. What can I say! No elevators so you better travel light if you have to carry your own luggage upstairs. The food is ok but a bit expensive. I cannot have dairy products so the girl at the bar wanted to charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Golden Gate Lodge is a 3.5 star Property, we do not offer an onsite concierge service, however if you were physically unable to carry your own luggage or had excessive amounts we would have been happy to help. I understand your disappointment in regards to Soy milk, however it is an additional cost and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities