We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Nigel A Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    12
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here for two nights and found the rooms very warm and quiet. the beds were OK double was firm and single was softer, bathroom needed some TLC as being dated and tied. Sometimes felt you were in the get smart movie with the amount of doors you have to go through but not a hassle. Overall a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

This place is serviceable but not much more. We stayed in the motel part of it for a flying work trip. The beds weren't overly comfy, and there was nothing in the way of eating utensils (I guess the idea is to force you to have breakfast at their restaurant). Other than that it's fine, but I've certainly been to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

MichaelQ, thanks for your review although I find it confusing as you state you stayed in February and reviewed our property in June. We do not have Motel style accommodation at the Golden Gate Lodge. We are a Qual marked 3.5 Star property so your review does fit our studio style(Hotel) accommodation hence no cutlery. Although we can arrange this... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We recently had our wedding reception at the golden gate lodge it was a fabulous weekend which went perfectly from start to finish. The manager and staff went out of their way to make our big day as special as possible and it really was great . Great food, atmosphere and service made for a brilliant weekend...many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

The room was clean - the bathroom was a bit weird (it was wheelchair-friendly, which is fine, though I didn't request or need that feature) - the hand basin was outside the bathroom, as part of the actual room. The walls are a bit thin - I could hear my neighbour peeing in and flushing the toilet in the night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

A group of friends have stayed here for the Cromwell car show for about 4 years now. We've always thought it was fairly priced clean & tidy accommodation which kept us coming back. There are a group of about 12 - 16 of us each year and as the years have passed we've managed to get our rooms reasonably close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Fortunately we did have the availability on check in and on departure.The group had booked prior to your arrival and are attendees of the Car Show and the rooms that were booked were obviously not articulated very clearly to you. I understand your disappointment and we are happy to book well in advance. We try to accommodate return guest where... More 

Gaven, Queensland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I was part of a wedding group (reception was held at the Golden Gate), I had my elderly parents with me and I cannot speak highly enough of the service, the apartments and the food. As I had my parents with me, they provided a ground floor unit and early check in....what a relief as that can be difficult for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had a room at the rear of the building, spacious clean 7 well appointed, bathroom yet to be remodeled we were told. Would stay again, we were late dining approximately 8pm were told sorry we don't have anymore fish left and we don't have something else either, not mush choice at all left, 4 people dining at our table,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Not sure why we have fallen short on food and service for you. Our new menu has had nothing but great reviews and our service is what has set us apart from others in the past. I will be auctioning this review appropriately as this not the Golden Gate Standard at all. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We were in a newly refurbished room, bathroom was 1980's fittings but clean and working. Gym is in need of some serious attention and is best not worth using. The service at reception was fine and professional but nothing memerable. Overall it was good and felt the price was fair for what we got, except for the gym

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you your response. The advice we have been given is it is an adequate hotel gym with the following equipment. Treadmill, Rower, Weight station, limited free weights and bench. We offer NRG Gym as an alternative for those who require complete facilities and it is only a 3 minute walk from the hotel. I will get them back up... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

If I am just passing through I generally don't have high expectations, but this place was so outdated and old that it left a bad impression. Parts of the hotel have been renovated, but I unfortunately got one of the old rooms. Remember those old boxy vacuum-cleaner looking hair dryers attached to the wall (circa 1980s)? This place had one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, you are correct we have 32 premium rooms and 15 standard rooms. Both styles are priced accordingly and accommodate a wide arrange of travellers. We encourage all guests to view rooms prior to check in. This would give you the opportunity to have a view over the Golf Course or Vineyards. We have a fantastic... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We selected Cromwell as we didn't want to stay in Queenstown, just spending the day there and than on to the West Coast. Nothing wrong with the motel, good bed, good room. We didn't like its restaurants and bars and went into town and were surprised to see old Cromwell, quaint,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.2 mi away
Heritage Boutique Lake Resort
22.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.2 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay