We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Cromwell hotels

Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell to your Saves list
Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Cromwell
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Barbara A Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed three winter nights at the lodge. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was good and strong. There were plenty of power points for charging electronics and a kettle and tea/coffee/milk is provided. One eccentricity was that the hand basin is in the room rather than the bathroom, very odd. Day one we had a room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the golden gate lodge in the middle of June. Went up for a wedding and we got back to our room about midnight. Had a really sore back so ran a bath. The water was cold, so cold we couldn't use it. Very disappointed. Had a shower in the morning and the water still wasn't hot. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Tracey, Thank you for taking the time discuss your experience at the hotel. I look forward to having the opportunity to prove that we are the right place to spend your money. Regards Glen Christiansen General Manager More

France
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Quite a large motel by the side of Cromwell's somewhat unattractive town centre mall. Room was clean and quite sizeable with a normal-sized double bed. The decor was quite 80s and really needs a good overhaul. We were on a B&B package but most people seem to be on a pay-as-you-go basis, so pretty much everything had to be asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Gate Lodge in early January and I was pleasantly surprised, as the last time we had been there I felt the rooms were a little tired. However they have obviously been done up since then. Our room was large and comfortable, and looked out onto beautifully kept gardens. (We were originally a little disappointed not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We only stayed one night at the hotel but the room was large with its own balcony with tables and chairs.The shower worked well and we slept well until there was a fire alarm in the morning(smoke from toaster I think)! So the fire alarms work well. We had dinner in the restaurant and and I can recommend the blue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

As the only hotel in Cromwell this facility probably gets business by default. We stayed one night for a function but should have known better. When trying to check in found the reception area deserted. Eventually walked into the restaurant to try and locate someone which I did, but didn't really get any acknowledgement that they should have been in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for writing on trip advisor, as a small country hotel our staff are often need assist through various departments, however this is not an excuse for a slip in standard or customer service. The rooms do have full sound proofing and we apologise for other guests anti social behaviour. Unfortunately the design of the room is an... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My father and I stayed in this hotel while on a tour. The room was freezing and the receptionist was very mean to us about everything. The gym was unusable because it was locked, then the power went out, then it was also freezing cold once we were finally prepared to work out. Overall, I would never stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

We knew and were expecting your negative comments. Unfortunately we understand the catalyst for your post is that you fell from the treadmill as you were unable to operate it and had not attached the safety line that automatically stops the machine. We do apologise that the heater was not operating in the Gym on your arrival. I appreciate the... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon,and were welcomed by the front desk. After seen the room we thought pretty average for the price tag we payed $140.00 per night, No Wifi ( pretty poor for a hotel noweday's) the carpet "had it" and the bedding I don't know?! It is not that we wantbeverything for nothing, but this one is certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we are very happy with our pricing structure and being a 3+star hotel we fit perfectly into the market and I apologise if you were not happy. Bacon & eggs for $12.00 is also reasonable if not on the cheap side when it is cooked to your liking and delivered to your... More

rangiora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been staying here off and on for 20 odd years, great to see the rooms have been done up, Comfortable, warm, private with bar and restaurant all on site. Great that the hand basin is outside the bathroom as someone can be in the shower or on the loo while someone else is using the hand basin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room was adequately equipped and the double bed was huge. I slept on a sofa bed but this wasn't so comfortable as the mattress was quite thin. The motel had no free Wi Fi but with a voucher could be purchased from reception. The sink was outside the bathroom which was less convenient. Overall it was clean and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.4 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Best Value, Kit...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#2 of 8 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
4.8 mi away
Heritage Boutique Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Escape B&B
Cromwell Escape B&B
#2 of 12 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
4-star, Indepen...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
47

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer