We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Manor Motel

Travelers' Choice award winner
14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Colonial Manor Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This was a awesome place very nice unit spacious and quiet very friendly people comfy bed well equipped unit and close to the shopping centre 1 minute walk the shopping centre had a large variety of shops food and clothing etc but the close early on Saturdays at 1.00 in the afternoon and closed on Sundays it's a country town... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind remarks. The stone fruit season is in full swing at the present and the fruit really is at its best right now. Queenstown is close to Cromwell but 10 mins is not quite correct it's more like 50 mins through the Gorge road. We hope to see you back our way someday. More 

Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very tidy unit & grounds. All that was needed, had a free bbq outside to use although I didn't need it Booking was easy on line . Very friendly owners, made the stay enjoyable, with a very comfortable bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z7200YUpatrickc
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The weather hasn't been overly kind to BBQ recently but they are there for guests to use. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I can really recommend this motel for a stay in Cromwell. Our downstairs studio was large and very well equipped. Little touches like biscuits, plunger coffee, lots of local information and a friendly welcome by the owners add to the appeal. The bed was super comfortable, bathroom quite spacious, a couch for reading, table and chairs in the kitchen. Tony,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review comments. Visiting the local orchards is very popular at this time of year and we are in the middle of what appears to be a bumper season with all the hot dry conditions we have had. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Everything was Great. Handy to everything in a central location. Good sized room and cmfortable beds. Really helpful owners, friendly and welcoming. Would recommend to friends, and would stay again. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 602yokom
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Hope to see you again someday. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We head a very pleasent stay, The service was excellent and we had a very nice and spacious room.The owner was very friendly and helpfull. Details like fresh cherries when we came home was the icing on the cake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank petra_vanoosterbosch
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Petra. The cherry season has just started here in Cromwell and we bought a large box and thought it would be nice to share some of them with our guests. This seasons cherry's seem particularly good so hopefully the growers have a great season. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I would definitely recommend this motel :) When we arrived we were greeted by Tony who was incredibly friendly and helpful (and the bowl of local cherries was a lovely surprise). Our room had been upgraded from the upstairs studio to a downstairs one (one of the better studio units) so we had plenty of room for us and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn for your kind review. We will get a rubber mat for that unit....thanks for the heads up on the matter.We have been putting 2 bathmats in that unit but a non slip rubber mat is probably better. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Centrally located in the town with walking distance to the shops is this well appointed quiet and relaxing motel. The beds were very comfy and the kitchen was like a home away from home. The motel owners were friendly and knowledgeable and we would gladly recommend to our friends and family to stay here. See you when we come back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 123Alison456
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We have been very fortunate with our lovely Central Otago weather this holiday season compared to the rest of the country.Do hope to see you back soon. More 

Kaikoura, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

Thanks for a great stay for the 3 nights I was in Cromwell.buitifull place to stay,quiet,clean,handy to everything,and happy helpfull hosts,thankyou.I will be back next year same time,if not before.Cromwell is also a great destination.Buitifull senery,and the weather is always good when Ive been there..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nigelfinnz
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We try hard to maintain the standards, but as for the weather... that is out of our control. Look forward to your return visit. More 

Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

These people are rip off artists, they charge extra over and above Information Centres and the rooms are so not worth it they are noisy, and a bit dated. The guy is grumpy and arrogant, and when shes there shes much the same. My advise would be to get out of the motel your not good hosts. Don't be sucked... More 

Helpful?
Thank JSDunedin
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed your experience was unsatisfactory and you found us arrogant and grumpy. We are not normally like that. Our prices are well in line with other motels of our rating in the area. It is a pity you did not bring these matters to our attention while you were here. You will find... More 

Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Tony gave awesome customer service, the team kept our room clean daily and we absolutely loved staying here. The grounds were well kept , the visitors staying in other rooms were friendly. I believe it was value for money. we would stay again, if we are ever down that way .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.4 mi away
Heritage Boutique Lake Resort
0.2 mi away
Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell
0.0 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#5 of 8 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#4 of 8 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay