We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Glen Hotel

3.0 of 5
Main St., Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Glen Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jean-Francois B
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    12
    2
    9
See reviews for
35
63
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found the Glen Hotel a great value for money for high service standards. We stayed in room 9. It was very clean and large enough for the 3 of us. The double bed was huge and particularly comfy. Nice modern bathroom, the electric shower slightly noisy. Excellent breakfast and burger for dinner! We recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped by one day on a vacation in Scotland and had lunch and a beer or two in the pub. nice local place, great quality, fast service... really couldn't complain about the place. mostly pub food but it's good food, cold beer and fair price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel! Very friendly and very welcoming! The room was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. Nice and quiet had a great nights sleep- bed was very comfy! Great food and great service! We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were warmly welcomed at this hotel, and there was no problem with finding staff around if we needed anything. Its a down to earth and friendly place, they are not sycophantic, just pleasant and helpful. The rooms were warm and the shower was excellent. They catered quite well for vegetarians, though we missed fresh fruit at breakfast which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is sat in a great place geographically. The surrounding mountains are impressive and beautiful. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfy (i've stayed in many hotel beds before and this was the best). The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was very tasty and a great filled menu. My weekend was exceptional. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good heathy post-exercise food. Plenty of it and tasted great. The welcome is second to none and the service is excellent. Wide selection of beers, spirits and drinks. We will definitely be back. Parking can be difficult but there are other spaces in the town. Local to all other events in Newtonmore; an excellent base from which to explore. Try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Really enjoyed our recent stay in The Glen Hotel with friends. Comfy rooms, staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent both nights we ate there. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others and hope to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Had a great bar meal here on Saturday night, the menu was good and had good choice. Service was slick and staff welcoming the toilets were very clean, the only thing that would enhance experience is a wee bit low key Scottish type music playing in the background and guacamole with the Nachos. Def worth a walk along village for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The food was okay nothing special. The manager and manageress were extremely rude. I have never been treated so badly at a restaurant before in my life. I think the managers need to enquire on going to some sort of customer service courses/training as they clearly have no idea how to deal with negative feedback (when they are at fault).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Badenochtraveller, Manager at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

A pleasant group of ten which we are sure had visited The Glen before as we recognised some of them. Pleased that they enjoyed the meal. Only spoilt by the rudeness and bad language of two in the group. More 

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

The food was good as far as pub grub goes, however the service was appalling. One meal arrived over 15 minutes late, after everybody had finished eating due to a 'problem with the pasta'. The manageress was completely belligerent when we asked for the meal to be discounted due to its lateness and denied it ever happened. To add to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Badenochtraveller, Manager at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review

A pleasant group of ten who we are sure had visited The Glen before as we recognised some of them. Pleased that they enjoyed their meal. Only spoilt by the rudeness and bad language from two of them. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question