We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlander Hotel

Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Highlander Hotel
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    156
    84
    32
    16
See reviews for
67
177
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (391)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

4 nights was fine here. Yes, it is basic and needs an update/overhaul, but the room was a decent size, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We were part of a coach party with all that entails i.e breakfast at 7.45am dinner at 7.30pm and another smaller coach party had a slightly later time to stagger the service, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The perfect location for exploring the wonderful highlands by whatever means you choose. A most welcoming and comfortable hotel. Excellent and varied menu and friendly staff who were most obliging. Would not hesitate to return if in the area. Clean and comfortable accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As mentioned before the hotel is a collection of buildings with the bar and restaurant separate from the bedrooms which is good for privacy but bad for poor weather. My main gripe was the food which quite frankly was inedible. Maybe as part of a coach party they serve up any old rubbish but this was the worst I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

I am shocked by your remarks regarding the food. I personally go round the tables each evening checking that everything is ok and I don’t recall anybody complaining about the food or indeed the pavlova. Our sweet trolley is a highlight for the majority of our guests and with 5 choices every night I am sure you would have tried... More 

Southwater, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Holiday was based on the Highlander Hotel at Newtonmore in Scotland. The holiday itself was fine but the hotel was a disaster. This was a great pity since the hotel itself is perfectly reasonable and staffed for the most part by charming young men from central Europe having some sort of "Gap Year". However, our Room, No 68 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read your comments following your recent stay with us. I had been told that you had an issue with the water pressure and asked Maintenance to check on it the following morning and found that everything was in order. As you did not advise us of a recurring issue we were unaware that you were still... More 

Benfleet
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very basic hotel catering for coach parties. Basic evening meal choice with one of our portions of cod uncooked in the middle. Staff very attentive and enthusiastic. Good breakfast after the coaches had moved on. Plenty of car parking. Its the second time we have stayed here as a its good location for journeys further north but we will not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited in April 15. Found it clean n tidy, slightly tired but still quaint. Food was great with waiting staff very good with nothing any bother. Well located for places of interests. good prices and well worth what we paid for it. Would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has 3 blocks, with the reception , lounge, resturant and bar in one and all the accomodation in the other two. Which is a problem if / when its rains. Our room had not been cleaned properly and the ceiling paper was peeling off. Food, staff and bar were good. Rooms need updating like the new bathrooms. Ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An unpretentious hotel, quite adequate of our 4-night stay as part of a "package": comfortable beds and hot water, but the walls and ceilings are a bit thin and the plumbing noisy. The food is good but not well-presented, and the puddings were marvellous! Staff pleasant and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here in April with Newmarket holidays. Rooms lovely and warm and very clean. Service from all hotel staff was excellent, particulary in the restaurant. Food choice was excellent and the food nice and hot. Would recommend this place to anyone. Also would recommend Newmarket holidays as they were very organised and made the trip special, at a good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a fab break at this hotel the rooms were clean and well looked after and the bathrooms were brand new with all new facilities and good shower. Beds were firm but that's fine with us. The hotel staff were very nice and so efficient nothing was a problem for them day or night. The food and presentation in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay