We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Newtonmore hotels

Highlander Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Highlander Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Highlander Hotel to your Saves list
68%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
gary a Dundee, United Kingdom
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    132
    74
    31
    14
See reviews for
60
154
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Been to many hotels around Scotland and this one is really good. All staff pleasant and very helpful. Dining room staff are some of the best we have encountered. Not hovering about but just seem to have the knack of being there when needed. 10 out of 10 for that, well done. Only 4 out of 5 as we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely couple of days at The Highlander. I had read previous reviews and was a bit concerned but everything was perfect. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and modern. The shower was better than most hotels I have stayed in. The food was good and the sweets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are delighted that the hotel exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was ok a bit dated, the bedroom we stayed in, the shower room badly needs updated, however, clean enough and the price was ok for B & B rates in the highlands. Staff all very polite and friendly. The food was lovely in the bar and very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - the hotel is in the process of undergoing a bathroom refurbishment; the second phase of which is due to start at the turn of the year. I hope that we will see you again soon and you will be able to see the progress for youselves. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival the hotel from the outside looks clean and well kept. The surrounding scenery is stunning. When we first got to our rooms they were a fair size but could do with updating. However they are clean and comfortable and have all that you need for a break. Every member of staff we met were so nice and friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short break with us and look forward to welcoming you back. More

Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got deal via 5pm.co.uk £99 for 2 nights. Dinner was included for 1 night. The meal was very disappointing , poor quality . Mass produced for coach parties etc. waiting staff efficient and friendly tho. I wouldn't return to the highlander hotel for this reason. The hotel also in need of modernisation a bit old and tired. The location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We were disappointed to read your comments about the evening meal - we offer traditional fayre which is well received by the majority of our guests. More

Wishaw
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was there with my wife as part of a walking group so a good sized room is an advantage. The rooms in the Highlander are a very good size with lots of storage. So no problems with rucksacks, boots, sticks, clothes for the evenings etc. The room was very clean. Our group were there on a 3 day package... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind comments following your recent stay with us. With regards to stocking local beers we have done so in the past but have found that they did not sell as well as we would have expected and therefore made the decision not to stock them. It is something that is reviewed on an annual basis so if... More

Glasgow
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on a deal that included dinner and breakfast. The decor is stuck in 70s. The food was ok. The staff were very nice especially the manager. Room was clean but shower was very poor despite looking quite new. Full of coach parties on both nights Not much around the local area, think there is only 1 restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that you felt that there was not much to do in the village but it depends on what you are looking for. We are in a small village which has 2 museums, golf course as well as numerous walks for all abilities within minutes and there are a host of other attractions... More

Stirling
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is quite a big hotel and in need of a facelift. I think it is used mainly by bus tours. the room was ok - clean enough, comfy enough, a wee bit run down but that didnt bother me. What put me off was 1. the car park is not big enough for the number of cars (and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

We were somewhat surprised by your comments. We have sufficient parking for over 50 cars. Unfortunately we have no control over guests using the phone in their and calling an incorrect number while looking for their travelling companions. Our bar is stocked as per our company standards and is not something that we have had an issue with before. The... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A big big thank you to Cynthia and all of the wonderful staff at the very lovely Highlander Hotel for their generosity towards us in giving us 3 rooms and all our food for free, a really lovely way of partnering with us in our effort to raise funds for GOSH. The rooms the food the location the friendliness and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted that we could provide accommodation as part of your fundraising quest and I do hope that this excellent cause has benefited from your hard work. More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this wonderful hotel and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there from the beginning until the end. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous and the lodgings are very clean and well presented and affordable. The hotel owner (Cynthia) is an absolute angel and she kindly allowed my friends and I to stay there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to be of help as part of your fundraiser for such a worthwhile cause. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Highlander Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay