We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Newtonmore B&Bs / inns

Crubenbeg House

Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crubenbeg House to your Saves list
Crubenbeg House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
100%
Ranked #2 of 16 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014
champkis Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
123 hotel reviews
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a fantastic b&b! John and Irene are really nice people and make you feel so welcome. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a laugh. Everything was excellent. The room was lovely and spacious. The bed was so comfortable if it wasn't for my alarm I would probably still be there!! Breakfast was amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dear Champkis, I have to say that we, too, enjoyed your stay with us, for which many thanks. It is very kind of you, taking the time to write this review. We would like to say that we couldn't agree more nor could we have put it better ourselves. But that would be very, very immodest of us wouldn't it?... More

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights staying with John and Irene at their B & near Newtonmore. We had a lovely stay, great sized ensuite room with fab views (osprey). We brought Coco, our little Lhasso pup, who also enjoyed the grounds and all the attention. Great breakfasts, wide choice, certainly sets you up for the day. John and Irene are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Gary, Thanks for taking the time to pen your kind words - much appreciated. We enjoyed looking after the 3 of you, of that there is no doubt. You'll be pleased to know that new bed linen is on order - it will be in situ for our new season. All the very best. More

Newport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Once again John and Irene didn't disappoint. Last year we stayed 4 days but we had a 5 day stint this time. Again our room never had an ounce of dust present and it was so quiet, even though you can see the A9 in the distance. Our brekkie's were truly amazing, if you can manage a four course breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

J & A, Many thanks, as ever, for your extremely kind words, much appreciated. We are delighted that it is your good selves who had the "honour" of writing our 100th review on here. We suspect that you were hanging on - and hanging on!!! Looking forward to seeing you later this year. Until then, all the best & good... More

Aalen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Crubenbeg House is spectacular. It was our last stop on a whirlwind roadtripping tour of Scotland and what a way to end it! John greeted us so sweetly and showed us (I traveled with my husband and another couple) around the building, joking with us and letting us know more information about our rooms and the area. He recommended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

I have to say that we wish you'd been able to stay a little longer too, so much did we enjoy your comapny, thank you. Until next time. More

Sutton coldfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, John & Irene could not have been better hosts! Breakfasts were amazing with a menu list of 3 pages.....everything from porridge to a full Scottish breakfast via pancake stacks were on offer along with some quips from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Rich, It was such a pleasure helping West Bromwich beat Man Utd - a resukt that I don't think you were expecting!! If only I could put that magic power to good use o a regular basis, I could be a rich guy!! We're more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is so kind of... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

the rooms are very nice, the couple that are the host are great!!! Will talk to you all night about everything. They care so much about their guest. Breakfast was very good each morning! Loved the large eating table and create conversation between everyone sitting at the table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Bo, you're a gent and a scholar, but I knew that even before I read your review, for which many thanks. Keep well, mon ami. More

Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were making the long trip from the Midlands to Skye and broke the journey here. My brother in law had stayed there before and sang its praises so we decided to meet up there, before continuing our journey together. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more spacious accommodation--the shower room alone was bigger than many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Dave, it is good to hear from you and to read that you enjoyed your brief stay with us as much as you did. Thank you. We very much look forward to you keeping your promise. Cheers. More

Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a lovey weekend break at the Crubenbeg house with John and Irene. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Every area of the B&B was spotless and well kept. We stayed in the Osprey room, it was a nice size, very bright with lovely views over the hills. The bathroom was large and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

LA, you're a darling, writing those kind words about your stay with us - thanks so much. We're delighted that you enjoyed it and thanks, too, for your words of advice to any folk thinking of staying with us who are not, perhaps, so comfortable as you are at having a dog or two around. More

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Only stayed for the 1 night as we were meeting family elsewhere on the way back from a longer trip around Scotland. The different format I refer to is the "all guests eat round the 1 large table rather than individual smaller tables" and to be honest John and Irene get it work very well as it generates friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

G, you are too kind, thank you. It was great to get to look after Bobster and, of course, the two of you as well!! You know our motto - "Dogs we welcome, their well-behaved owners too!!" More

Pembrokeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently stayed with Irene and John and had a wonderful time. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had our two cocker spaniels with us,who were as welcome as we were, and we all felt thoroughly spoiled. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and the breakfasts were superb! John kept us entertained with his many puns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review

Greetings dear Dragonski and thanks very much for taking the time to pen such kind words on our behalf. Rest assured, we very much enjoy looking after the 4 of you and the dog-sitting was an absolute pleasure. No apologies about the ouns, though - some of them were nearly (but not quite) as bad as yours!! Diolch. More

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland
Address: Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Crubenbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crubenbeg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.