We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Symonds Yat B&Bs / inns

The Royal Lodge

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal Lodge to your Saves list
The Royal Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lisa D Solihull, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (396)
  • Photos (121)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (117)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    125
    36
    30
    10
See reviews for
57
238
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked 1 night for me, my 4 year old and 10 month old (husband and elder kids were at the campsite down the road) I booked it about 4 weeks before our stay. A week and a half before our stay the hotel phoned to say a computer crash meant my room was overbooked and could I go the following... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puget Theniers, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The village is lovely. Limited amount of hotels. The place needs a serious refurb. Most of the staff were friendly apart from one miserable young lad at reception. Room was clean but old. The shower room was tiny and the sink was in the room not the shower room. There must have been a problem with the drains as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wowcher customers beware: the room you think you are booking when you purchase your voucher has little or no relation to the nice pictures advertised online. The point of a voucher is to get a great deal at promotional fees and by paying for this break we understood that we would be getting to stay in a four star hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is set in beautiful surroudings and is a lovely old property. The staff were friendly on the whole. Our room was spacious and had lovely white towels and bedlinen.Although the bathroom looks refurbished it couldnt accommodate a shower which proved difficulty as bathing does prove a problem for me.We did order a newspaper for our 4 day stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for posting their review. We are glad to hear that they enjoyed their stay and can only apologise for the delay on food, a result of a fault in our system. Kind Regards, Guest Relations. More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for dinner as we recalled from a previous trip several years earlier the food was good. We weren't disappointed and returned 3 nights later for another meal. Early July and nice and quiet down there with easy parking in the evenings. Considering a weekend break there in September once schools are back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for posting their review. We are glad that they enjoyed the level of service and quality of food that we offer here at The Royal Lodge, for which we have received AA Dinner & Breakfast Awards. We look forward to potentially welcoming our guest back in September. Kind Regards, Guest Relations More

Poole, Royaume-uni
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we spent two nights here in june . our room was small with a 4 ft bed and en suite shower. but with 2 comfy chairs by the window which OPENS with a view to die for we loved it. not cheap to eat or drink but par for the course. the walk to yats rock is hard but worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for posting their review. We are pleased to hear that our guest enjoyed the level of hospitality that we provide here at the Royal Lodge and we look forward to welcoming them back to us in September. Kind Regards, Guest Relations More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived here on 14th May 2014 for two night stay. After 30 minutes we were in totally relaxed mode. We stayed in room 16 which had the most amazing views ever. Be careful of the bath if you are elderly or infirm. It is quite high to step in and out of, with no hand grips. The shower over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for their review. We are pleased that they enjoyed their stay and that the level of service and food was at the high standard that we always endeavor to achieve. We look forward to seeing our guest again. Kind Regards, Guest Relations More

london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two night with Wowcher deal and very impressed. Fantastic room which was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed. Breakfast plentiful and staff extremely helpful. What makes this pure bliss is the scenery and views. Weather was good and felt completely relaxed and stress free on my return home. Look out for Yannis who is a new staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for posting their review. We are glad to hear that they enjoyed the level of food, service and hospitality that we offer here at the Royal Lodge. We apologise that their taxi was more expensive. This is out of our control and we only try to assist when a guest requires transport. We hope to... More

Suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a Wowcher deal, excellent value. The food was good, the location is excellent if you are looking for peace and quiet. Room was ok bathroom needs updating although adequate. Didn'T like the fact that they pre-authorise credit card for £100 on check-in. All in all it was a lovely stay and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our valued guest for staying with us here at the Royal Lodge. With regard to the Pre-Authorisation, this is now standard practice in almost all hotels and guest houses. It is not a charge and we do not receive the money ourselves. It is a security as is explained on check in. Your bank will lock the one... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful position and very helpful and friendly staff, good food, very clean, amazing views However, not a four star... shower, mattress and some soft furnishings not quite up to standard and could do with replacing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalLodge, Manager at The Royal Lodge, responded to this review

We thank our guest for choosing to stay with us. It is unfortunate that our guest did not share the same opinion as the AA with regard to our star grading. We hope that our guest will join us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Relations More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Royal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lodge

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
Royal Hotel Symonds Yat
The Royal Lodge Symonds Yat, England

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean.The Lodge is nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock and stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a Royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. It has had a full and extensive refurbishment in 2008 and is managed by Graham Howells who has overseen the transformation and ensures that the level of service reflects the new development and idyllic location. The Royal Lodge is a great place to unwind with long relaxing walks in outstanding scenery. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer