We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Alvor hotels

Pestana Dom Joao II

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Pestana Dom Joao II
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
A recent review
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    356
    126
    34
    59
See reviews for
247
425
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (926)
  • Mar-May only
    (203)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (315)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (299)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Nr Bristol
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

We wanted to return to Alvor for some Winter sun. Self catering and a single bedroom villa in this complex suited us ideally. The accommodation was spotless, beds comfortable and facilities provided ideal for our 8 day stay looking after ourselves.. Although, we were away from the main hotel the staff on Reception were excellent answering our queries and sorting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Yorks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really nice hotel I would like to thank the management for my surprise birthday gift of a cake n bottle of champagne which was unexpected . Really nice touch. Breakfast was more than adequate everything you really needed. Rooms really nice n a great shower. Lifts a bit slow if u r on 2nd floor it's quicker to walk the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a non seaview room,the view was a tower block and the carpark,the sun was never on the balcony.The breakfast was not up to 4star.awful bacon only frankfurter sausages.powdered orange juice,no tomatoe juice.The towels although were clean it was like drying on sand paper

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. We would be very grateful if you would give us again the opportunity to have you as a guest so that we can have another opportunity... More 

Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here mid February 2015. We were having a lovely stay, nice room with a sea view from the balcony, good buffet breakfast, reasonable evening entertainment THEN my wife broke her leg whilst out cycling. The help from the hotel / staff was magnificent, nothing was too much trouble, help was freely given. Thanks very much All for less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location to beach fantastic. Lovely gardens. Modern, clean hotel with good amenities. Room fresh and cheerful, though bathroom window questionable. Also pillows needed replacing. Staff very nice. Breakfasts good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João... More 

kerry, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A weekend break with my hubby. We stayed here for 3 nights in October. The location was perfect. The hotel very clean and staff very helpful. I did not request a sea view so our room was facing the car park, so next time I will request a sea view. Even at this time of year the hotel was busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on valentine's weekend with the love of my life :) The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and is located right on the beach. Room was nicely furnished with contemporary decor and very comfortable. LCD TV with English channels was nice,with a massive balcony. The breakfast was lovely, no complaints. All the staff were polite and helpful that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed w/c 8th Feb. Chose half-board & sea view. Staff very professional, rooms nice, apart from the carpet was badly stained. Sea view worth the extra. Meals very nice with a variety of choice at breakfast & evening meal. Overall good value for money. Phil .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently had a short golf break in Portugal and stayed at the Pestana Dom Joao in Alvor on the Algarve. Very nice and comfortable Hotel, very helpful and courteous staff and excellent food. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We... More 

Kilrea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent a week in the Pestana Dom Joao II and loved every minute of it. The location on the beach couldn't be better and the short walk into town suited us well as we only had breakfast in on our stay. Even at this time of year there was plenty of bars and restaurants open to give a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor

863 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (400)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (102)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
2:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Kids Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (34)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (80)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay