We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Alvor hotels

Pestana Dom Joao II

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pestana Dom Joao II to your Saves list
Pestana Dom Joao II
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
76%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
ptgaltraveler Porto, Portugal
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    319
    118
    33
    57
See reviews for
230
392
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I rated the hotel as excellent because it has excellent characteristics for a beach hotel, but is not perfect or excellent in all aspects. The best is the location, the garden areas, the outside look of the hotel and the rooms (despite the fact that they should not be carpeted under the bed for better hygiene). It stands by a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is difficult to beat: easy walking distance to the beach and the town of Alvor. However, the family room we had booked was by far too small for a family of four - especially the sofa or better to speak second provisional bed offered poor sleeping quality. Internet was not available in the rooms; the quality of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations. Please be informed that all your comments were taken into account. Best regards Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from this hotel I agree with the ratings for the location and the presentation of the hotel it was stunning however I disagree with the ratings for hospitality and the choice of food there is no children's choice of food which I found quite disturbing for a four star rating we paid half board but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pestana Dom João II Hotel. All your comments benefited our best attention and we apologize for any inconvenience. For what concerns food issues, we would like to inform that our standards are very high. We provide good food quality and diversity for all our different guest... More

lanarkshire sccotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

7TH visit to the dom joao for my husband andI.we have been in winter and summer ,before and after renovation and can,t fault anything.OK some people do find faults but if you don,t go looking for them you will be fine .the rooms are comfortable ,clean and well maintained the food we always go b&b is great. the portuguese can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João... More

Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is located approximately 15-20 Minutes from Alvor where the main shops, pubs, restaurants are. There are others selectively dotted around but none that stand out as those in the town such as the Steakhouse which I must say is awesome - Staff, service and food is top notch. The hotel prices for drinks is extortionate - charging 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience. Kindest regards Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 4th return visit and we were not disappointed. We last came to the hotel 4 years ago and I was concerned in going back in view of some of the negative comments. We stayed bed & breakfast and found the choice of food good however it was a mystery why some items could not be served daily.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have a timeshare in Alvor (not on this site) and return year after year. I picked this Hotel for a Friday night stay (our timeshare has a Saturday changeover date but we booked air mile flights this year and arrived a day early). I knew this Hotel was close to the beach and online the facilities and Hotel rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience. Kindest regards Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back to Alvor again this year, we booked the Pestana Dom Joao II with Jet2 approximately 4 weeks before we travelled on the 11th August. We had a Sea view room on the 5th floor on a B&B basis, faultless! Clean well appointed and what a view! The hotel is ideally located, 50 metres from the Beautiful Beach and 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

Cork Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely Hotel in a great location in Alvor. Spotlessly clean and rooms were cleaned and towels were changed every day. Breakfast is fab with loads of variety. Would recommend the seaview room as the view is amazing!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We... More

Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed between 12-19th August and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel is clean and well kept with very attentive staff (unlike in some of the other reviews of the hotel), who couldn't do enough to please. We had a garden and partial sea view in a quiet twin room which catered for all our needs. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again on your next holiday. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João II Hotel More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pestana Dom Joao II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

390 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (375)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (91)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
2:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Alvor with
any amenities