We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Dom Joao II

#4 of 25 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Praia de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-904, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pestana Dom Joao II
Pestana Dom Joao II
Pestana Dom Joao II
Add Photo Write a Review

1,049 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    412
    411
    139
    33
    54
See reviews for
277
483
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1049)
  • Mar-May only
    (271)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (375)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (296)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very relaxing stay Very quick check-in, reception staff very helpful! Rooms spotless, cleaned daily with lovely fresh linen and towels. Breakfast was fabulous! All members of staff throughout the hotel from the managers to chambermaids were extremely courteous! Pool area kept very clean with plenty of sunbeds! Right on top of the beautiful beach. Could not recommend this hotel enough!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

second time back to this hotel and it was even better than the first time if that was possible, the view from the bedroom was just breathtaking, the rooms are top class, the hotel is out of this world, the people working there are sooooo helpful, the buffet breakfast is fantastic, food is delicious, pool area is spotless, beach is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed at a small boutique hotel last year, we though we would try a much bigger resort orientated hotel this year with a Kids Club for our daughter. The hotel is certainly big, with a lot of guests but it never really felt crowded. The initial impression of the room was a little disappointing as it was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us, We are glad you enjoyed the quality of service we provide. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next visit. Sincerely, Carlos... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights in June, there for my brothers 60th birthday with other family members. Staff went out of their way on the morning of the birthday, they helped us decorate the breakfast table, provided a cake and 2 bottles of champagne. When my brother returned to his room later in the day, there was another bottle of champagne in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very standard and basic hotel. We stayed for 6 nights. Rooms are modern and in a good condition. They had a large hot/cold breakfast choice. Hotel staff are friendly and helpfully when booking activities etc. Downfall: wifi only in Libby area, at least 1 out of the 2 hotel lifts were always broken. Hotel lunch and dinner is over priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations concerning the restaurant and the Wi-Fi. Because our business is to create memories we would like if you would give us another opportunity in order for us to impress you with the standards of... More 

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 10 days with a large group of 3 families aged 6 - 69 so I hope my review will include a little something for everyone. We were booked to stay in 3 superior villas. The holiday did not get off to a good start as upon arrival we discovered 2 of the families travelling did not get the accommodation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible. With kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We don't normally repeat a holiday destination, but we made an exception this time purely for the location. Set on the beach and in the middle of the fabulous Alvor Bay. We found that the hotel had changed very little with even the same entertainment ie Parrots, reptiles & local dance group. but that aside the hotel itself is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fourth time of staying here and it never disappoints location is excellent with the beach just beyond the hotel gardens and Alvor town a 10min stroll away.It is worth upgrading to get a sea view otherwise you are overlooking the car park(it's just nice to sit on the balcony overlooking the sea after being at the beach or poolside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal Carlos Santos Unit Manager Pestana Dom João... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

May 2014 & July 2015 - stays. We went back to the villas as the location & space is great. I requested ground floor & a washing machine this year and both requests were met. If we return I will request a new villa next time as there are old & new - new obviously look fresher & more modern.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II Vlilas. We are sorry all our staff members haven’t showed you the quality of service we strive for. We are looking forward to your return during your next visit. Kind regards, Carlos Santos Unit Manager More 

Scarisbrick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again we holidayed in the delightful fishing village of Alvor. Fabulous beach in front of the hotel, miles of boardwalks for exploring the Estuary. Amazing local fish in a large selection of restaurants and only a taxi ride or train to several bigger towns in the area. Lovely people and warm sunny weather. The hotel is great value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our facilities. We are glad you enjoyed the quality of service we provide. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

909 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (442)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (114)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
2:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Kids Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (34)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (80)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Pestana Alvor Praia
#5 of 25 in Alvor
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 25 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#12 of 25 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
#14 of 25 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay