We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Utsikten

6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Villa Utsikten
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    39
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Positives: 1) Location - it is not right at the fiord, but up on the hill with an amazing view of the fiord from above. 2) Breakfast is included in the room price - good range of food available. 3) Free WiFi - the connection was a little slow. 4) Free parking. Negatives: 1) No kettle, tea/coffee in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is in perfect position . you see the fiord , and you feel the water . the room was excellent and the food was very good . we had very good time. parking is eazy and free of charge . tou can walk to the fiord .

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Villa Utsikten ("view" in Norwegian) is located on a stunning spot overlooking the fjord. The staff was welcoming and helpful and the restaurant was delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed the historic photographs decorating the walls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charming hotel, amazing view on Geirangerfjord from hotel lobby and rooms. Small, but clean and tastefully furnished rooms. Breakfast is good. Free parking is available directly at the hotel. Only drawback: The transit road from Geiranger to the Dalsnibba viewpoint is situated directly in front of the hotel. During rush hours many buses pass the hotel transporting the passengers from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely typical hotel. Highly recommended. We had the suite in front of the fjord, very pleasant and the view is amazing. The staff is outstanding, ready to help and explain, also with personal involvement of the management. They have been of great help to organize a ride for us. By the way we recommend also the home made hamburger :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to make a stay here the best experience it can be for our guests. Welcome back! More 

Amersham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Utsikten. The room was compact and the bathroom especially so! But it was clean and pleasant and well worth the extra cost for a Fjord View Room. The view from our window was like a postcard and was worth every penny. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were always friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Enjoy the rest of your summer and welcome back! More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I arrived around 11 pm on the day of check-in. The reception left me very nice letter including late check-in instructions but I was able to catch the reception before it got closed. The lady was very helpful and friendly. The lobby looks boutique-ish and facing with a view of Geirangerfjord. The hotel has quite local property atmosphere. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will take your comments into consideration when time comes around for renovations. I hope we can welcome you back at another occasion! Have a lovely rest of your summer! More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Tiny rooms, even smaller bathrooms, curtains barely cover the windows. No elevator + totally outdated decor Some rooms on the second floor are literally on the road. All these buses driving into your room make for an exciting time! Not that hotels in this region are great, but this one is the worst we've seen so far

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our hotel. It is true that the hotel is quite old - it first opened it doors in 1893 and the décor is meant to reflect its long history. We are always happy to assist you with your luggage to make up for the lack of an elevator.... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

This hotel is ok. It wouldn't be convenient if you don't have a car because Geiranger and all the water activities are a very long and dangerous walk away on a windy road. One of the receptionists (Eli) was helpful and very nice, but the others were not. We had an issue at check in because booking.com said my room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, We always strive to make a stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I am sorry about the confusion with the booking, but when I look at your booking from booking.com, it appears that you had booked a single room. The... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We visitid Vila Utsikten for five days, with our little dog Hilda. The staff was very friendly and professional and they also were dog friendly. Beside this, we had wonderful dinners, good breakfasts with salmon in different forms every morning, and a amazing view over the Geiranger fjord, the mountains, the waterfalls and the rural, pastoral neighbourhoods. We think this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your good review and welcome back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
14.2 mi away
No photo provided
Grotli Hotel Skjak
#1 of 1 in Skjak
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay