We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Utsikten

6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda, Norway
Hotel amenities
Villa Utsikten
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
SuhaGuvenc Istanbul, Turkey
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    35
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived around 11 pm on the day of check-in. The reception left me very nice letter including late check-in instructions but I was able to catch the reception before it got closed. The lady was very helpful and friendly. The lobby looks boutique-ish and facing with a view of Geirangerfjord. The hotel has quite local property atmosphere. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tiny rooms, even smaller bathrooms, curtains barely cover the windows. No elevator + totally outdated decor Some rooms on the second floor are literally on the road. All these buses driving into your room make for an exciting time! Not that hotels in this region are great, but this one is the worst we've seen so far

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is ok. It wouldn't be convenient if you don't have a car because Geiranger and all the water activities are a very long and dangerous walk away on a windy road. One of the receptionists (Eli) was helpful and very nice, but the others were not. We had an issue at check in because booking.com said my room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, We always strive to make a stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I am sorry about the confusion with the booking, but when I look at your booking from booking.com, it appears that you had booked a single room. The... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visitid Vila Utsikten for five days, with our little dog Hilda. The staff was very friendly and professional and they also were dog friendly. Beside this, we had wonderful dinners, good breakfasts with salmon in different forms every morning, and a amazing view over the Geiranger fjord, the mountains, the waterfalls and the rural, pastoral neighbourhoods. We think this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view is the only good thing about this hotel. Our room had an amazing panoramic unobstructed view of the fjord. However the hotel is extremely dated and basic - its seems like no money has been invested in upgrading them in a few decades! So even though the view was good, we didn't really feel like sitting in there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here June 2015 for two nights. As others have noted, the fjord view here is magnificent. The rest of the establishment is just OK. As with much of travel, it's often about setting your expectations appropriately. In this case, expect to be underwhelmed. Nothing is bad, but nothing is great. Rooms are very small. My single felt the size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte
Level Contributor
240 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

This is a nice little 3-star hilltop hotel, with a 5-star view of the Geiranger fjord. You would be crazy to reserve a room without the fjord view---it's spectacular. The hotel is about a mile up a winding road from the center of the tourist town of Geiranger. There is an overlook of a beautiful gorge/waterfall within a 5 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We were pleased that we were staying in this smaller friendly hotel - many of the larger hotels in Norway cater for huge coach loads. Our room was a little small though spotlessly clean. But due to a booking error we were changed to one with the amazing fjord view on our second evening with sincere apologies & unasked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, high on top of the mountain, and boasts a superb view of one if the most beautiful fjords in Norway. It's really worth paying the difference for a room with view. Our room was small, but functional and clean. We saw that some double rooms with view were bigger than ours: try asking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Service was consistently friendly, helpful & accommodating on requests. We had an early start for a long kayaking trip therefore asked if we could have breakfast earlier then the set time, which they arranged for us. The evening restaurant food has been the best eaten in Norway !!! Massive compliments to the chef!!! Only crticism, rooms are relatively small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grotli Hotel Skjak
Grotli Hotel Skjak
#1 of 1 in Skjak
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay