We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Utsikten

6216 Geiranger, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Utsikten
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We stayed at the Villa Utsikten for one night in August, 2015, and we couldn't have been happier! We arrived by a Hurtigruten ship in the little harbor and had to take the one taxi in the little town to the hotel, way up over the fjord. What a view! We had requested a room with a view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoisWG
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We had a family room, which gave the 3 of us ample room to enjoy our stay. The bathroom was huge by European standards, and I appreciated that the toilet and sink were in a separate room from the bath/shower/double vanity. The breakfast buffet was great, with lots of food options. I especially enjoyed the dining room ambiance, as well... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllenK4
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

Positives: 1) Location - it is not right at the fiord, but up on the hill with an amazing view of the fiord from above. 2) Breakfast is included in the room price - good range of food available. 3) Free WiFi - the connection was a little slow. 4) Free parking. Negatives: 1) No kettle, tea/coffee in the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank pralinka10
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

the hotel is in perfect position . you see the fiord , and you feel the water . the room was excellent and the food was very good . we had very good time. parking is eazy and free of charge . tou can walk to the fiord .

Helpful?
Thank dani c
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Villa Utsikten ("view" in Norwegian) is located on a stunning spot overlooking the fjord. The staff was welcoming and helpful and the restaurant was delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed the historic photographs decorating the walls.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

Charming hotel, amazing view on Geirangerfjord from hotel lobby and rooms. Small, but clean and tastefully furnished rooms. Breakfast is good. Free parking is available directly at the hotel. Only drawback: The transit road from Geiranger to the Dalsnibba viewpoint is situated directly in front of the hotel. During rush hours many buses pass the hotel transporting the passengers from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wooltravel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Lovely typical hotel. Highly recommended. We had the suite in front of the fjord, very pleasant and the view is amazing. The staff is outstanding, ready to help and explain, also with personal involvement of the management. They have been of great help to organize a ride for us. By the way we recommend also the home made hamburger :)

Helpful?
Thank Thra
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We always strive to make a stay here the best experience it can be for our guests. Welcome back! More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I arrived around 11 pm on the day of check-in. The reception left me very nice letter including late check-in instructions but I was able to catch the reception before it got closed. The lady was very helpful and friendly. The lobby looks boutique-ish and facing with a view of Geirangerfjord. The hotel has quite local property atmosphere. I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank SuhaGuvenc
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will take your comments into consideration when time comes around for renovations. I hope we can welcome you back at another occasion! Have a lovely rest of your summer! More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015 via mobile

Tiny rooms, even smaller bathrooms, curtains barely cover the windows. No elevator + totally outdated decor Some rooms on the second floor are literally on the road. All these buses driving into your room make for an exciting time! Not that hotels in this region are great, but this one is the worst we've seen so far

Helpful?
Thank Kk-22-11-12
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our hotel. It is true that the hotel is quite old - it first opened it doors in 1893 and the décor is meant to reflect its long history. We are always happy to assist you with your luggage to make up for the lack of an elevator.... More 

Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is ok. It wouldn't be convenient if you don't have a car because Geiranger and all the water activities are a very long and dangerous walk away on a windy road. One of the receptionists (Eli) was helpful and very nice, but the others were not. We had an issue at check in because booking.com said my room... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacKennaB
Cecilia H, Manager at Villa Utsikten, responded to this review

Dear guest, We always strive to make a stay with us a pleasant and memorable experience and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I am sorry about the confusion with the booking, but when I look at your booking from booking.com, it appears that you had booked a single room. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
2.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunheim Farmhouse
Lunheim Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
4.6 mi away
Djupvasshytta
Djupvasshytta
#3 of 16 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay