We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ao Prao Resort

3.5 of 5 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ao Prao Resort
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    115
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
49
95
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is pretty basic and the room can be far with a lot of steps. I upgrade mine to the room 100, a very nice suite with fantastic view with large balcony and bath tub also with view. I had a bad expérience with boat excursion during very bad weather when the Pilots got lost in the midle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jaguarstef Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast at restaurant. Allow me to take this opportunity to apologize for the mis-convenience you had during... More 

Lugano
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After 10 days of car through Thailand we took four days of rest on this beautiful island. Transportation by boat from Ba Phe included and well organized, Hotel very nice and clean. We stayed in a bungalow with sea view, small but cute. Staff, as everywhere in Thailand, very nice and helpful. great breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ale_Maby Thank you very much for sharing your experience and taking your time to write us a wonderful review about your recent stay at Ao Prao Resort. We are delightful to learn that you had a good time and enjoyed the facilities and services at our resort. We love to welcome you back again for a pure relaxing stay... More 

Granna, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and clean. By far the most clean place I've ever seen in Asia. Food is great, both Thai and western. The staff is super friendly and so service minded, they make the place wonderful! Restaurant recite says that service charge is included, but it's not for the staff to keep. They make their living out of tips, don't forget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lovisa L, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and taking your time to write us a nice reviews and sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed about the resort atmosphere, cleanliness of beach, quality of food at restaurant, friendliness and hospitality service minded of... More 

raanana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this resort knowing that it was on a quiet beach . Falling asleep just listening to the sound of the sea was very relaxing . The resort is part of a chain of resorts on this small island and the company run a very efficient check-in and very service from the mainland .Less than 3 hours drive from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear dtsraanana Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the hospitality services, resort atmosphere, cleanliness of beach, quality of food at restaurants and live music. I have also noted your feedback regarding... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Comfortable and clean rooms with a/c, very friendly and committed staff, beach is also clean and food is very decent. Prices reasonable given the quality offered. All in all a very pleasant stay, rest of the island is not worth visiting though...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Keresd Warm greetings from Ao Prao Resort, Koh Samet. We are grateful that you have taken the time to share your recent experience at Ao Prao Resort and we are glad that you had a great time to stay at our resort.. Thank you for you time to have taken to provide a very thorough review of your stay... More 

Uddevalla, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend wanted to try another beach here in samet so we went here for a day relaxing and sunbathing and of course some swimming we decide to take a light lunch at Ao Prao restaurant before we went back home just a Tom Yam soup and a rice dish with 2 coke 1 water and a tiramisu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tom J Thank you for your compliment about the service from our staff and taste of food. However, I am very surprised that you did not stay at Ao Prao Resort but you rated our room and sleep quality (3 out of 5 points) on Ao Prao web page. For the menu, I am sure that you have to... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Getting there was easy , and pretty normal . on arrival .we noticed accommodation is more suitable to mountain goats , claiming stairs , to avoid it ..extra 1000.00 Thb, per day Rooms at a lower level ( Thank you what a pleasant surprise ), on top of considerable initial booking cost ,and then the fun begin arguing with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tristan18 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. Ao Prao Resort is committed to excellence in customer service and satisfaction. We would like to clarify the issues at hand and concerns that you mentioned on review which may harm our reputation. Firstly, Ao Prao Resort has many category... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

In short: a taxi driver tried to kill us because he felt offended, the police did not came and in the hotel they recommended us not to act against this individual. We were in Ao Phraya and we wanted to go around the islan one evening. We went to a motorbike rental who asked us 300 baht for two hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sala L I would like to clarify your review as follows 1. You did not stay at Ao Prao Resort but you stayed at Lima Coco Resort which is located next to our resort, Therefore, you should not post this review on Ao Prao Resort web page. 2. Incident (If true), it happened outside the resort and resort staff... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

At first, I was less impressed by this resort hotel (part of a group nestled along the same small and very attractive bay) than earlier reviewers. This was partly because I misunderstood its links with a neighbouring bar - which at least gave the impression it was part of the same operation! However, the Lima CoCo resort, strategically placed between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Phlashmair Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experiences to us on Tripadvisor following your recent visit Ao Prao Resort, Koh Samet. Unfortunately, you disliked our design concepts and natural atmosphere. However, we would like to thanks for your compliment about the attentiveness and friendliness of staff toward you. Ao Prao Resort is located on... More 

cham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very friendly, service is great and it is simply away from the hectic of big hotels or resorts. End of November it was still quiet - no large tourist masses. Would come back without hesitation. Also the sister resort - Le Vimaran - looks great. you can share infrastructures like restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Christoph Warm greetings from Ao Prao Resort, Koh Samet. Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to read our associates ensured you received the 5 star service and experience we always strive to achieve. We are grateful to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with our room, service from our staff and sunset atmosphere on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ao Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Prao Resort

Address: 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Prao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ao Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Prao Hotel Rayong
Ao Prao Rayong
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet

500 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (217)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (75)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Beach Front Cottage (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Cottage (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Cottage Seaview (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay