We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ao Prao Resort

60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ao Prao Resort
Add Your Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    117
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
50
98
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our amazing get away in our private bungalow at Ao Prao. The service was wonderful and the rooms, while basic, were spacious and tidy. You are steps away from the beach and the property is quiet and one of only 3 resorts on this bay (much quieter atmosphere than the other side of the island). It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Julia P Thank you for recent stay at Ao Prao Resort and sharing your experience on this platform which make us extremely happy. I am pleased to learn that we have met your overall expectations. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest prospect and create a memorable stay for them. We hope that the... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've lived in Thailand 10 years, so myself and my Thai wife have fairly high expectations when it comes to the service, location and standard of wedding we expected on the day. I cannot express enough how impressed my wife and i were at the incredible professionalism, high standards and care shown to us and our guest over our wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear BKExpat Beforehand, I would like to sincerely thank you for staying at Ao Prao Resort. Koh Samet and to share with us such fantastic reviews. Our mission objective is to make our valued guests feel at home while providing them a 5 stars service and an extremely personalized experiences and I am truly delighted that you were satisfied and... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel located in tranquil bay, sandy beach, well maintained garden. The staff is very friendly, good service. The only thing I would raise and challenge the hotel management is the cleanliness of the beach - I would invest a bit more money and energy to remove the trash which remains on the sand after low tide - it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daniel S Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the resort on the positive and not so positive experiences. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed our landscape, friendliness of staff, quality of services, room amenities and of course, great place for holiday. Nevertheless, it makes me uneasy to hear that we failed... More 

Granna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of days and enjoyed The beach and some of the bars and restaurants. Everything was good and more than you can expect in Thailand. Room was clean and staff was friendly and professional. Hill side is recommended. On the downside we had to share the place with some rich and a bit boring people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Artillerycaptain Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the resort facilities, cleanliness and the exceptional level of customer services. Your compliments had been shared with our team and we look forward... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is pretty basic and the room can be far with a lot of steps. I upgrade mine to the room 100, a very nice suite with fantastic view with large balcony and bath tub also with view. I had a bad expérience with boat excursion during very bad weather when the Pilots got lost in the midle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jaguarstef Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback with us. It gives me great pleasure to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation and breakfast at restaurant. Allow me to take this opportunity to apologize for the mis-convenience you had during... More 

Lugano
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

After 10 days of car through Thailand we took four days of rest on this beautiful island. Transportation by boat from Ba Phe included and well organized, Hotel very nice and clean. We stayed in a bungalow with sea view, small but cute. Staff, as everywhere in Thailand, very nice and helpful. great breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ale_Maby Thank you very much for sharing your experience and taking your time to write us a wonderful review about your recent stay at Ao Prao Resort. We are delightful to learn that you had a good time and enjoyed the facilities and services at our resort. We love to welcome you back again for a pure relaxing stay... More 

Granna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Nice and clean. By far the most clean place I've ever seen in Asia. Food is great, both Thai and western. The staff is super friendly and so service minded, they make the place wonderful! Restaurant recite says that service charge is included, but it's not for the staff to keep. They make their living out of tips, don't forget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lovisa L, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and taking your time to write us a nice reviews and sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed about the resort atmosphere, cleanliness of beach, quality of food at restaurant, friendliness and hospitality service minded of... More 

raanana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

We chose this resort knowing that it was on a quiet beach . Falling asleep just listening to the sound of the sea was very relaxing . The resort is part of a chain of resorts on this small island and the company run a very efficient check-in and very service from the mainland .Less than 3 hours drive from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear dtsraanana Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Ao Prao Resort and for the time that you had taken to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the hospitality services, resort atmosphere, cleanliness of beach, quality of food at restaurants and live music. I have also noted your feedback regarding... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Comfortable and clean rooms with a/c, very friendly and committed staff, beach is also clean and food is very decent. Prices reasonable given the quality offered. All in all a very pleasant stay, rest of the island is not worth visiting though...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Keresd Warm greetings from Ao Prao Resort, Koh Samet. We are grateful that you have taken the time to share your recent experience at Ao Prao Resort and we are glad that you had a great time to stay at our resort.. Thank you for you time to have taken to provide a very thorough review of your stay... More 

Uddevalla, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Me and my girlfriend wanted to try another beach here in samet so we went here for a day relaxing and sunbathing and of course some swimming we decide to take a light lunch at Ao Prao restaurant before we went back home just a Tom Yam soup and a rice dish with 2 coke 1 water and a tiramisu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willy P, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tom J Thank you for your compliment about the service from our staff and taste of food. However, I am very surprised that you did not stay at Ao Prao Resort but you rated our room and sleep quality (3 out of 5 points) on Ao Prao web page. For the menu, I am sure that you have to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

501 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (218)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (76)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Beach Front Cottage (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Cottage (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Cottage Seaview (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question