We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

3.5 of 5 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    141
    48
    15
    12
See reviews for
324
22
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (445)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a great time over all at the resort, however it must be said that having the pool/hot tub/water park only open until 7 PM on all days other than Fri and Sat is truly a let down. Also the web-site promotes the outdoor pool open year round, but for us it was closed every day we were there because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My kids really enjoy the Bearfoot Den and I enjoy having them attend - what a great place for kids to play while we ski. It would have been a perfect experience again if it were not for one young lady with long, dark hair in a pony tail, whose name escapes me. While dropping my kids off she was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed again for mlk weekend as we have ever year since lodge opened. It again proved to be perfect ski weekend. The hill was wonderful with great snow even tho they haven't had much natural snow this year. They managed ski traffic wonder my with a minute wait at most even at peak times. They have something for all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My extended family stayed here between Christmas and New Year's. Even though there wasn't as much snow as we wanted (can only blame Mother Nature for that), we had a great time...spa, fitness room, water slides, face painting by the fireplace for the kids. Thankfully, there was enough snow for skiing and tubing the second and third day we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second trip with our kids for some wintertime fun at Hope Lake Lodge. The room was very comfortable, clean and well decorated. We again enjoyed the water park and arcade. My only criticism of this place is that for the price, I would like a few more amenities and options. For example, the dining is really mediocre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights the day after Christmas. The staff were very nice and knowledgable about the area. The snow tubing at Greek peak was fun! The water park was great for our kids, clean and a lot of friendly lifeguards. We had a suite that connected a bedroom and a Murphy bed and pull out sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby D, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. Please be sure to check out our waterpark included packages the next time you're considering staying with us. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a phenomenal few days at this lovely, well run, friendly winter lodge. Skiing and waterpark were both a huge hit with our kids, and they are dying to go back. A real gem in central New York! Only complaint is with the mediocre and overpriced meal at the lodge restaurant, Acorn Grill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby D, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that your family had such a great time. We appreciate your feedback and we are always striving to improve in the areas where our guests notice the room for improvement. More 

new york
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spoke to a manager tonight because I was unable to book one night in computer, it said two min nights required. Manager had no idea what was going on. Spoke to someone woman today, at 5:15pm. She gave me a price quote for $607 for one night and $789 for two nights (that's a we'd and Thursday night) plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Solebury, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This ended up being one of our least favorite ski trips. It was a real mixed bag of some good and also some real disappointments: First the good: - despite a holiday week, the skiing was pretty uncrowded with small lift lines. - Newer Trax bar and grill is nice with good food and a decent view of the mountain.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Vernon, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the lodge for a ski/splash weekend. We weren't traveling with children, so found that the splash passes were a bit of a waste of money for us. The water park part (splash park and slides) is really designed for families with young children. We were only really interested in the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub, and those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby D, Manager at Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback . Next time you visit, please inquire about our Ski and Stay package. All stays do include complimentary access to our outdoor heated pool and hot tub. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2177 Clute Road, Virgil, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Virgil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Lake Hotel Cortland
Hope Lake Lodge And Conference Center

1,655 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
3:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (1472)
Viewed
Amenities (191)
Viewed
Cedar River Suite (224)
Viewed
Eagle's Nest (126)
Viewed
High Falls Suite (94)
Viewed
Ledge Rock (99)
Viewed
Loon Hollow (104)
Viewed
Northwoods Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
River Rocks Suite (170)
Viewed
Roaring Brook (97)
Viewed
Split Rocks Suite (119)
Viewed
The Hotel (120)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay