We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Hanmer Springs hotels

Hot Springs Motor Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hot Springs Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
90%
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kazzav Surfers Paradise, Australia
  • Reviews (84)
  • Photos (30)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time we have stayed here and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spotless, beds lovely and clean, amenities. The bathroom was HUGE with a corner spa and shower. The service wasn't the greatest, but there seemed to be a huge influx of people arriving at once. We checked in around 2 and relaxed a while enjoying the view. Wandered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one night stay here but were impressed with service and the room for a motor lodge. Staff were helpful with suggestions on when to visit the hot springs for better value. Towels were also provided for the pools free of charge. The views from the room were impressive, the heating and hot water systems were incredibly effective... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room looked out to the hills - magnificent view. Warm and comfortable and loved the king size bed. The restaurant on site was welcomed due to the very cold, damp weather we experienced. Loved happy hour - running for 3 hours too. Service staff very hospitable and owners very welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Thewilsons31, thank you for your review, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent at the Five Stags Restaurant which is located next door. Hardly no snow this winter but we have had our share of damp days and I agree to spend time at the restaurant in front of the fire... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here in February for a night on our way through to Nelson. The first thing I noticed on arriving to our room was how much space there was. Huge bathroom and huge studio room, not to mention the massive bed and TV. A very quiet location, perfect for couples. I would happily recommend this motel to others. Hopefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello RachelRay22, thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us in February and thank you for recommending us to others. A verbal recommendation is such a positive reinforcement to have for a business. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon Kind regards Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs... More

Timaru
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely spacious room but the ventilation in the bathroom left much to be desired. Looking forward to a wonderful spa bath but was dodging condensation drips off the ceiling despite the heater being on and window open. We were warned to keep the door shut from the bathroom for fear of setting off the fire alarm system in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Rox4, I was sorry to read that the condensation in your bathroom caused you discomfort and have since had the extractor fans in all bathrooms checked to ensure they are operating to reduce the build up of excess steam in the bathrooms. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Hanmer Springs Kind regards Kim and Warren... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Yet another lovely relaxing stay last weekend. Have stayed in different rooms over recent visits. The view from upstairs in A Block is amazing looking West up the Lewis Pass way and the balcony is great for viewing the evening sunsets and night-sky if you are a star-gazer! B Block is further away from the main road and so quieter.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello JanPal2013, thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stays with us. I agree, we have such easy access to the mighty Dog Stream Walk - something we enjoy walking ourselves regularly. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon Kind ergards Kim, Warren and the team from Hot Springs Motor Lodge More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Great place. Clean, modern and the managers couldn't have done more to accommodate us. Will definitely stay here next time in Hanmer. It's superior to other places I've been to before in Hanmer. Welcoming and modern. Thanks for the great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello MariaD, thank you for your review of your lovely review of your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon Kind regards Warren and Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge More

Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

we got upgraded from standard room to room with a spa bath.. Wasn't really worth it because when the jets turn on all this scum came out ruining the water .. Also there was small carpet caterpillars when pulling out fold out couch.. Views were lovely and got towels for pool. The restaurant they recommend next door is poor though.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello JessieJazzCat, thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that we did not deliver and you were disappointed. The clear ness of our water has been a concern lately with the pump filtration system into the village of Hanmer Springs being under repair after a malfunction -... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

By this stage of our trip around NZ we were confused about how far ahead to book, or even if that was necessary. Having gone past the New Year we had found if more difficult to just turn up so had been booking ahead the night before. In popular place like Hanmer Springs this means less choice, since places seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Randrnz and thank you for your review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read we could accommodate you the night before your arrival and you found the room very comfortable. You are very correct in that Hanmer Springs can get very busy in the weekends and during the holiday season so booking in advance is a... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home from a nice relaxing night away for our anniversary. Couldnt have asked for more! Most impressed with how clean the room was, also modern and comfertable. The resturant was awesome to, great food, attentive staff. Certainly will be back and will recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant and our rooms and had a relaxing night away celebrating your anniversary Kind regards Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hot Springs Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hanmer Springs with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs #9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
32

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hot Springs Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer