We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Larchwood Motel

18 Bath Street | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Larchwood Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reasonable motel/studio accommodation in Hanmer Springs within a nice stroll to the shops,cafes,restaurants, churches, markets (when on) and Thermal Pools complex. On site there is a solar-heated indoor pool for the warmer months - lovely private spa pool for guests use all year round.This was our second stay and we will be back. We may also return with a group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed for one night in autumn. Hanmer Springs was cold that night so the heater provided was a welcome sight upon reaching our room. The beds were OK, the towels and face cloths were good, and the room clean and tidy. The room décor is VERY dated. The kitchenette was fully stocked with crockery and cutlery and facilities to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

While it was clean it was very dated, the grounds were uncared for, the bed was really uncomfortable, the pool was filthy and could not be used. Not a pleasurable experience, worth spending a few extra dollars to get something nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Hanmer Springs hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Horrible service! We had booked one room for one night but were charged for two rooms because of a booking error (not at our end). They said because we had not cancelled before the cancellation date we still had to pay the fee, even though we had no idea there was an extra room to cancel! The man was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately, the fact was that you booked two rooms. You booked first room on 21st January 2015 and the second one was booked on 23rd February 2015, both through booking.com, and there was no booking error at either end. When you were informed of this, you asked for the key for the second room and... More 

Glentunnel, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Like all Kiwi's we were looking for a Quiet,Clean,Motel at a good price.Found it here at the Larchwood!! If Ya lookin' for 5 star luxury go and pay the money somewhere else.Rooms tidy,clean and well provisioned.Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
new zealand
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
82 hotel reviews
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This is an older motel in a very quiet area of Hanmer. It suited our purposes perfectly. We were just staying a night. The bed was comfortable, the shower excellent, it was clean and quiet. Its not a flash place, but the price reflects that. I rated it very good overall,not as an indication of the age, but for value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Yes, the price is right...but that is about it. Very dated. The Queen bedroom (which was actually a full bed and a twin bed) is located up a flight of stairs. The small - not so clean - bathroom is on the first floor. you get the picture. No close to town or the Springs. Pay a little more...you won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We stayed here very recently for 2 nights at the tail end of our West Coast trip. Motel is a bit outdated but fairly spacious for 2 people. Bathroom tiny but clean, kitchen had full facilities which is great when self-catering. The owner talked about the pool in response to an earlier post on here....well it still hasn't been drained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

This place is comfortable and clean but very dated.the price is cheap but you get what you pay for..It does have more space than some of the more expensive places in hanmer but no pool or hot tub that can to used or enjoyed even though these are shown on the website.The photos are outdated as well.Ok for one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Well what a crap hole when we arrived and went to room open door and it smelt as did inside of fridge It had only 6 channels on TV but could only get 3 the queen size bed was only a double the room was dirty and very small.The pool was just an over sized bath tub and was dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We have investigated the issues you raised. A misreporting of cleaning work and a series of unlucky coincidence resulted in the room you stayed was not up to the standard it usually should have. We have modified our management... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities