We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Larchwood Motel

18 Bath Street | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Larchwood Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Motel had all the basics required, bed, Sky tv, kitchen unit, close to the town centre and pools......but what was missing was a clean unit, hot water wasn't hot and the worst was old vomit still down the front of toilet. Staff very apologetic.

Helpful?
Thank Billy M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and the office was empty and had to call the owner. He arrived smartly and we checked in with no fuss. Room was 2 rooms queen bed I the lounge and 2 singles up stars with an adjoining room with a double bed. All was clean and tidy. The bathroom had a spa bath in it. Again clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

I rate places based on whether it meets my expectations. For a room under a 100 bucks, I want a clean place. I don't go looking for a Four Seasons when I am simply looking for a good night's sleep. Larchwood gets it done. Easy find. The owner (I think) friendly and attentive. Room was fine. It Sky cable. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hyo K
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We only had one night here which was all we wanted. The motel was average and basic but was cheaper than anywhere else in Hanmer. Handy to shops and restaurants etc. Plenty of off road parking. Walls between units thin so very noisy during the night when busy.

Helpful?
Thank 2014angela52
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We booked from a hotel website and it looked nice. When we go there we were told to fill out form. We queried the price as it was advertised cheaper on a billboard but we were told we had to pay the dearer price as we booked through the hotel website. Motel room was dirty, dark, damp and moldy. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, however, we would thank you more if you allow us to make a special price for promotions from time to time for some rooms which unfortunately you did not book for. Please contact us directly next time to make a booking and we will try our very best to give you the very best special... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hanmer Springs hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

Had an overnight we can stay at the larchwood motel. The owner was very friendly and warm welcoming. The room we booked was a one bedroom Queen and was comfy affordable and cosy room. Recommend getting this bedroom rather than anyof the other ones because it is cheap and also a greatly wee room.

Helpful?
1 Thank 275jakec
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Reasonable motel/studio accommodation in Hanmer Springs within a nice stroll to the shops,cafes,restaurants, churches, markets (when on) and Thermal Pools complex. On site there is a solar-heated indoor pool for the warmer months - lovely private spa pool for guests use all year round.This was our second stay and we will be back. We may also return with a group... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleynz1
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed for one night in autumn. Hanmer Springs was cold that night so the heater provided was a welcome sight upon reaching our room. The beds were OK, the towels and face cloths were good, and the room clean and tidy. The room décor is VERY dated. The kitchenette was fully stocked with crockery and cutlery and facilities to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank peewee1010
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

While it was clean it was very dated, the grounds were uncared for, the bed was really uncomfortable, the pool was filthy and could not be used. Not a pleasurable experience, worth spending a few extra dollars to get something nice!

Helpful?
3 Thank caramelslice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

Horrible service! We had booked one room for one night but were charged for two rooms because of a booking error (not at our end). They said because we had not cancelled before the cancellation date we still had to pay the fee, even though we had no idea there was an extra room to cancel! The man was very... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Esther1234567
ManagerOfLarchwood, Manager at Larchwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately, the fact was that you booked two rooms. You booked first room on 21st January 2015 and the second one was booked on 23rd February 2015, both through booking.com, and there was no booking error at either end. When you were informed of this, you asked for the key for the second room and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#17 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#12 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#2 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay