We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

4.5 of 5 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    104
    61
    35
    11
See reviews for
37
159
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Our family (2 kids) had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in one of the 3 bedroom villas. What we liked: - plenty of space - our balcony overlooking the lake (and watching the ducks) - the central location - friendly staff A few things that would make it excellent: - heating the pool in summer (just a bit cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warren, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayd for 1 night. The villa was clean and tidy but just very used. The kitchen was not well equipped and the oven door would not close properly the cups were chipped and the lack of utensils was disappointing. The "paid" wifi signal strength was so poor you could not even use it you have to walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Stuart J Thanks for your reveiew of the hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet basic expectations for service. Please let me know which villa you were in so that we can proplery address the issues that you raised. We are looking at a soft refurbishment program in the winter and we will look at replacing the furniture... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 1 night at the Heritage Hotel to celebrate my 25th Wedding Anniversary. The " Deluxe " room was quite small and clean however all around the top of the room were lots of spider webs. The spider webs had obviously been there for a long time due to the extensiveness of them. The hotel front desk offered a change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Tony S Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve our service. I will speak to the housekeeping department to make sure that we are doing all we can to make sure the rooms are cleaned properly. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was unique in a town with, basically, newer motels. It had a charm and elegance rare in this part of New Zealand. The grounds were beautiful and provided a quiet place to relax. We had New Year's dinner in the dining room and the food and service were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear MaJaLoe Thanks for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed in a "Garden Cottage" 150m from the main hotel building. Whilst the room was very clean and pleasantly decorated, and the bed comfortable, it was hardly worth the $200 per night. Facilities in the room consisted 2 wine glasses, 2 mugs, an electric kettle and a bottle opener. There was a small selection of tea and coffee sachets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Richard T Thanks for your review of the hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay and we will be looking to make improvements. We will be looking to replace the furniture in our Garden rooms in winter 2015. This soft refurbishment is an ongoing process and we hope to have the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you have trouble carrying luggage don't book this hotel we had to carry all our luggage up two flight of stairs with no help as they don't have lifts.They also offer a pool and gym in the brochure on the crossing. The very unhelpful reception staff say the nearest gym is two hours away and the pool only opens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear tripawa Thanks for your review. I am very disappointed at the service you received. Our pool is open in the summer (Dec-March) and while we don't have a gym onsite there is a gym in the village about 10 minutes' walk away. So I'm not sure why you were told differently. This seems to be a training issue so... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel good in most aspects. Very good restaurant with good service. Few staff on meant long wait as room had not been serviced. 3/4 hour behind allotted time. Had to ask staff to service room even though a sign had been on the door for much of the day. Basic service given - staff seemed unsure of what was required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Bruce H Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve our services. It has been a very busy summer holiday period for the hotel and we didn't get the balance right between controlling costs and meeting guest expectations. We will learn from this and ensure that we have... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed this place. It's worth the trip. The hotel is in a great location. Right in the heart of the village. The room was very comfortable. Because it's Summer it was warm without aircon but really that's only a small fault. The pool are is fantastic and the gardens beautiful. I'd like to come back in Winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jossun Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We are are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at heritage hanmer springs. The village itself was well worth a visit and had a lot of character. The hotel was very comfortable and well worth staying at. The thermal baths just down the road was great fun too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear GJLRED Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in Hanmer Springs itself. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is ideally placed in the central of Hanmer Springs. It is directly opposite a supermarket so it is convienient. It is also nearby Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Spa. The rooms are very clean and beautiful. Look out of the window and see mountains and trees. It is a great place to stay if in Hanmer Springs. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear KLim897 Thank you very much for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay