We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    122
    67
    35
    12
See reviews for
43
177
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

went here with my wife for a honeymoon just for one night. this is place in centrally located and 50 meters away from all shops and cafes. rooms are specious and very much clean. did not try restaurant this time but menu was looking good. i would definitely recommend this to other people. staff was very much helpful and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Likhil Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a good trip back to Auckland. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived on a Saturday morning and the staff were wonderful , allowing early check in. We booked a deluxe room which was very nice indeed. The hotel is set in peaceful grounds which is nice for a sit of an evening. The buffet breakfast was very tasty and well worth it. I assumed using the laundry was free but later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear medusa84 Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great weekend at a lovely old building, so a bit old fashioned. The front desk was a bit casual. Took a long time for two people to try to sort out a misbooking before we could be attended to. No milk in fridge. Had to ask. No price list for minibar. Very dull lighting in rooms. BUT had upgrade to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear DMVG Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall but I will be following up on the concerns you raised to make sure we are thinking ahead to anticipate our guests' needs. Thanks again for bringing these to our attention. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan... More 

Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a treat, to stay with my in-laws, and not bear the cost of the stay, but I would have thought we would get a bit more bang for the buck. The surrounds are gorgeous, and the food, delicious... breakfast was generous and well provided. However, plates were cleared so quickly, it was taking us about 18 plates to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear mitchperko Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all guest feedback and appreciate your honesty. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi (500MB per day) for all our guests and this should have been explained to you on check in. Over and above the complimentary Wi-Fi the rates for paid Wi-Fi start... More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fresh from a visit at another heritage location our expectations were pretty high. It was the little things that let us down at Hamner Springs. We couldn't access the Internet in the garden room. There were only two towels given, and being a woman with long hair I used both leaving my partner with a wet towel to use. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Stefan_and_Erika Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We take all guest feedback very seriously and we are concerned to hear about the experience you had last week. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we will be taking steps to address the issues... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heritage Hanmer Springs has great street appeal as you drive up. Once inside the reception area has lovely appeal also. We booked a garden room on advice from the staff member when we called as there was a wedding being held but as informed all noise stopped at midnight which was great. The garden room was lovely to sit as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Faye B Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights here, and found it to be a comfortable and well-run hotel with helpful staff. But there seemed to be a number of aspects that had not been thought through. 1. Gravel is not a suitable surface for hotel paths. Guests have luggage, and suitcase wheels do not work well on gravel. 2. Guests have luggage, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear sydneynick Thanks for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the services we offer because it provides valuable insight on how we can improve. From the description you give I believe that you were staying in one of our Garden Rooms. We are currently looking at updating some of the furniture in our Garden Rooms over... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent place to come and relax. Loved the room size and the comfortable beds. Breakfast was good and nice food. Great general location to all the shops and hot pools. Loved staying here and would come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear TheBuckleys1 Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a great stay! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you had a good trip home. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good quality, fine, clean, elegantly faded, hotel in a well maintained garden setting. We had a large fine room. Sadly our experience was let down by a substandard pinched and mean wifi acess policy. The free allowance is easily used up and the next connection is available at an excessive price. This detracted for us from an otherwise happy experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Richard J Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments about our Wi-Fi plans that we offer. Options for Wi-Fi access in Hanmer Springs are somewhat limited as the Village is located 400 metres above sea level and in the mountains, however we use an experienced Wi-Fi supplier who does a good... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay. Comfy beds and staff were very pleasant. Walking distance to the springs and in the middle of the shopping. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Vickie B Thanks for your review of the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you had a good trip home. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question