We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

4.5 of 5 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    108
    61
    35
    11
See reviews for
39
160
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a last minute decision to visit Hanmer Springs and the Heritage was the only hotel/motel able to accommodate us. Not only did we get a great room, but it was for a very good price. The room was a corner one, sunny and with great ventilation, which was fantastic for this hot summer night. (The fan in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear deborahmacnz Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Heritage in Hamner Springs for our Valentines. It was the Valentines package. It was AMAZING!!! Thankyou so much for making it a wonderful, relaxing and romantic time away. We dont go away often so it was so nice to go somewhere so fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Emma Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs! We strive to achieve memorable experiences for our guests and we are thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience with us last weekend! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent Waitangi weekend in Hanmer and stayed at the Heritage. Warm, clean, friendly. Close to town. 500Mb wifi. It didn't last with 2 kids but it was enough for the important stuff. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Peter M Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went down to hamner springson Waitangi day and had an awesome time. The service was great. Very helpful. The room was lovely and clean. The cleaning staff were lovely and friendly. The breakfast was very tasty and fresh.The only complaint I've got is I think the receptionist could have been a bit more cheerful.She didn't acknowledge us at all when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear 41janice52 Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Plenty of space for our family of 3. Big room, big bathroom. No free wifi. Great central location. Would have loved a lift to get ourselves and our luggage upstairs, although the staff did offer. The accommodation suited us well. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Anna J Thanks for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We appreciate your feedback and will take it on board. The hotel has always not had a lift - since the 1930s when it was built - and we are looking at options for this - all of which are very expensive! In the meantime, staff carrying bags... More 

Helston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well presented and clean. The garden suites are great for a couple with individual parking spots by your room, so no need to take luggage up or down stairs. The hotel location is central and near to significant range of Restraunts and the main attraction of Hanmer Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear David P Thanks for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope you had a good trip home. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family (2 kids) had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in one of the 3 bedroom villas. What we liked: - plenty of space - our balcony overlooking the lake (and watching the ducks) - the central location - friendly staff A few things that would make it excellent: - heating the pool in summer (just a bit cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear lojo22 Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and will consider the suggestions you have made in our future planning. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Warren, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We stayd for 1 night. The villa was clean and tidy but just very used. The kitchen was not well equipped and the oven door would not close properly the cups were chipped and the lack of utensils was disappointing. The "paid" wifi signal strength was so poor you could not even use it you have to walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Stuart J Thanks for your reveiew of the hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet basic expectations for service. Please let me know which villa you were in so that we can proplery address the issues that you raised. We are looking at a soft refurbishment program in the winter and we will look at replacing the furniture... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

Booked 1 night at the Heritage Hotel to celebrate my 25th Wedding Anniversary. The " Deluxe " room was quite small and clean however all around the top of the room were lots of spider webs. The spider webs had obviously been there for a long time due to the extensiveness of them. The hotel front desk offered a change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Tony S Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve our service. I will speak to the housekeeping department to make sure that we are doing all we can to make sure the rooms are cleaned properly. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The hotel was unique in a town with, basically, newer motels. It had a charm and elegance rare in this part of New Zealand. The grounds were beautiful and provided a quiet place to relax. We had New Year's dinner in the dining room and the food and service were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear MaJaLoe Thanks for your review of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay