We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Hanmer Springs hotels

Heritage Hanmer Springs

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heritage Hanmer Springs to your Saves list
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
65%
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
angelakevin2013 Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    97
    51
    32
    8
See reviews for
31
139
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The deluxe (joke) Garden suite was completely misrepresented and over priced. Service was poor. Actually we have nothing nice to say about this shoddy experience. Avoid. There are lots of better places to stay in Hamner. No need to pay big $ for a deluxe nothing when you can get a nice Motel for less.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The villas are excellent to stay in and are fully equipped. The log burner fire is a real bonus. Beds are very comfy. Sky Tv also a plus. Breakfast buffet good but did find by 10 am the hot food wasn't that hot and a bit limp. Food needed to be restocked more quickly and more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear angelakevin2013 Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback because we use it to improve our standard of service. I will be speaking to the restaurant staff to make sure that they are checking the food temperature more regularly. I will also pass on your comments about the sausages to the Executive... More

Akaroa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a quiet two night stay in a garden villa - The heater and lights had been turned on prior to arrival - a warm and cosy atmosphere as I entered the villa. Studio style with a queen bed in the main room, wardrobe, tea & coffee making facilities, separate bathroom with quality toiletries. The bed was super comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Margy M Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and your positive comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place to stay. the room was great and the bed really comfy. Only complaint was position of the tv on the wall, would have been better at end of bed. the staff were great and very helpful. We arrived early and they let us straight into our room. we went down to happy hour and sat by the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Sandy22New Zealand Thanks for your review of the hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in Hanmer! We will be looking at installing swinging wall brackets for all our TVs so that they are easier to see from the bed. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again... More

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night on 22 August 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. I particularly loved the Spanish architecture, no lifts, grand carpets in the hallway and how quiet the hotel was situated back from the road and with garden and mountain views. The staff were friendly and professional. The location was perfect for a nice 5 minute walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jude T Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. Hanmer is an excellent place to visit (and to live) and we are really glad you enjoyed your experience here – both at the hotel and in Hanmer itself. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Hanmer for the night. We booked a deal with two passes for the hot pools and full breakfast. It was excellent value for money. We dined at the restaurant that night and although there were only two staff on (it was a Sunday night) and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear 123Walker99 Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. I have passed on your comments about our staff, particularly the staff in the restaurant. I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager so that the staff are aware of this excellent feedback. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards,... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We purchased a special offer for one night's stay, a 2-course meal & buffet breakfast. For less than $300 for the whole lot for both my husband & I combined, I felt like it was good value for money. We pulled into the hotel, to a full carpark and no parking attendants in sight. After parking out on the road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Response posted 20th August 2014 Dear Louise T Thanks very much for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, however it is a concern that there was a delay in greeting you on arrival. Please let me know which day you stayed at the hotel and I will follow up to make sure that... More

Southampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We`d been over to NZ from the UK, roadtripping around after seeing Queens of the Stone Age in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, had covered 4000 miles and were one day away from the end of our trip. A lot of people had mentioned Hanmer Springs and its relaxing spas; so we thought we`d indulge a bit and stay here, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Pat and Maria Thanks for your review of the hotel. It’s a shame that your experience at the Heritage Hanmer Springs was mixed. I am the new General Manager at the hotel - for nearly 4 weeks now - and I have made a concerted effort for staff to focus on customer service going forward because we are nothing... More

Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Service was terrible, I was asked for ID (because of the minibar in the room) I have never been asked this before. No lift, there was only stairs which was not fun with a large heavy bag. The room was really small and there was no rubbish bin. Was woken up by the next room in the morning with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jemz-01 Thanks for your feedback on the hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Please let me know which room you were staying in and on which date and I will follow up with the hotel staff to find out what happened. Thanks. Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Amberley, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was very nice room was very nice and relaxing only stayed one night but was really nice. Would definitely go back. The breakfast was amazing with lots of variety and the staff were very nice welcoming and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear EmmaH Thanks for your review of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards. Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heritage Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hanmer Springs with
any amenities