We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    131
    73
    35
    14
See reviews for
47
189
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (333)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the second time we have stayed in the 3 brm villas which overlook a pretty little pond, complete with ducks who will eagerly gobble up leftover bread. Hanmer Springs is a popular tourist attraction, particularly in winter when tourists come to enjoy the thermal springs, and there are many accommodation options to choose from. We opted to book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear ZimKiwiTraveller Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will follow up on the issue you mentioned with the oven with our Housekeeping team to re-iterate the importance of attention to detail at all... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 4th visit to Hanmer but our first at the Heritage which I booked as a treat for my husbands birthday. We stayed in a 3 brm (one room was a mezzanie loft style) villa. The villa was large and spacious for 2 adults and 3 teenagers, modern with excellent amenities. However.......check-in is at 2pm however we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear BBs Family Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the heating issues you had in your villa We have been experiencing some extremely cold temperatures this winter, sometimes as low as -10 degrees overnight with severe frosts in the mornings. We made the decision to install... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Heritage is a mix of hotel room and garden chalet style rooms. We have stayed in both and I recommend the garden ones. They are larger and away from the hotel hustle and bustle. When we stayed for our honeymoon we were in the hotel right next to the stairs, very noisy but they moved us to a quieter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear mikalex16 Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback because it helps up to maintain and improve the services that we offer. Thanks for your excellent feedback about our staff - I will make sure that they get the credit they deserve. We are currently working on a soft refurbishment... More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be honest this visit was a bit of a disappointment, we had based our ideas of Heritage Hotels on our very good experience in Auckland. Hammer isn't the same, the hotel is nice enough but a bit tired, it's ready for a makeover. The breakfast buffet was very average, if Four Square did breakfasts they would be better and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Markoffshore Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We do appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it is very important to us in ensuring standards are maintained and improved. The Club Premier Pacific program does as you you say offer a raft of discounts and inclusions one of which is a complimentary night... More 

Renwick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Hanmer on a regular basis to see family. We prefer to eat vegetarian and have had some disappointing meals here over the last 2 years or so. However, it would seem that Duncan has been instrumental in lifting the standard of the vegetarian food considerably. We ate there a week or so ago and it was absolutely superb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Pammy50 Thanks so much for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We really appreciate your feedback – we have been focusing more on providing healthy options on our menus and it is great to get such positive feedback. I will make sure that the staff get credit for their hard work. We are thrilled that you had such... More 

Barcelona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

.... but this is an hotel past its best in some areas eg: the restaurant. The staff are very helpful & friendly both waiting and front of house. The rooms are a little tired - we were given a disabled room on the ground floor, even though this wasn't necessary, and we would have preferred a "smarter" room on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Lovescatz Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it is very important to us in ensuring standards are maintained and improved. We are currently looking at a refurbishment program to freshen up and modernize the décor in the rooms. This is an... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to have a 5 night stay in one of the 3 bedroom Villa's. There is a separate car entrance for the villa's so very private. Our villa overlooked a lovely little lake, with plenty of ducks for the kids to feed. The Villa's had garage parking, fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, stereo, dvd player, heaters and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Merctaylor Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We really appreciate your feedback because it's very important to us for ensuring that standards are maintained and improved. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a weekend at the heritage hotel having a work conference. Firstly the rooms were spacious clean and tidy and had everything a 4 star hotel should. Very comfortable. We had breakfast each day which was very good with a good selection of food. Nice views into the garden from the restaurant. We had dinner in the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Praxmeyer Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We really appreciate your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful place to spend time relaxing or doing business. The property is everything from chill out to business and the staff are great willing to do anything to help. Rooms and amenities are great. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Heritage Hannmer Springs. We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely sunny room. Very warm rooms and corridors. This hotel felt very homely and cosy to walk into. Lovely comfortable beds and arm chairs. A very nice complex to walk around outside with a swimming pool and tennis courts which would be wonderful in the summer. A very enjoyable winter stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear ireneeliz Thanks for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#3 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#4 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top