We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Hanmer Springs hotels

Heritage Hanmer Springs

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Heritage Hanmer Springs to your Saves list
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
64%
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Hanmer Springs
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Jude T Nelson, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (241)
  • Photos (63)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    51
    32
    7
See reviews for
31
137
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night on 22 August 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. I particularly loved the Spanish architecture, no lifts, grand carpets in the hallway and how quiet the hotel was situated back from the road and with garden and mountain views. The staff were friendly and professional. The location was perfect for a nice 5 minute walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jude T Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. Hanmer is an excellent place to visit (and to live) and we are really glad you enjoyed your experience here – both at the hotel and in Hanmer itself. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Hanmer for the night. We booked a deal with two passes for the hot pools and full breakfast. It was excellent value for money. We dined at the restaurant that night and although there were only two staff on (it was a Sunday night) and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear 123Walker99 Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. I have passed on your comments about our staff, particularly the staff in the restaurant. I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager so that the staff are aware of this excellent feedback. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards,... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We purchased a special offer for one night's stay, a 2-course meal & buffet breakfast. For less than $300 for the whole lot for both my husband & I combined, I felt like it was good value for money. We pulled into the hotel, to a full carpark and no parking attendants in sight. After parking out on the road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Response posted 20th August 2014 Dear Louise T Thanks very much for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, however it is a concern that there was a delay in greeting you on arrival. Please let me know which day you stayed at the hotel and I will follow up to make sure that... More

Southampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We`d been over to NZ from the UK, roadtripping around after seeing Queens of the Stone Age in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch, had covered 4000 miles and were one day away from the end of our trip. A lot of people had mentioned Hanmer Springs and its relaxing spas; so we thought we`d indulge a bit and stay here, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Pat and Maria Thanks for your review of the hotel. It’s a shame that your experience at the Heritage Hanmer Springs was mixed. I am the new General Manager at the hotel - for nearly 4 weeks now - and I have made a concerted effort for staff to focus on customer service going forward because we are nothing... More

Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was terrible, I was asked for ID (because of the minibar in the room) I have never been asked this before. No lift, there was only stairs which was not fun with a large heavy bag. The room was really small and there was no rubbish bin. Was woken up by the next room in the morning with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jemz-01 Thanks for your feedback on the hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Please let me know which room you were staying in and on which date and I will follow up with the hotel staff to find out what happened. Thanks. Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Amberley, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was very nice room was very nice and relaxing only stayed one night but was really nice. Would definitely go back. The breakfast was amazing with lots of variety and the staff were very nice welcoming and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear EmmaH Thanks for your review of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards. Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Christchurch NZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Wife and I have just spent 3 wonderful days at the Heritage Hotel, and could not fault it. On arrival, parking was easy, and we received a most efficient and friendly welcome. Our room was spacious and clean, and the Bathroom huge! The heating was super efficient, and as the temperature plunged to -6 degrees was certainly appreciated. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jelly NZ Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at the Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your positive feedback about our staff. I will make sure that Petyo and Orshi are aware of your great feedback and are commended for their excellent customer service. We look forward... More

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Down from Auckland for a weekend away we could not have chosen a better place to stay. We stayed in a Garden Suite together with our son, 7 years. The room was clean with good bedding, heating and shower, Great views towards the mountains. We booked dinner at Isobel's the on site restauarant. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_HeritageHanmer, Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear rbd1890 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. We really appreciate your excellent feedback about our hotel and our staff – they are our biggest asset! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with family in one of the villas for two nights to attend an event that was being held at the hotel itself. It was the best of both worlds - unlike others from the event who stayed at a house that required cleaning at the end of the stay, we had servicing and unlike staying at the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Kattkattkatty Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Heritage Hanmer Springs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback on our internet service. We did have a connectivity issue last week with our internet service which has since been sorted out. However I will be following up with our internet... More

Waihi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early from Ashburton at 12:00pm but the staff were simply awesome. Checked to see if the room was ready. It was and we left our bags and went by foot to the nearby village shops for lunch. The room was set up well with a nice clean bathroom but a somewhat tired bedroom. In saying this it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear RossCooper, Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken your comments on board regarding our furnishings and will discuss with the team on how we can best resolve this. We hope you had safe trip back to Waihi and we certainly hope to host you again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Heritage Hanmer Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Heritage Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hanmer Springs with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to wash away your city concerns and soak-up the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. But refreshment need not stop at your dip in the hot springs - a stay at the Heritage Hanmer Springs will refresh you every which way. The Heritage Hanmer Springs' historic Hanmer Lodge building has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and is surrounded by immaculately landscaped gardens. The hotel is located in the centre of town, just a stone's throw (well, a short drive) to all of the region's natural wonders. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer