We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
200 Jollies Pass Road | 9 Fowlers Lane, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in an unpowered tent site for 3 nights here and it was the worst experience in our 2 weeks travel. Location is amazing and the price is very attractive. However, you get what you pay for. When I asked the hostess if the advertised "hot shower" (instead of a lukewarm water from a hot tub) was going to... More 

Helpful?
Thank emi-gorsky
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. You forgot to mention that the owner was VERY angry with you, when she had to come to the campground at 12.30 at night after receiving a complaint that there was a group of people having a midnight BBQ outside the main kitchen area and had all the lights... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The campground is well located, only a few minutes from hanmer springs by car. The price is also great, 11pp for a tent site! When we arrived the staff seemed friendly and we asked to have friends visit us, which was also ok. She said they have to be gone at 11pm. But then we were located at the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulanantje
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for you comment, you did not include that you booked in on a wet afternoon for 2 people to sleep in your little car,and that the people with you in a van were not staying here, only visiting with you until 11pm. When I asked why you couldn't visit with them as we have a policy for... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful grounds with soft grass and lovely trees. Amenities were ok, no hot water for our showers though. Great price for a tent site at $11pp. Nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of hanmer springs to this relaxing campground. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank nicola_anne_11
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We stayed in the self contained apartment & found it to be spacious, clean, very comfortable beds & super powerful hot shower! Loved our short stay at the alpine apartments & campground as there was so much space for the children to run around & play games, it had a real kiwi family atmosphere & the owners were extremely kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stony6
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to know people take the time to write a review, and I do hope your journey was just as enjoyable. Lee & Greg More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Set away from the centre of Hanmer Springs. Idealic setting, views of the Mountains in three directions. Camping sites very spacious, powered and unpowered, kitchen well equipped and very clean toilet faciliities. BBQs available. Did not book and surprised by the low price for 1 person. Happy with that! Short drive or cycle into Hanmer, some excellent mtb tracks from... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert l
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is always a pleasure to know people enjoy their stay. May you have many more great experiences during your travels. Lee & Greg More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Not only is the setting itself absolutely beautiful, the facilities were clean and there were lots of them! This homely camp ground had absolutely everything needed for a fulfilling and comfortable camping experience. The couple that own the grounds are extremely friendly and were superb hosts, the two helped me and my partner out a lot when we were in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Merubiko
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the lovely feedback. The horses are not part of our property, but we have had them next door for a long time, they are very friendly. Also thanks for the lovely photos posted, it's great for others to see. Hope the rest of your holiday around... More 

Hixon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We stayed here at the beginning of November 2015. Lee and Greg are excellent hosts and gave us a very warm and friendly welcome and couldn't do enough for us!! The self contained units are immaculate and very good value for money. The whole campsite including shared facilities (e.g. Kitchen/laundry/shower blocks) were always clean and tidy and the setting is... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelleglen666
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to read comments like yours. The pleasure was all ours. Cheers Lee & Greg More 

Canterbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

This is the second time we have stayed here and once again it was Fantastic ! The first time we stayed in a self contained kitchen cabin and couldn't fault it.This time we stayed in the Smithy ,again self contained but a bit classier. The units are perfectly clean and well appointed ,well priced too :) The rural location is... More 

Helpful?
Thank wannabe_off_work
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Wow!! this the kind of review that we strive to achieve. When people enjoy their stay with us and leave happy stay, it makes our day. thanks so much, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to write this review, to help others make their decision on where they may want to stay.... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We stayed here for one night in a campervan. There had been quite a lot of snow and so part of the park was closed to prevent people getting bogged, but our site was fairly close to the kitchen/bathroom blocks. The staff were warm and friendly, and the price was reasonable. There is paid wifi available but we didn't use... More 

Helpful?
Thank pauashel
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and yes it can be a setback with the weather, although the snow is fun for all, it does have it's downside. Thanks for your patience and kindness (re: not being able to access our Dumpsite) Hopefully you had some great travels. Lee... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Where do I begin? First of all the grounds are beautiful and peaceful and basically in the middle of Hanmer Forest. It is removed from town, about a 20-25 minute walk in each direction down a lovely forest path and because of this it is QUIET. Hanmer was hectic as anything this past weekend and we had no idea until... More 

Helpful?
Thank Splash135
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Wow!! Thanks so much for you kind words, and we would love to have you back. We try to cater to everyone's taste and needs, in which layout suits each family. Some like the forest setting and others like the Mountain views, and providing clean and comfortable facilities for everyone to use is our highest priority. Yes, we love the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#17 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#11 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#3 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay