We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanmer Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hanmer Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Nice homely wooden hostel with a free session on the massage chair ! The host is knowledgeable about hiking and is a pleasure to chat with. Yoko, his wife also provided great service on the phone for bookings.

Helpful?
Thank soh h
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here because it was the cheapest place we could find. Normally we would try and avoid backpackers but we were very impressed. It's quite small and cosy with a downstairs where a couple of rooms are, a dining table, kitchen and two bathrooms. Upstairs there was a massage chair, a shared room, a private room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThaliaWilkin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable room, plenty of bathrooms and friendly professional service. Location is fantastic as well. Downstairs room was a little noisy due to people upstairs, but overall this was one of the better backpackers that I've stayed in, excellent value for money and better than most motels.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review. Did not get to see you when you left we hope you have a great holiday! thanks,yoko More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Just stayed one night in the Hanmer Backpacker. Small backpacker but very nice and friendly atmosphere. The manager (sorry i don't remember your name ^_^), is very nice and helpful. The only litte issue, is that one of the dorm is outside the main building, so you could need to walk outside in the cold after your shower ^^'. However... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alquedyal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

I always stay @ Hanmer backpackers when I'm in Hanmer Springs for the night. I stayed last night 18th July n was not disappointed. Thx Tristan n Yoko the place was so toasty warm with the log burner n my bed was so so warm in the dormitory room. Grt friendly hosts n luv the massage chair n WiFi voucher... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Simone T
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

We visited this placed after a day at the loval hot springs. Lovely hostel and very friendly staff. Clean room and bathroom. Bedroom was cold but free hot water bottles helped. Cosy fire and lounge area. Located in scenic spot. Would recommend for travellers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joni M
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We stayed in a family room (separate building) so it was nice and quiet. The hostel is small and cosy, with a very well-equipped kitchen and lounge. The family room had a bunk bed and a queen sized bed (which was two smaller mattresses shoved together, so not as comfortable as it could have been, hence 4 stars). The hostel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myrddrin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Let me start with the massage chair 😍.. awesome! The place is just gorgeous, very clean and well kept, warm and cozy,lovely hosts Tristan and Yoko made us feel very at home. Didn't feel like we were staying at a backpackers, it's like being in a hotel really, the beds are not like what you get in other backpackers. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CheanahFay
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It doesn't feel like a typical backpackers, more like a lodge. We had a Private room upstairs which was quiet and had black out blinds. Free 30mins on the massage chair also. Kitchen area and bathrooms very clean. 5 minutes walk to the hot pools.

Helpful?
1 Thank aimzgallz
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We felt at home as soon as we walked into this cosy backpackers... very friendly inviting and hospitable thanks Tristan and Yoko.. Open plan kitchen dining lounge - very easy to mix and mingle. Leisurely stroll to Hanmer Springs and shops. Great entertainment at the Irish bar. Highly recommend more than one night stay as relaxing place to wander around.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mariajenkinsnz
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#8 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#2 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Camp...
#10 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay