We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Garden Motel

Hotel website
3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpine Garden Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the long weekend and it was perfect. PThe guy in reception was really nice and friendly. He personally showed us to the room which we appreciated - it made us feel comfortable and welcome. The room was spotless, the bedding was crisp and clean and the bed itself was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tetāonga H
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased you found the room spotless as we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our motel! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We stayed here for three nights over the New Year’s weekend and our apartment was spotless on arrival. The motel is very handy to everything in Hanmer and only a few minutes’ walk away from the hot pools. There is free wi-fi, free use of towels for the pool, a choice of DVD’s to borrow from reception to watch in... More 

Helpful?
Thank mooseandbok
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind review, we enjoy having guests like you stay with us :) We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our units! Glad you enjoyed the prime location we have, not to close to everything but also not to far. Hope to see you again. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

This was a well situated, well equipped and clean motel . Everything was in good working order. The unit we had was quiet and comfortable. Parking was outside the unit. There were free towels for the Pool available. There was outdoor seating and a beautiful garden area and Childs play area.( away from the car park). A good selection of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review...we find a lot of our guests enjoy our garden setting and we agree we are very close to all the Village of Hanmer has to offer. Hope to see you again! More 

Bundall, Australia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We arrive casually mid week and early spring at Hanmer Springs to find much of the accommodation already booked out. Apparently a show at a neighboring town has caused a rush. No problem there is some space at the Alpine Gardens which boasts biggish one bedroom units with comprehensive facilities. Kitchenette is useful and the local ion is very quiet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew - Kristi... D
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review, glad you enjoyed the stay. Apologies for the squeaky floor...the joy of wooden buildings :) We pride ourselves on our peaceful site and are pleased you thought we had a quiet location. More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We stayed several nights and found it great. Clean, modern facilities, good views, and a homely style. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, and they have thoughtful extras like towels provided for visiting the towns spas and hot pools. Happy to recommend it to others.

Helpful?
Thank Berne B
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a motel room for one night and stumbled across this place. It's a great place to stay as it's off the main road. The room itself was clean and tidy and had everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The owner was very friendly. I would highly recommend this place for the cost.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review and glad you had a nice stay with us! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Great facilities, location, and very well looked after. A joy to stay there. Town has great facilities nearby including mini golf cafes and a monteiths pub. It's s great town and this accommodation ticks all the boxes. Clean, you get milk, wifi and newspapers

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay! More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night 25 th July. Lovely staff at check in, quiet one bedroom unit. Unit itself I thought was really good value, lots of lounge space. Warm enough for us as it was quite mild the night we stayed. Awesome electric blankets! Great to have pool towels supplied for the pools, and a 5 min walk or less... More 

Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay...apologies for the noisy pipes and guests...next time you stay you should try our Studio Units down the end, hopefully that would be a quieter spot :) More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in an ensuite studio for two nights and although it was reasonably cheap, I'd try somewhere else next time. The location is quite good being easy walking distance to the pools and the village centre. The bedroom/living and kitchen areas were a good size, but the bathroom was small and poky. The small heater took a really long time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback...we are sorry about the issues you mentioned in your review. It was very cold while you were here (-8 frost!) and if you had let us know you weren't warm enough we would have been happy to put an extra heater in your room and show you the extra blankets that were... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We made arrangements to have a very early check-in as we travelled on an overnight flight and consequently had no sleep. Nothing was a problem and we checked in at 8.30 a.m. to enjoy a good, peaceful sleep. The room was beautifully warm and clean with parking at the door. There were lovely views from the grounds over another beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank G P
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We get many people leaving items behind and try to return as much as we can to the rightful owners...glad you enjoyed your stay and we too think we have a very quiet motel here in Hanmer Springs. Hope to see you again :) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#2 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#4 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Harrogate Gardens Motel
#10 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay