We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Garden Motel

Hotel website
3 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Special Price
20% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alpine Garden Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Christchurch
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night 25 th July. Lovely staff at check in, quiet one bedroom unit. Unit itself I thought was really good value, lots of lounge space. Warm enough for us as it was quite mild the night we stayed. Awesome electric blankets! Great to have pool towels supplied for the pools, and a 5 min walk or less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay...apologies for the noisy pipes and guests...next time you stay you should try our Studio Units down the end, hopefully that would be a quieter spot :) More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Stayed in an ensuite studio for two nights and although it was reasonably cheap, I'd try somewhere else next time. The location is quite good being easy walking distance to the pools and the village centre. The bedroom/living and kitchen areas were a good size, but the bathroom was small and poky. The small heater took a really long time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback...we are sorry about the issues you mentioned in your review. It was very cold while you were here (-8 frost!) and if you had let us know you weren't warm enough we would have been happy to put an extra heater in your room and show you the extra blankets that were... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

We made arrangements to have a very early check-in as we travelled on an overnight flight and consequently had no sleep. Nothing was a problem and we checked in at 8.30 a.m. to enjoy a good, peaceful sleep. The room was beautifully warm and clean with parking at the door. There were lovely views from the grounds over another beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We get many people leaving items behind and try to return as much as we can to the rightful owners...glad you enjoyed your stay and we too think we have a very quiet motel here in Hanmer Springs. Hope to see you again :) More 

Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Excellent location,warm,clean and comfortable, quiet setting, great views, friendly helpful hosts, good parking, a few minutes walk to Springs, restaurants and cafes. Extra towels and bath mats provided for guests going to pools, an all round great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thanks for the great review...we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to have such friendly and respectful guests stay with us...hope to see you again one day :) More 

hexham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed for just one night on 17th November.We arrived several hours before check in time and asked if we could leave our car in the car park whilst we visited the nearby hot springs. The welcome was really warm and we were told we could check in immediately. The room was warm and had everything we needed and more!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and we welcome you back anytime. Glad that you enjoyed everything Hanmer Springs has to offer! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Fabulous location. A short stroll from the Springs, and all the restaurants,but quietly tucked away with lovley views at the back. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The kitchen adequately stocked. The guy who managed the lodges was very friendly and helpful. We booked the BBQ one evening, which he set up for us in the garden with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, look forward to seeing you again! More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Lovely motel. Super proximity to pools and town but away from street noise. Appreciated the full kitchen with stove and oven. Was very well equipped. Nice to have outside garden area to sit. Also great DVD selection. Also appreciated the complementary pool towels. Only downside was that the free wifi was terribly slow such that we couldnt use it. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our location! Sorry about the wifi, it is something we are working on, some days it works perfect, others is doesn't. Hope to see you again. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The hosts are very nice and helpful. They accommodated our early check-in, and the hotel provides towels and bathmats for the hot pools. The room was fairly large and had a well supplied kitchen. It was very comfortable overall. They also provide a wide selection of free DVDs to borrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, our first review as the new management! Hope to see you again in future. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Very well equipped and furnished in good position in the town with easy walk to spa and restaurants. The helpful friendly owners provide extra towels for use at the springs. The best motel we stayed in during our 3 week trip to New Zealand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the kind review and hope to see you again in the future. Regards James. More 

Mosman Park, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

Great choice for our four-day stay in Hanmer Springs. Easy walk to the hot springs plus shops and restaurants, comfortable small apartment with full kitchen, friendly and helpful hosts, lovely views of the mountains. Our stay has been great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmsleyNZ, Owner at Alpine Garden Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lois, Thank you for your review. It was great hosting you and your husband for a few days. Sorry that he caught a cold but the mountain air would have been the perfect medicine for it. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Mark More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#9 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#19 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#1 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Harrogate Gardens Motel
#11 of 20 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay