We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood Resort

Certificate of Excellence
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakwood Resort
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    31
    25
    8
See reviews for
76
76
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our second visit and we really like this resort. The food is very good -- we look forward to breakfasts. The room is comfortable and there is lots of attention paid to the grounds. We enjoy the walk to the beach and practice putting greens. Location is convenient to Michigan and close to Ontario resort cities of Grand Bend, Bayfield... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right from check in to check out, this hotel is brilliant. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with beautiful views over the countryside. We stayed here out of season and on our last night we were the only guests in residence!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to share your feedback with our staff! More 

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We came here for our honeymoon. Very pleasant stay. The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was very pleasant. The grounds were lovely and well kept--even for April. A couple of negatives, though. The wifi was very poor. We did not have use of the outdoor hot tub--even though their on line site promised one. Dinner was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your recommendations and I will be sure to pass them on to our senior management team so they can be reviewed. We do look forward to having you back again in the future. More 

Marine City, Michigan
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We stopped in the Oakwood Resort without a reservation on a whim. The staff was friendly and we booked a King room for the night for around $125 CDN. The room was nice overlooking a golf course and it was quiet and clean. We were off season but all the services were available. My girlfriend had a massage at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we are glad you popped in and that you enjoyed your stay wile you were here. More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Oakwood this last weekend. We were warmly greeted and swiftly checked in, despite being a little early. We had just booked a standard room overlooking the golf course. Our room had two queen sized beds and was quite pleasant with lots of wood on one wall and on the beamed ceiling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt that you received good value as that is one thing we always strive to provide our guests. We hope you can come and stay with us again in the future. More 

Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We came here as an anniversary trip and we received great service. Everything is very close walking distance and access to the private beach in the summer is amazing. The room we stayed in was very nice and cozy and close to all of the amenities. We told the bartender that it was our anniversary and when we had dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you making us a part of your special anniversary and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More 

Belle River, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We have stayed here before....about a month ago. We stayed before in a large suite....very costly....but nice and had a good time. This time we are staying in a regular "Deluxe room". The room is nice....but would not pay the in-season summer prices for it. The main complaint we have....is that we just booked the room the evening before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay during your recent visit. It was unfortunate that the pool had to close for maintenance, it was not something we had anticipated. We do understand that it was inconvenient however we did make arrangements for guests to have access to a pool in another location.... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Fun Relaxing Place to be in!!!!! Went with friends. Nice room views. Close the lake Huron and small town center. Good food. Rooms are so well maintained. Washrooms looks brand new. Loved the wood ceilings. Fireplace in rooms. The only thing missing was water and drinks in the cooler plus no safe for your valuables which are small upgrades that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review, your suggestions have been passed on to our senior management team for review. and We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. More 

Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

I attended a conference here . It was very laid back and in a very lovely setting . The best feature is the staff who are very warm and welcoming. It is not particularly modern or trendy but very casual Lake Huron accommodations. Food is yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff as well. More 

Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We just returned from a 2 night mini get away at the Oakwood. We stay at the Oakwood at least twice a year, always for the seasonal dinner and wine tastings, and sometimes for golfing in the summer. This winter we were unable to go south for a vacation and decided to visit the Oakwood again. We always stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad that you continue to enjoy your stays at Oakwood and we look forward to hosting you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities