We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood Resort

Certificate of Excellence
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakwood Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    75
    35
    26
    8
See reviews for
77
78
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Goderich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well the oak wood has a rep., but l don't know what the eat. Two couple for breakfast at 10:30 am very little on the buffet and what meat was there was dry fruit very little, potatoes well we won't go there. One of there saving graces is that my husband asked if they did any other. Egg besides scrambled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you were not happy with the buffet. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our food and beverage manager so he can review with our Chef and dining room staff to see where improvements can be made. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the staff were very kind, courteous and helpful this would not be a place I return to with my small daughter. There were a number of large groups in attendance this past weekend who were partaking in "crates" of alcohol (seen taken to their rooms) and some not so legal substances!! Although I realize this is not the hotel's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we were sorry to hear that your stay was not what you were hoping for as we have many families that come and enjoy all that Oakwood and Grand Bend have to offer. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our General Manager so he can review... More 

London, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on a Saturday night and were part of a large group with which we shared a dinner in a banquet room and then an evening at Dave's Pub. The food was good, service fine and at the pub the bar staff were quick and courteous. In the morning we had the buffet breakfast which was very good with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting around the property. This is actually something we have been reviewing and we will very shortly be adding additional lights to several areas of the property to improve this. We hope you can come stay... More 

Brockville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the pleasure of staying at the Oakwood resort for a conference the first week in June, 2015. The grounds were lovely, and very well maintained. The room my co-worker and I shared was exceptionally clean, and the housekeeping was great. The beds were comfy. We were on a ground floor, which was nice as we could sit outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review! It was good to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with your accommodations. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager regarding the meals so he can review this with his staff. We do hope you come back with your family, we would... More 

Muskoka District, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK So I Figured we rent the Cottage # 78 ,its Run Down Old and Needs Serious Renovation , Dirty Disgusting Bathroom Tiles , Wallpaper Falling off the Wall in Bathroom ,No Hot Water For Jacuzzi Tub ,Filthy Deck and Patio , Staff at Front Desk Have No Idea , Phone in Cottage Does Not Work , Carpet in Cottage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we were sorry to hear that you do not feel the cottage you rented provided good value for the cost. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all departments involved so we can review and put a plan together to improve the cottage. More 

Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at Oakwood Resort to attend a wedding held there. The accommodations were "tired" - clean and adequate, but not the standard expected from this type of resort. The sound system didn't function properly during the wedding, for example. Wait staff in the dining room seemed impatient, and, overall, the atmosphere was not hospitable. The staff in the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and our apologies that your stay was not all that you expected it to be. We do appreciate the feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our senior management team so they can review them and make recommendations to fix the issues you mentioned. More 

Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Our second visit and we really like this resort. The food is very good -- we look forward to breakfasts. The room is comfortable and there is lots of attention paid to the grounds. We enjoy the walk to the beach and practice putting greens. Location is convenient to Michigan and close to Ontario resort cities of Grand Bend, Bayfield... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to having you visit us again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Right from check in to check out, this hotel is brilliant. The rooms are clean, comfortable, with beautiful views over the countryside. We stayed here out of season and on our last night we were the only guests in residence!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to share your feedback with our staff! More 

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We came here for our honeymoon. Very pleasant stay. The room was beautiful and very clean. The staff was very pleasant. The grounds were lovely and well kept--even for April. A couple of negatives, though. The wifi was very poor. We did not have use of the outdoor hot tub--even though their on line site promised one. Dinner was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your recommendations and I will be sure to pass them on to our senior management team so they can be reviewed. We do look forward to having you back again in the future. More 

Marine City, Michigan
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We stopped in the Oakwood Resort without a reservation on a whim. The staff was friendly and we booked a King room for the night for around $125 CDN. The room was nice overlooking a golf course and it was quiet and clean. We were off season but all the services were available. My girlfriend had a massage at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we are glad you popped in and that you enjoyed your stay wile you were here. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay