We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Grand Bend hotels

Oakwood Resort

70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Oakwood Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Grand Bend
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    23
    21
    5
See reviews for
55
50
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I came with our family to Oakwood for a couple days. We were not pleased to know that the cleanliness of the linens were never washed. Our comforters were not washed and when discussing it with one of the employees , they informed us they would see to it that it was taken to be washed. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I apologize that the bedding in your room was not up to our usual standard of cleanliness. We use an outside service for our linen cleaning, it is not handled on site, and we will be sure to review and better inspect our linens when they are returned to us.... More

Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I planned a retreat for 50+ at the resort over the past weekend and everything was absolutely perfect. The staff are courteous, attentive and very nice. They truly went above and beyond to meet our needs. The food was delicious. Our group were strict vegetarians and the chefs ensured that the meals were flavourful, healthy and scrumptious! I could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I know our staff really enjoyed having your group at the resort and we look forward to hosting your next retreat! I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the staff working that weekend as well as others... More

Port Elgin, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thank you for making a weekend getaway this winter truly amazing! We went with the Bed and Breakfast deal and were not disapointed! Two totally different breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday with great service. The room was clean and well appointed and the pool and hottub were clean and well maintained as well. We had a good selection of entrees... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was nice to hear that you enjoyed your getaway at Oakwood! Your comments will be shared with our staff and we will look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Oakwood, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived and were greeted pleasantly at 8:30 PM Sunday evening. Upon visiting Dave's Clubhouse at 8:30 we found it to be extremely busy. The very helpful gentleman negotiated with me to assure us we could get a snack before the kitchen closed. We decided to return in half an hour, knowing he would call our room if space opened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Oakwood! We will be sure to pass your comments on to our Pub staff as well and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend with 3 kids. The hotel room was very clean and the beds were AMAZING.... I want one at my house now! We had dinner Saturday night at the pub and service and food were outstanding. The kids loved swimming in the pool and skating on the outside rink. The resort is beautiful with snow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Oakwood Resort! We are so glad that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the restaurant and the pub as well and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon! More

Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just stayed at the Oakwood Resort for a Hockey Tournament in Sarnia, ON. It was very cold and snowy. The people at Oakwood were very nice, the service was good and the Pub/Bar was awesome. The buffet breakfast in the morning was very good with fresh baked pastries. The service in the Pub was nothing short of awesome. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the pub and other food outlets to be so good. It is nice to hear that although you had some issues they were addressed quickly and did not take away from your overall stay with us. More

Timonium, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My son's youth hockey team stayed at the hotel for a tournament. The rooms were fantastic - large, clean, comfortable, and free high speed wifi accessible from everywhere. Every staff member I encountered was genuinely friendly and accommodating - front desk, restaurant staff, manager etc. In three days there were three examples of a hotel going above and beyond: 1)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to recognize the staff at Oakwood that went "above and beyond" for your team. We will be sure to share your comments with them and we will continue to offer excellent service to everyone who stays with us. More

Townsend Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a very good time staying at your resort. The room was great, bed very comfortable, fabulous pillows would love to know where to get them!!! The Staff at the Pub were great and they make a great martini Thanks for a great weekend. We were there for the Silver Stick Hockey Tournament and will be back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to those working in the pub. We looking forward to having you and your team stay with us again in the future. And by the way, the pillows are from a company called... More

Tavistock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had our hockey team here and we were very happy. We stayed in Oak Lodge but some of our team was in other buildings which was disappointing and preventable!. I loved the fireplace in our room. The mattress was very comfortable. As in all hotels the air is dry but I always bring a humidifier. There are no elevators... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so glad that you were happy with your stay at Oakwood Resort. It is unfortunate that the team were not all in the same building as we do try to keep teams together, however in some cases due to guest requests such as room types, etc it can... More

Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for a Christmas party in December. The place is older with a lot of log style wood, high ceiling and more of a 80s feel. The rooms and bathrooms are nice. The heat is electric which shows that dating. The staff was good and the good was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and food while you were with us for your Christmas party. Regarding the dated look you mentioned we are always trying to improve and update the facility to keep things fresh and modern and we will be sure to look into what else we can do to... More

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grand Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oakwood Resort to your Saves list