We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Grand Bend hotels

Oakwood Resort

70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oakwood Resort to your Saves list
Oakwood Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
70%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Grand Bend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lorrie S Guelph, Ontario, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (180)
  • Photos (51)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (48)
  • More
true
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    26
    22
    7
See reviews for
65
61
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Since I love Grand Bend beach, the best in Ontario and a prime viewing spot for the fantastic Lake Huron sunsets, we went to the Oakwood Inn last summer. We love the location, the 5 min walk to the private beach, the golf course, but the meals and service left a bit to be desired. I am happy to say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it is always great for us to hear when we have been able to improve as we are always working hard to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests! I am glad you enjoyed your recent stays with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff,... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel on August long weekend. Was not impressed with outdated decode, and rooms. Quality of finishes and workmanship and cleanliness for that matter was substandard. The beds on the other hand were very comfortable, and the air conditioner in the room worked. View is much to be desired and the plumbing in bathrooms worked but general fit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate you taking the time to submit it. I have already forwarded your comments on to our senior management team for review. We are always looking for ways to improve and will be working starting in September on updating guestrooms as they do see a large amount of traffic during the summer months. I... More

London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ended up in the Clubhouse Pub restaurant for dinner, we were immediately greeted, offered water, drinks and welcomes from host, servers and anyone else walking around. The waiter we had was especially great, checking back, offering things, and the dinners; chicken tacos and Mac&cheese were excellent. Thanks to all, this place never disappoints!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed everything. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our pub staff and we look forward to having you back again soon! More

Bowmanville, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended a conference last year at this resort and decided to take my family this summer. Another great stay. Room was great, had a suite. Very roomy and had a fantastic sleep.All amenitiys were fantastic. Ate in the dinning room and it was fantastic. Drinks and snacks at Daves Place were again very good. Had a great time and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, it was great to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us both as a corporate and family traveler! We look forward to providing you another great experience when you return! More

Brooklin, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food at the restaurants was amazing! Especially the Italian food buffet. The room was very clean. We stayed at the Pine Lodge bec this is where the pool is located. The staff was very friendly, beach is beautiful... Made for a perfect getaway.... Our toddler didn't want to come home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

We were so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Oakwood Resort. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we look forward to being a part of this new family tradition! More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Oakwood Resort Friday Aug 8th. The room was awesome and the beds were out of this world. Our kids loved the pool and the resort. Were going to stay Sat night also but something came up with my work so had to head home Sat am. Staff were great on the front desk with letting us cancel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

It was great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Oakwood! We look forward to having you and your family back again at the end of the month. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. More

Lakeshore, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time here, stayed during the week and booked a deluxe room with buffet. Food was fabulous especially the dinner buffet. Best cheese cake I ever had! Good variety of food and the convenience of having breakfast and dinner at your resort was nice. <5 min. Walk To sandy beach down a private, wooded road with beautiful homes. That was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again. More

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great experience! The staff was so helpful and friendly. The hotel is very modern but still everything you are looking for from a resort in "cottage" country. The food was out of this world. The views were breath taking. I would recommed this resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Walkerton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Oakwood Inn is such a lovely setting but it is getting very tired looking. We paid $300 for a suite - nothing wonderful. The cement patio looked like it had never been cleaned this season. There were cobwebs all over the railing and the soffit above was a "yucky" looking. For the price it was quite disappointing. On the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit you review. We apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our normal standard. We will be sure to address the items you brought up with our housekeeping staff to ensure this is rectified moving forward. More

Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came here from Toronto with another couple for two nights for some R and R . We ate dinner at the restaurant patio overlooking the golf course. service and food were excellent and prices were reasonable. Rooms were large and well equipped with a fridge. Bathroom Soaps and shampoos, etc were a big disappointment. The room was adequately cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have already notified management of the issue you had with the air conditioner and we will be sure to address this with the specific departments. We have also been looking into our amenities in the room and appreciate your feedback... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oakwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grand Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
126

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer