We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood Resort

Certificate of Excellence
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakwood Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakwood Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    80
    39
    28
    8
See reviews for
81
80
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of friends and I stayed at the Oakwood Resort for my birthday and I found the place to have a great setting and very friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious and I found having access to a private beach to be a bonus. I would stay here again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon! More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed several times. Get a cabin on the side and hit the hot tub and pool. Always a good stay. Play a round of golf. Close to the strip in grand bend. Windsor weekend is always really busy. Plan ahead to get a room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay! More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I gave this hotel a 3-star rating. I have many reasons why I believe that this is not worth 5 stars. I stayed 3 nights and 4 days at this "resort" and at the beginning of my trip I thought I was going to be on here giving a 5-star review, despite everyone else's bad reviews. The trip started off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are sorry to hear that a stay that started out so well ended up not being what you were hoping for. We are always looking for ways to improve the property and appreciate the feedback. It is unfortunate that guests cannot use BBQ's during their stay however this is... More 

Tecumseh, Canada
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures online made this place look a little more upscale. Upon arrival I found a musky smell that did not go away in the rooms. My complaints for the room was it was a deluxe room with a king bed yet only 3 pillows given? |The way the bed was made looked like there was 4 but for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we do appreciate the feedback on the various aspects of your stay. We will review your comments with our senior management team as we look to areas where we can update and make improvements. More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent one night at the resort that included a round of golf, a dînner and a breakfast. The room itself was fine but outdated. The food at Dave's and the breakfast were average at best. The golf course is very poor. The tee blocks on 4 holes are carpet like at the driving range. One hole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves on offering great value to our guests. I will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate managers so we can look at areas where improvements can be made. We do hope that you decide to return in the... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed Oakwood Resort for 3 days in July with our baby and toddler. The resort grounds are very beautiful-mature trees, beautiful landscaping & surrounded by a golf course. On our first day the weather was great so we took the kids to the private beach. It was a quick walk and and the beach was nice. It wasn't overcrowded.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! More 

Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Admittedly I did not take advantage of the beach or pool but we had a room on the second floor of the Oak Lodge and it was quite nice. I did not find the room badly outdated at all. The walls were wood but that is what one might expect of a lodge. Perhaps some of the flooring could stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it was so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do appreciate the feedback regarding the a la carte breakfast menu. I will be sure to forward your suggestion to our Food & Beverage Manager for review. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a 2 day stay here and the Services were fantastic. Rooms are extremely outdated and thinking back on it, all I think of is how dark the rooms were. Carpet needs changing and the lodge needs updating. The Food was average, nothing to rant about and I mean that. Golf Course was lovely and a fun day at it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we do appreciate the feedback and your comments will be reviewed by our senior management team as we look to where we can make updates and improvements around the property. More 

Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives: Nice grounds Proximity to private beach which was potentially nice enough Proximity to Grand Bend Main Street - walking distance Great swimming Pool for the kids Great looking pub onsite - though drinks were unusually expensive Friendly young staff eg made fries specially for the kids Negatives: For what we paid I would expect breakfast to be included or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate both the positive and negative comments and I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to our senior management team for review. Based on your comments we are revamping our buffet dinner to include a kid friendly buffet which will include chicken fingers, a selection... More 

toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you're used to 5star hotels it's not the place. It's decent, outdated and tired looking. Rooms clean, didn't go to the diner. Pool area looked okay and pool was warm but I wouldn't pay the price we did for it again. Private beach was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you found some positives with your stay. We are in the process of looking into where additional updates can be done around property as we always do our best to keep things new and fresh. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
17.0 mi away
The Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Country Side Motel
Country Side Motel
#1 of 1 in Strathroy
2.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bayfield River Cottage Colony
10.5 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Grand Bend
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay