We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakwood Resort

Certificate of Excellence
70671 Bluewater Highway | Box 400, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I forget the exact room we were in, but the room was extremely dated. The beds were very firm, the fixtures were chipping and it just wasn't the cleanest. I give it 2 stars because the breakfast was really good. Will look elsewhere when we travel to Grand Bend next time.

Helpful?
Thank mjgallaway
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town with a large group (hockey tournament) and all families were placed in the same building (Longhouse). Check in went smoothly and we were offered bags of ice on arrival since our building did not have an ice machine. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable for up to four people. The kids had fun exploring the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JLD40
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Oakwood. It was unfortunate that the games room had to be closed as we certainly prefer to have it open for the teams to use as well. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in... More 

Macomb MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go to Oakwood Inn every year in the winter. It's a great place for a weekend getaway. Very cozy feeling to the place. The Pub is excellent for lunch and dinner. The main dining room is not running at full service during the winter however the Pub works out well. We look forward to it every year. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and always look forward to you staying with us. We do agree that the winter is a unique but great time to come and experience Oakwood Resort! More 

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

I was here for my kids hockey tournament. The resort was NOT worth the money. We had a team buffet and they did not refill the food. The main dishes were chicken fingers and fries and pizza. After the kids had their meal the only thing remaining was salad. Our waitress was rude as was the check in staff when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have had an opportunity to look into the issues that you experienced, our staff work very hard to provide all of our guests and groups a wonderful experience. Ample food was provided for the buffet, however, since your team had quite a large amount of additional people that were not booked ahead of time,... More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

The place is beautiful and room was very comfortable. Staff is courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, we could not walk to beach nearby because the weather turned bad with a big snow storm in mid-October! I would recommend this resort without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank antonericp
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding at Oakwood. We're sorry about the snow, we weren't happy about snow in October either! More 

Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I stayed in the main lodge. My room was spacious, clean and I loved that I could open the windows for fresh air. It is a bit dated but for me that is part of the charm.Bar Fridge and coffee maker are provided. I had a very nice sitting area. Housekeeping were very helpful and anything I requested was done... More 

Helpful?
Thank MargotB30
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future! More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

My family has been staying in this resort for at least 4 years. Very convenient location, not too far from downtown, nice short walk to the private beach and of course the golf course. Breakfast buffet is very decent and there are different packages you might be interested in. Rooms are good and have fridges. One thing I don't like... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatM9
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always thankful for our returning guests and hope to have a chance to host your family again next year. Also, we do have an inventory of microwaves that are available at a reasonable cost if you would like to add one to... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

Loved the room with fireplace and panelling with balcony Seemed like a cabin type room Very clean and comfy Brought my own food so didn't try restaurants Disappointed I couldn't watch jays game during the playoffs Probably had it on at the pub but was too tired from driving

Helpful?
Thank kajj21
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come and stay with us again in the future. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

The resort has such potential and while it excels in some areas, you can see the cracks when you look around. The food and bev team are fairly strong although the one night there was a wedding, some couples for dinner and our group of 40 and the service suffered. While the food was good, the bar service was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MotoringAround
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay. We are currently undergoing a full review of the property to determine where we need improvements and your comments are both timely and helpful as we begin this review. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

This past summer we stayed 4 nights in July, it is the second time we stay there ( previous one was 2014). The hotel is nice overall, great location and nice restaurant ( newly renovated) Rooms: we stayed at one of the larger ( cabins) rooms and I find that the carpet and linens needs serious URGENT renovation. The linens... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yandira K
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business and your comments regarding your stay this past summer. Our senior management team is currently reviewing areas we want to focus on for upgrades and renovations so your comments will be a great help. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
7.5 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Espanola
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brentwood on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
Lake Shore Salzburger Hof Resort
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay