We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corner House Hotel

78 High Street, Annan DG12 6DL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Corner House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
warminster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a family room here for one night. It was a spacious room with comfortable beds. Plenty of towels and hot water. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great with plenty to eat. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank trendyblonde
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel to break journey on a long trip - we were looking for somewhere in the Borders and Annan fit the bill for our timings. As we were three generations travelling together we stayed in a pair of rooms with a shared bathroom, which suited us very well. The rooms were solid and unspectacular but perfectly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miriam k
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Miriam. Great to hear that you took advantage of one of our family rooms. I am pleased our staff were able to give you the local information you required and a lovely comment about our breakfast. Hopefully we will see you all again on your next trip through... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been working in Annan for over 18 months and have stayed at the Corner House on a regular basis. I have found the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful (special mention to Mark!) at all times. I have stayed in most of the rooms over the 18 month period and have found them to be clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FionaFStepps
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Fiona, it has truly been a pleasure having you stay with us. Yourself and your husband will be missed by us all. Really lovely review and we very much appreciate you taking the time to write it. Mark was very pleased about his special mention and we all loved reading such lovely comments about your stay... More 

Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Went for coffee and scone with my friend we were very impressed with Christine and Molly. Although it was very busy we didn't have to wait long before being served. The scones were delicious and the atmosphere was very friendly and relaxing. The cleanliness was also very impressive. I will be recommending to my family and friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank catherine l
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Catherine, always great to read nice comments about our hard working staff. Pleased you tried our homemade scones and enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

When booking in to hotel we were upgraded from 2 single rooms to a family room which was lovely. Staff were so helpful and friendly . Breakfast in the hotel was to die for a full Scottish breakfast including haggis. We stayed here a few nights tho not for the first time and will definitely be back again . The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene O
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic review Irene, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for all your kind comments and glad you tried our Scottish breakfast, a must when visiting our area. We pride ourselves on being family friendly hotel and will always try our best to place our guests in the best room we have available. So it... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We called in here just for a drink and won't be back. We have recently bought a place just outside Annan and have been trying some of the various "watering holes" around and we have been shown around by a couple of lovely locals. This place is one to avoid though. Surly, sarcastic staff and over priced drinks, for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Finbar2966
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for your review, although I would like to ask you to give our hotel another chance. I apologise if you were offended on that occasion. and understand that there can be personality clashes with people sometimes, but I feel it is unfair to judge our hotel on one conversation with one member of our staff. It is... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

I never usual write reviews but on trip advisor but on this occasion I feel I have no other option. I had written, via email, to the Manager Oliver advising him of our recent stay and how we felt we weren't dealt with correctly. The room we had to stay in was not open to the public, a workers room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Joanne, I feel your review is very unfair. Your original booking was for 1 night, on arrival you informed us that you in fact required 2 nights. We were fully booked on the night you were staying with us and there was only 1 room available for the second night. This room, as it was clearly explained to you was... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I was greeted by a very helpful chap at reception. Room was clean and tidy. I have noticed some review in the side about the noise level... I can confirm it was fairly horrific on a Saturday night well into the small hours at the club next door/under the hotel. After the club closed there were some other hotel guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank MorganVaughan1990
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the kind comments about our staff and rooms. The hotel staff and myself really appreciate such positive reviews. I apologise for the noise during your stay, we are currently working on a number projects to stop this issue. A noise canellation system has been... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

This is a real gem. Gorgeous old building, good clean rooms, generous sized with en suite and really reasonable prices (the drinks being cheaper than the bar across the road). The staff were AMAZING. So friendly and would do anything for you. But here's the 'but'... I would never pay to stay here again due to the noise level. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emmiejs
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for very much for your review. Our staff loved hearing such lovely comments from you. So sorry to hear that your expectations of your stay with us were changed by outside factors. This is a issue we are aware of and that a small number of our rooms have this problem. We have however, now added a noise... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We had booked a double room en suite, when I booked I asked for a room on the first floor as I have mobility problems, unfortunately this wasn't taken into consideration and I was allocated a room on the second floor, walking with sticks and trying to negotiate narrow turning stairs proved quite tiring for me. The room was compact,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elma P
Oliver M, Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elma, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that you feel that your request wasn't taken in to consideration. Due to the hotel being very busy we only had a small number of double rooms available at the time, unfortunately on this occasion there wasn't any available on the first floor.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
10.2 mi away
No photo provided
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
13.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
7.9 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay