We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Fittleworth hotels

The Swan Inn

Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (97)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fittleworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fittleworth
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
49
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had been to an agm all day and we were looking for a good meal on the way home. The Hotel looked inviting and the board outside said locally sourced meats and south coast seafood. The dining room was almost empty...perhaps that should have told us something. Anyway we sat at a table by the window . The menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best pub lunch I have ever had, superb food and service and the host was charming, we will definitely be returning with friends and family, the garden is amazing and the inside brilliant for winter eating!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff at the Swan couldn't have been more helpful. We had our wedding at a nearby venue and stayed at the Swan the night before and the night of the wedding. They were perfect, and helped at every potential hurdle we faced: from printing a spare copy of my speech(!) to helping with taxis; and we couldn't recommend staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We strongly recommend a stay at the Swan Inn, Fittleworth. We very much liked the rooms in the former stables at the rear of this very old country inn (14,15,16,17) which are quiet and with a good atmosphere. Breakfast was good too, and the staff friendly, polite and helpful. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've been coming to The Swan for about 4 years at the rate of 3 or 4 times a year. Having been firmly on the roster of our favourites for Sunday lunch we were very disappointed on our recent visit. We love the pub so I don't want to be alarmist but the quality of the roast lunch was significantly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy Sunday lunch with us over the last Bank Holiday. Sunday was an exceptionally busy day , we prepared to feed 90 and fed 155 so the Swan was under pressure. Our Roast sirloin of Beef is supplied by John Murray of Loxwood one of the best butchers in West Sussex and of... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Bank Holiday Sunday evening, should have been stuffed to the gunnels with happy drinkers and eaters… but not it was sadly empty. Only came to eat and drink, and even that was a little bit of a challenge. Great service from behind (and in front) of the bar, and a good attempt at keeping us in order, but sadly that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Swan on last Bank Holiday Sunday evening . Sunday in fact was an extremely busy day when our chefs fed 155 people of which 56 ate in the evening so really it should have appeared busy. If our quality suffered it can only be explained by the higher than... More

Pulborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I visited the restaurant with a German exchange student and my family. The food was very poor, the service was very slow and when I highlighted my dissatisfaction to the waitress she was extremely rude and I was embarrassed in front of other guests. I was particularly upset as we were entertaining and this made it even more embarrassing. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that nothing was right for you. We do try hard to please our customers ,on this occasion we failed. We can only offer sincere apologies . We will endeavour to raise our game. More

Plymouth, Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in the Goodwood room, comprising a very comfortable four-poster bed and a well-equipped bathroom. Dual-aspect, with a pretty garden view to the rear. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The dinner menu offered a varied choice; one evening my husband chose the beer-battered cod, followed by the raspberry cheesecake and I had the rack of lamb followed by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We came on a pleasant sunny Sunday and would recommend for a good value Lunch. Good choice of roasts, excellent vegetables. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.We wil certainly come again when we can sample the other menu the Swan offers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We came here today Sunday 9th March with a view to having Sunday lunch and using the B&B However when we arrived we asked for the menu and my partner ordered drinks.......no one came to us to see if we wanted any food, ok you might have to order from bar but this is not clear. It was real ale... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Fittleworth
Swan Hotel Fittleworth
The Swan Inn Fittleworth, West Sussex

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list