We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Fittleworth hotels

The Swan Inn

Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list
The Swan Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
76%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fittleworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
David400 Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (101)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
15
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is not typical for me to complain, I only tend to write TripAdvisor reviews in praise however I was so disappointed with this place that I felt the need to write an impassioned review. We stayed here for a wedding for two nights. It started promising, the room was nice and we had dinner in the pub which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in May. Arrived at 4pm to find it totally shut up. We eventually were let in and shown to our room. The bed had the worst mattress I had slept on since my seven years at boarding school in the1960's . This mattress appeared to have started life in that decade. The food however was outstanding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the food. I can only apologise for the mattress, but I can assure you that this wont happen again. We have recently finished a full refurbishment of all the rooms, the last one being completed on Friday! I'm sure that if you were to... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stopped off here enroute back to london for lunch with my family. Reception from staff was very friendly and interior of pub really nice. Have very picky children but something on the menu for everyone. Pulled pork with bubble and squeak to die for and homemade burgers got the seal of approval from boys!!! Gammon steak melted in mouth. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I'm really please you enjoyed your lunch with us! Sometimes the simple things are the best! Kindest regards More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have recently visited the Swan for an evening meal, we had come to expect an evening with good service and very good food but found the outcome was quite different. The staff were helpful and friendly but seemed worn out and unenthusiastic about their job. The meals themselves were comparable to something no different from what you might find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I can only apologise that we weren't up to your expectations on this occasion. We pride ourselves on our warmth, friendliness and service. So you can imagine my concern if we are not practicing what we preach. Our menu and specials boards offer a real mix of foods and flavours, our pub favourites and grill section is designed... More

Newhaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had been to an agm all day and we were looking for a good meal on the way home. The Hotel looked inviting and the board outside said locally sourced meats and south coast seafood. The dining room was almost empty...perhaps that should have told us something. Anyway we sat at a table by the window . The menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir and Madam, On behalf of the Swan and my Team I can only offer an apology that we have fallen below your expectations. Please be assured that is never our intention to be below par. Due to the high numbers that eat with us on Sunday lunch (we often look after around 120 people) we offer a different... More

Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The best pub lunch I have ever had, superb food and service and the host was charming, we will definitely be returning with friends and family, the garden is amazing and the inside brilliant for winter eating!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff at the Swan couldn't have been more helpful. We had our wedding at a nearby venue and stayed at the Swan the night before and the night of the wedding. They were perfect, and helped at every potential hurdle we faced: from printing a spare copy of my speech(!) to helping with taxis; and we couldn't recommend staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We strongly recommend a stay at the Swan Inn, Fittleworth. We very much liked the rooms in the former stables at the rear of this very old country inn (14,15,16,17) which are quiet and with a good atmosphere. Breakfast was good too, and the staff friendly, polite and helpful. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've been coming to The Swan for about 4 years at the rate of 3 or 4 times a year. Having been firmly on the roster of our favourites for Sunday lunch we were very disappointed on our recent visit. We love the pub so I don't want to be alarmist but the quality of the roast lunch was significantly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy Sunday lunch with us over the last Bank Holiday. Sunday was an exceptionally busy day , we prepared to feed 90 and fed 155 so the Swan was under pressure. Our Roast sirloin of Beef is supplied by John Murray of Loxwood one of the best butchers in West Sussex and of... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Bank Holiday Sunday evening, should have been stuffed to the gunnels with happy drinkers and eaters… but not it was sadly empty. Only came to eat and drink, and even that was a little bit of a challenge. Great service from behind (and in front) of the bar, and a good attempt at keeping us in order, but sadly that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
charlie w, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Swan on last Bank Holiday Sunday evening . Sunday in fact was an extremely busy day when our chefs fed 155 people of which 56 ate in the evening so really it should have appeared busy. If our quality suffered it can only be explained by the higher than... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Lower Street, Fittleworth RH20 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Fittleworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Fittleworth
Swan Hotel Fittleworth
The Swan Inn Fittleworth, West Sussex

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer