We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Ingleton B&Bs / inns

The Wheatsheaf Inn

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Wheatsheaf Inn to your Saves list
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #15 of 19 Ingleton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jo B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (119)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
50
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice pub but it really does need some TLC. The young staff are great and nothing is too much trouble for them. They were cheerful and helpful even though they were there when we arrived at 3.00pm Saturday until we left at 3.00 Sunday. Very close to the Waterfalls Walks but not close enough for me they almost finished me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

thak you for taking the time to leave us this review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay i will pass on your feed back to the team as they will be pleased they do try hard to make sure every one has a great time with us, we hope to see you again in the near future thanks... More

Manchester England
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Friendly and accommodating staff. A good bar and a decent breakfast; although served only for a very limited time. You need to be up early. Also great if you're a dog owner - so conversely not so great if you don't expect dogs in the dining room! Bedding and general room cleanliness was fine. However, the corridors, carpets and bedroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave us this review all your feedback has been taken on bored, we do appritiate all feedback as we are always looking to improve, we are looking into upgrading our upstairs. as we are we do hope to see you again soon thankyou Alice Todd More

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievably bad, went to order food and was told that, despite the pub being almost empty, I would have to wait 75 minutes before I could even order... But at least I was told I could sit and wait if I ordered a drink. Rude bar staff and grubby pub. Went there 9 years ago and would have recommended it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. we are sorry you did not enjoy your experience, We do have a dinning room in which we had a large group booked, which is why you had to wait. We would not want to take your order whilst the large party was under way, meaning you would have had... More

middlesbrough
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Called in her after a walk around the village. They had a beer festival on and although they certainly seemed a good line up musically. The same beers were on offer inside as out so the selection for a beer festival was rather limited and some of the ales were similar. We did get talking to a couple however who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write this review, also thank you for the feedback on the ales, we will bare that in mind on getting the ales in for the next festival thanks Alice More

Lancs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice room, great food, nice ales, top music festival. Lone breakfast waitress did a Stirling job. Rooms are good value. Very busy but able to get served reasonable quickly. Ingleton is a truly great place to visit. Will be returning. 😀

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write this review. we are glad you enjoyed our music festival i know we all really enjoyed working it there will be one next year so please do come in and join the fun. thanks Alice More

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Terrific value for money. Room a little worn around the edges, but all very clean. Staff all very friendly, Victoria especially helpful and efficient. Food delicious, generous portions; only wish the toast was a little crunchier. Choice of wine & beer good. The Wheatsheaf is in a good position for walking or cycling the dales and it's quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave is this review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us our staff do try to make sure everyone has a great experience we are glad you enjoyed your food and drink with us i will pass this review on to the team as they will be very pleased. we thrive... More

Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Sorry but I can not accept the other reviews. The staff are pleasant and friendly, but the room was frankly very dirty. Stained drawer liners, stained carpets, black mould in the shower, cobwebs etc. The bathroom was dusty and stained - even the radiator! I really don't mind basic, but there is no excuse for poor cleaning. And the sickly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. all reviews are taken on bored so we can work on these things and improve them so our customers have better experience. we we are sorry you felt this way about your room we are looking into our standards. thanks Alice More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Wheatsheaf last night (Thursday) and found the evening experience totally different to the morning one. I arrived during a wet and windy afternoon to a roaring fire and a warm welcome. I was shown to my room, which was nothing special, but clean and comfortable. The bar had a couple of real ales, one local and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank You taking the time to write this review all your comments have been taken on bored. we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast. we are also sorry you had to wait for your breakfast but we do cook our breakfast to order and normally when guests are in... More

Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Staff nice enough but the rooms are dreadful. Tired, shabby, paint pealing, stains, bed like a banana, dirty carpets. Food not home made just warmed up. Won't stay again. Website misleading. Stayed march 14 in a double room. Ingleton is nice, this pub was a real let down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, all reviews are greatly appreciated, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are looking into making changes to our letting rooms. All our food is freshly prepared on site and we are sorry you did not enjoy your meals thanks Alice More

glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Relaxing,welcoming and lovely food (big breakfast and even bigger dinner!) The team work hard to keep everyone fed and watered. The room was basic but comfortable and clean. It has been a few years since we were last here but we will be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for tacking the time to leave us a review, your comments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as our team do work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. Your comments will be passed on to the team as they thrive on comments like these. We look forward to seeing you again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer