We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Leyburn B&Bs / inns

Black Swan Hotel

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   on the Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Black Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Black Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
56%
Ranked #17 of 25 Leyburn B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Amanda47ian44 Doncaster, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (1)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • More
true
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    12
    3
    12
See reviews for
10
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in here for something to eat; 3 adults, 2 children (6 years old). Request for vegetarian options met with the response "not on Sunday". Asked for an adult meal of giant yorkshire pudding and sausage to be split between two plates as it was too big for 1. This came out on 1 plate and I had to ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

6 of us called in late on Sunday evening after a long walk... food was lovely and service was good..haydan our waiter was very polite and helpful even though he had just started... will b back very soon. ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms were ok, the carpets need a good shampoo or replacing, the plumbing was noisy, the breakfasts were average nothing to write home about but for £65 it was ok. My sister in law and her husband had the twin room, it did not have any wardrobe or storage. The man who runs it was pleasant enough but only because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with every aspect of your stay. We disagree with your statement that the carpets are old and dirty, they are not old and are cleaned regularly and the vast majority of our guests comment on how clean the rooms are in their reviews. As you said., the room your sister in law... More

newcastle upon tyne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited here last weekend with my family 11 of us....the owner was great very welcoming and friendly and the food was good too. Choice of two meats on the cavery together with a good selection of fresh vegetables at £6.95 excellent value for money. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review and taking the time to write it. We look forward to seeing you again!! More

derby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

my husband and i have just had a fantastic meal here we had steak and ale pie the best we have ever had so very tasty plus the apple pie with custard and vanilla cheese cake with ice cream was also delicious the young lady that served us was very nice and polite will definately recommend but hope to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review . It is much appreciated. Hope to see you again! More

Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent location to visit the Dales, good full English breakfast, great beer. Family room suited myself and two children perfectly and looks out over the square. Would strongly recommend for family or couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a fabulous weekend and we are glad you enjoyed it and took the time to write this review and hope to see you again More

Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the opening day of the Tour de France in Yorkshire, and they put on a great spread. In addition to the pub proper indoors, they set up an outside bar and barbecue. We loved the pulled pork sandwich. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a first rate spot for a stop off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future again More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Picked this as close to Middleton. Also as reasonable price £65 b&b per room. Trad pub. No cards accepted. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great beer and breakfast. Evening meal good price and quality eg scampi and chips €8. Staff v helpful, would stay again,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate people taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!! More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Called for lunch on Friday 20th of June 2014. We was very disappointed. First the young man at the bar made us feel he was doing us a favour to serve us. He was bored and gave the feeling he didn't want to be there. The second was the food. At the price it was poor. The advertised gigantic beer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Booth Thank you for your interesting review that we had in fact been expecting following your less than pleasant reaction to the owners son and housekeeper when they told you that we did not take cards as payment, which appeared to annoy you. You actually ate your food without any complaint which surely, if it was unacceptable and... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

4 of us stayed one night. Found the accomodation homely and exceptionally clean with comfy beds, large rooms and private. Breakfast fine and substantial. Landlord very hospitable and engaging with a good sense of humour and obviously proud of the standard of service the hotel offers. Only thing missing was a lounge like area of the pub to relax away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackswanleyburn, Owner at Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It will be lovely to see you again in the future More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Black Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Hotel

Address: on the Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Swan Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Hotel Leyburn, Yorkshire

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer