We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theobalds Park Hotel

Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theobalds Park Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Theobalds Park Hotel
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    132
    98
    56
    31
See reviews for
56
155
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (393)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a night after a wedding. Compared to other guests our room was very small but still the same price and compared to better places that are much cheaper I found this expensive for quality. There was a droning noise going on all night from either a boiler room or something next to our room, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were due to stay this weekend but after booking in on Friday afternoon, my daughter became ill and we had to return home the same evening (South Yorkshire). The rooms were good and clean and I am sure we would have enjoyed our stay. We were in the Mansion House in a very pleasant room but no view. Unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The outside of the building, particularly the mansion house is beautiful and the grounds are lovely and vast. It's a shame the inside of the mansion house didn't live up to the exterior. I spent two days and 1 night at the hotel as I was on a training course. The meeting rooms at first appear quite grand but then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding, the location & setting is stunning, staff were very friendly & polite, booking in very easy & quick, then to find the room, was a long way from reception & as ours was in the mansion house part, no lift so after 2 trips to & from the car we were ready for a sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I called this hotel to book a room for 1 night. Would of been great if they even answered the phone. I called 15 times and waited 10 minutes a time shocking. If you want to book a room here I don't advise calling to book if you do be prepared to be waiting quite a long time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be fair the hotel is in a great location and is a stunning property, but what lets it's down is the attention to detail for example not putting non conference residents in a quieter part of the hotel and excessive banning doors of returning guests at 2am. If you are a business traveller ask for a quieter spot like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theobalds P, The Theobalds Team at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony1968, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at Theobalds Park. I am disappointed to hear of the issues that occurred during your stay, with regards to the noise you experienced we do try our best to allocate all groups bedrooms together in the same area as we understand that when guests are returning to... More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I literally cannot believe the bad reviews on here, were you staying in the same hotel as us????!! We arrived to a friendly reception staff who directed us to our room and informed us where the bar, resteraunts etc were. We made our way to our room which was lovely, spotlessly clean with modern decor and a nice size. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theobalds P, The Theobalds Team at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LisamarieHardy, Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments. We are so happy that you had such a great stay, we take on board your comments regarding the lighting within the bedrooms. As mentioned in previous reveiws the lighting within our bedrooms is a company standard, howeevr we are looking at options to improve this across the site. I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding here on 21st February 2015. We had 80 day guests and around 150 total in the evening. The day itself was everything we could have wished for. Ewelina was our co-ordinator on the day and she is a true credit to the hotel. The food was amazing - people were telling us all night that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James M, Thank you for you’re outstanding review regarding you’re wedding here with us! we are delighted to of hosted you’re special day for you and glad to hear that everything was perfect for you’re wedding day! Ewelina is delighted by you’re feedback and we are very proud to read such a glowing report about her service and delivery... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is Poor Do not stay here i you wnat a good nights sleep - People running around all night banging doors Food ok but the local chip shop would be better - Dont mention breakfast this was very poor Please mindfull when you book

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian W W, Thank you for you’re review regarding you’re recent stay with us here at Theobalds park. I am however disheartened to read you’re review and the issues you faced during you’re stay. I believe we spoke to you on check out regarding the issues you have mentioned but further help and feedback was refused by yourself and... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must say I'm surprised by the negative reviews on here. I booked a group on reservation at the hotel for her birthday. We arrived and even though I had asked for a room in the main mansion, we were put in the extension. I was worried but when I asked the receptionist, she had a look and explained they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theobalds P, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Study E, Thank you for you’re wonderful review about you’re Groupon stay here at Theobalds Park! I am delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that our reception team here at Theobalds we’re helpful with you’re room allocation and gave you a great view of our grounds! We are glad to hear you would stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question