We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theobalds Park Hotel

4.0 of 5 Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Theobalds Park Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Theobalds Park Hotel
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    129
    95
    53
    29
See reviews for
55
152
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (381)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Bath
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed here lots in the last 4 years I've seen a real decline in standards this month. Food is ok here and this hasn't changed. Reception team are good and process your check in quickly. However, the rooms are not cleaned thoroughly, my first night (room 408) I had the last occupants flower petals and supper on the carpet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel via a Groupon voucher. The pictures on the website look fabulous and I was really expecting something special but it wasn't to be. I'd read the other reviews about the hotel but thought maybe they were exaggerated because the pictures on the website make this hotel look gorgeous and I couldn't wait to get there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here recently after getting a good deal on groupon. we were pleased with our stay but felt that the hotel wasn't really what we would have expected for a 4 star hotel. It was more of a 3 in our experience. There is not much in the area so only book if you have somthing specific to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for one night (valentines day) as friends of ours had recommended it to us as they go there every year but I didn't think it was all that. The rooms need a lick of paint to refresh the room. The lighting was so dim you could hardly see much more if there was no lights on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CGlazer12, Thank you for you’re review regarding you’re recent stay with us here at Theobalds on Valentines day! I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t find our bedroom quality to be of a high standard, our bedrooms are currently under going several maintenance refurbishments. I will pass your feedback on to our property manager and maintenance team regarding... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for a Wedding. The wedding was well organised, and the seperate room in the morning for guest's breakfast was appreciated. However the room, albeit of a decent size, was shabby. The paintwork clearly hadn't been attended to in years. The bed was hard, apparently due to being new according to the manager. There was no bedside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robertinherts, Thank you for you’re feedback regarding you’re stay with us. we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding in the Mansion house, we run many weddings here each year and take pride in our well organised service and standard that we offer. Thank you for you’re feedback regarding your bedroom in the mansion house, some of... More 

Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I also stayed at this hotel for a 2 day sales workshop and must say that my experience was very disappointing. I have stayed many times at the De Vere in Swindon which is a great hotel. This De Vere in comparison was very poor. My room smelt of cigarettes and the plug didn't work in my sink. The meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maxobristol, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us for a training course. I am however disappointed to hear that you’re stay has not lived up to other De Vere Venues that you have stayed at before. I have fed back the issues you experienced with your bedroom and we are now investigating into the smell... More 

Letcombe Regis, OXON
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to attend a 2 day conference / sales course that was being held at this hotel and, to be honest, was not looking forward to it; I am too busy at work didn't really have the time for this but it was compulsory. Oh well, make the most of it - 'at least I'll be staying in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Average hotel, some nice features and formal garden and impressive exterior but it is very badly laid out, staff were mostly nice, unless you want to be right in this location I suggest you stay elsewhere. Food was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at De Vere venues before and have found them excellent, so I was pleased to book the Theobald for a reasonable Sunday night rate, for work 10mins drive away on the Monday morning. The location is stunning; a wonderful Victorian pile just off the M25 near Enfield but lost in it's own grounds so you aren't bothered by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as a birthday treat before visiting nearby Paradise Park. We found the hotel smart enough in lovely grounds and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were pretty friendly most of the time and the breakfast was overpriced but was okay. All in all I would stay here again, but it maybe lacked the quality and finesse that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jodie W, Front Office Manager at Theobalds Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tomf, Thank you for you’re lovely birthday review regarding you’re stay here with us! I am glad to here you enjoyed spending your birthday here with us and enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep! Thank you for you’re feedback and we hope to maybe see you for another birthday celebration! With kind regards Jodie White More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Theobalds Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theobalds Park Hotel

Address: Lieutenant Ellis Way, Cheshunt EN7 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Cheshunt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theobalds Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Theobalds Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theobalds Park Hertfordshire
Hotel Theobalds Park
Theobalds Park Hotel Cheshunt, Hertfordshire

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay