We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA London Lee Valley

Windmill Lane, Cheshunt EN8 9AJ, England
Hotel amenities
YHA London Lee Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
sharonmanc Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    16
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great little YHA, straight off the M25, easy to reach and in a great location. A two minute walk from the main reception and you will find yourself either in the Lee Valley Country Park or at the train station into London or Cambridge. We used this YHA as a base to visit londonf for a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

booked a whole room here was great apart from the noise coming from the a/c. staff were great and as were the grounds.we used it as a stop over on our way to dover but as train station next door would be perfect for london too would use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi macthepost, It is great you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your fab review! We are sorry about the noisey air vents, we are currently waiting for an engineer to come out and investigate, so when you come back that aspect of your stay with be a 5 too!! We look forward to seeing you again and... More 

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with our 3 eldest boys for a weekend visit to London. Not too far away from London central. Definitely worth the money. Youth Hostels get a bad reputation but they've changed a lot. Clean, tidy, and a great location. With a shared kitchen and private bathroom. Recommended highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi There Ginster1982 Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It is great you enjoyed your stay with us! It's lovely to hear that you would recommend us and found us to be great value for money! Being so close to London as we are, as well as being in the countryside at the same time we are so... More 

louth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

If you're not going to be in all day it is great, convenient for travel which is frequent at the station which is a 2 minute walk away. Unexpectedly moved from our room to another lodge which cause interruptions and inconvenience, thin walls so we was woken up by unpleasant sounds from next door, great curtains keeping the room dark,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi Josh J I totally agree that we do have a great location here at Lee Valley with an amazing setting of woodlands!! I am sorry to hear you were moved from your room mid-stay, we do like to ensure that if a room change is required we make guest aware as soon as possible. You are completely right with... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

I was really looking forward to staying in these lovely lodges but I was very disappointed . I did not get a good njghts sleep as the bed was about 2 foot wide and hard as a rock. I was also disturbed twice by fellow travellers. I was unable to relax in the evening as there was nowhere relaxing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hey June F, Thanks for your feedback from your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you didn't have a good nights sleep! If during your stay you were in a dorm room all our bunk beds are of standard bunk size. So I apologies for the hardness of the mattress, did you by any chance speak to the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed one night in a double (was a double with a single over the top). The house was clean and tidy. Shame we couldn't stay to explore the area but we were just travelling through. Main building was quiet but it was a quiet midweek so was expected. All the staff were friendly and happy to help. Only down side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi Lungasg76 I am so glad you enjoy your stay, even though it was a quick trip. But it gives you an excuse to return. I am really sorry that you felt the food had dried out. When we have groups in the food is prepared for a canteen style service. Service is between 6pm and 8pm, we do keep... More 

glos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Lovely little lodges, set outside London. Near M25, good location. We had a private room, Comfy bed, nice duvets, decent shower, unfortunately we could hear every creak and movement from upstairs, so we got very little sleep :( Felt like creaky floorboards, creaky beds, can't say the guests upstairs were particularly noisy. Not sure if it was a dormitory upstairs?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi ioh72 It’s great you like the uniqueness of our awesome lodges! We are super lucky to be situated where we are. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t sleep well during your stay with us. The dorms are upstairs in the lodges – so it is possible you would have heard the group above. Let me apologies for that.... More 

Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We stayed at Lee Valley with a group of 50 students. Our stay was really great. We had three of the five lodges to ourselves. The rooms are quite big and all en-suite which is awesome. Unfortunately, the shower room in my room had a mouldy ceiling. The rest of the room and bathroom were clean. The kitchens in every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi KristinaR329 We are so glad you and your students had a great stay with us. Cheshunt does have everything you need it great for us and not far to get to!! We are sorry you found mould on your bathroom ceiling – I have past this on to our maintenances man to inspect and repair the ceiling to avoid... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed on a work trip (10 of us) and it was perfect. Wifi, new kitchen in our lodge, wifi etc - reception area has been spruced up. Rubbish pubs nearby but not a big deal. Packed breakfast was on time and freshly prepped. We all slept great and appreciated our en suites. Spot on all round.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi Ian B, We are so glad you had a great stay with us! It’s nice to hear you like the kitchens I will let the kitchen know you enjoyed the breakfasts!! I would be interested to know which pubs you went too, when you next visit ask the staff for their recommendations. Thanks Team Lee Valley More 

Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My husband and I along with our daughter visited during the Easter holidays. The hostel itself has excellent facilities and it well located on the lee Valley country park. We stayed in a family room with ensuite bathroom. The room itself was fine, clean, warm and with enough room for travel cot. Unfortunately the bathroom left a lot to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi AmandaG24 Thanks for your review. Sorry about the delay in responding to you. Firstly I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter Holidays. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful park next door and it’s great you managed to enjoy it. We are sorry that you found the bathroom not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheshunt
Theobalds Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cheshunt
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Marriott Cheshunt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Premier Inn Enfield
#1 of 5 in Enfield
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
#1 of 1 in Newgate Street
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#58 of 692 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#184 of 692 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay