We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA London Lee Valley

Windmill Lane, Cheshunt EN8 9AJ, England
Hotel amenities
YHA London Lee Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
June F Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I was really looking forward to staying in these lovely lodges but I was very disappointed . I did not get a good njghts sleep as the bed was about 2 foot wide and hard as a rock. I was also disturbed twice by fellow travellers. I was unable to relax in the evening as there was nowhere relaxing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night in a double (was a double with a single over the top). The house was clean and tidy. Shame we couldn't stay to explore the area but we were just travelling through. Main building was quiet but it was a quiet midweek so was expected. All the staff were friendly and happy to help. Only down side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi Lungasg76 I am so glad you enjoy your stay, even though it was a quick trip. But it gives you an excuse to return. I am really sorry that you felt the food had dried out. When we have groups in the food is prepared for a canteen style service. Service is between 6pm and 8pm, we do keep... More 

glos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely little lodges, set outside London. Near M25, good location. We had a private room, Comfy bed, nice duvets, decent shower, unfortunately we could hear every creak and movement from upstairs, so we got very little sleep :( Felt like creaky floorboards, creaky beds, can't say the guests upstairs were particularly noisy. Not sure if it was a dormitory upstairs?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi ioh72 It’s great you like the uniqueness of our awesome lodges! We are super lucky to be situated where we are. I am disappointed to hear you didn’t sleep well during your stay with us. The dorms are upstairs in the lodges – so it is possible you would have heard the group above. Let me apologies for that.... More 

Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Lee Valley with a group of 50 students. Our stay was really great. We had three of the five lodges to ourselves. The rooms are quite big and all en-suite which is awesome. Unfortunately, the shower room in my room had a mouldy ceiling. The rest of the room and bathroom were clean. The kitchens in every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi KristinaR329 We are so glad you and your students had a great stay with us. Cheshunt does have everything you need it great for us and not far to get to!! We are sorry you found mould on your bathroom ceiling – I have past this on to our maintenances man to inspect and repair the ceiling to avoid... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed on a work trip (10 of us) and it was perfect. Wifi, new kitchen in our lodge, wifi etc - reception area has been spruced up. Rubbish pubs nearby but not a big deal. Packed breakfast was on time and freshly prepped. We all slept great and appreciated our en suites. Spot on all round.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi Ian B, We are so glad you had a great stay with us! It’s nice to hear you like the kitchens I will let the kitchen know you enjoyed the breakfasts!! I would be interested to know which pubs you went too, when you next visit ask the staff for their recommendations. Thanks Team Lee Valley More 

Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My husband and I along with our daughter visited during the Easter holidays. The hostel itself has excellent facilities and it well located on the lee Valley country park. We stayed in a family room with ensuite bathroom. The room itself was fine, clean, warm and with enough room for travel cot. Unfortunately the bathroom left a lot to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Front Office Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hi AmandaG24 Thanks for your review. Sorry about the delay in responding to you. Firstly I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter Holidays. We are so lucky to have such a beautiful park next door and it’s great you managed to enjoy it. We are sorry that you found the bathroom not... More 

Portugal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I stayed in this hostel with a colleague and 28 students. Every member of the staff was really friendly and welcomed us really well. The food was reasonably good, even tasty and one evening when we arrived very late, they served us our dinner later than usual. However, the rooms were not cleaned as we had been told. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of YHA London Lee Valley, it is great to hear your views from a group perspective. I will pass on your kind words regarding the staff and team at Lee Valley. We try to be as accommodating as possible within reasonable timescales when it comes to food and food options. I will review your comments... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

10 mins on overground to London. Very reasonable Quiet location Lovely rooms... Could do with an update though! Will visit again. Kitchen could do with a clean... Handy for teas & coffees but wouldn't advise cooking a full meal here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yhalondonleevalley, Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of YHA London Lee Valley. I totally agree with you that the location of this hostel makes it so unique! being so close to london yet it seems so far because of the park next door! As you could tell when you stayed here this is a very complicated hostel as it had 6... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I have stayed at this hostel twice in the last year and both times found it to be really comfortable, clean, and the staff to be very welcoming and efficient. Compared to some of the recently refurbished YHAs that I have stayed in, some of the facilities are a little tired but it is still a great place to stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yhalondonleevalley, Reception Team Leader at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for your kind words. really glad you came back to stay with us at YHA London Lee Valley and enjoyed your stay. The hostel is going through a regenaration prossess and we are looking at all the facilities we have on offer. As you can imagine with six buildings this is a lently process. I... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I chose this hostel as it was in a very central location, close to the railway station that had express trains straight into the centre on London. The area was lovely and the room and common areas were clean and tidy. However the bathroom was disgusting. Upon opening the bathroom door you are hit with a foul stench of mould... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yhalondonleevalley, Manager at YHA London Lee Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of YHA London Lee Valley - i agree with you, the location to the train station and the park itself is fantastic. The train links into London are just mind blowing when you look at outside the lodges and all you can see is park land. I believe I know the room you are talking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay