We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buck's Head

Certificate of Excellence
Bucks Head Hill, Meonstoke SO32 3NA, England
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meonstoke
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Buck\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had been by this pub for years .As we were out for the day decided to try this pub.Its lovely.Wood burning fire.Typical country pub.Foos was great.Homemade beef burger is the best I have had in years.All clean and tidy.Staff friendly and polite.Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank squire-Roberts
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

The Bucks Head is a pretty pub, in a pretty village..... We popped in because we were running late and they were offering food up to 4pm A Sunday roast of beef and a smaller snack were very quickly provided - My husband would have preferred his broccoli more well done but other than that - he seemed a happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

I had the good fortune to be booked into The Bucks Head in Meonstoke for a couple of nights back in August 2014 when I was in the area on business. Work commitments have meant that I have stayed there for two or three nights for pretty much every week since (until November 2015). Truth is I haven't wanted to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Nicki B, Owner at Buck's Head, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for this lovely review. As great as it is, we would still all rather have you here with us every week instead! So sad you will no longer be joining us regularly, but we will all look forward to seeing you for pleasure rather than business. Many thanks. More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for our second night of the SDW and it was adequate. The room wasn't the largest and had a dark brown rug which I think was to hide the dirt, not that it was particularly dirty but was an average pub room. Food was great and the people cheerful.

Helpful?
Thank Lizcakes
Nicki B, General Manager at Buck's Head, responded to this review

Hi Lizcakes. Although we are indeed on the South Downs way, and take many walkers en route, I think you may be confusing our accommodation with another place. My reason for this is that we do not have any mats anywhere in the property, as they are in my opinion a trip hazard. Our carpets are new, so I have... More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

After a full day walking the South Downs Way we were greeted warmly on arrival and directed to our room which was very comfortable and had an extensive range of teas, coffees and even ground coffee and a cafetière. The shower was excellent, hot and powerful and there were big soft towels. We ate in the pub in the evening,... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesleyannt
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We stayed at The Bucks Head on the first night of our walk along the South Downs Way. The pub and our room were just what we needed - comfy bed and good food. Nicki was a fab host - very welcoming, caring and helpful. We have to say a very big thank you to one of her friends who... More 

Helpful?
Thank London41
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

As part of the Greene King chain, we expected this pub to be good, and we were not disappointed. Choices of beer, wines and (most importantly at 1.00pm on a sunny Sunday) food! From 'quick snacks' to full menu meals, all supported by smiling, friendly staff, promptly cooked and served. Oh! And it all tasted yummy! Our first visit, definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobPrice56
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

The Buck’s Head was one of a number of overnight stays that we made during our navigation of the South Downs Way. We were a group of five cyclists and for our purposes this hotel was ideal. We arrived to a welcome from the owners’ daughter – apparently the business was in her hands while the owners were away. Evidently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff_the_Skier
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Popped in to the Bucks Head today for lunch. It was our first visit and it will certainly not be the last. There is a lovely atmosphere when you walk in, plus you get a lovely warm and friendly welcome from the hosts. We both chose the steak burger which was absolutely gorgeous. Fries brilliant, onions rings fabulous, good ale.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorraineg202
Nicki B, General Manager at Buck's Head, responded to this review

Fantastic! So glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, great feedback on the burgers too! Be glad to see you back with us again, tomato sauce on standby! Thank you More 

Hastings, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Booked in overnight, we knew we would be elsewhere for dinner - but we were in time for lunch. My salmon wellington off the Specials board was about twice the size I expected and the only thing that spoiled it was the smell of my wife's bourguignon beef. There's someone in the kitchen who can really cook ! Cooked breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank jockHastings_UK
Nicki B, Owner at Buck's Head, responded to this review

So pleased you had a good stay, and great idea for nets up downstairs, I will have some put up, Thanks for the great feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meonstoke
8.4 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
5.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 2 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 2 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
George & Falcon
George & Falcon
#1 of 1 in Warnford
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Hampshire Hog
The Hampshire Hog
#2 of 2 in Clanfield
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop's Waltham
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities