We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Hotel

| Market End, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The White Hart Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely atmosphere, great staff and fantastic food. However, very poor on the cleaning/maintainance of rooms. It is such a shame that the stay was marred by unclean bathroom facilities and poor maintainance as you cannot fault the rest of the place. The food is very good and we compliment the chef and his team for all they produce. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris y
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All of your comments will be taken on board and shared with our housekeeping team to ensure that standards are raised immediately. I do hope you will try us again soon. Regards Craig More 

Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For our first Christmas away from home after 20 years, we felt something special was required. As we knew Coggeshall from the old days, we decided to try The White Hart.. And we were not disappointed. Arriving on Christmas Eve, we had a simple and most enjoyable supper before trying a local bar. Our room was good sized with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1NigelT
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you had a great time with us on your first time away from home at Christmas! Your kind words will be shared with the team and we do hope you will visit us again soon. Craig and the team at The White Hart More 

essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was acceptable and the staff were very good, especially the Italian waiter who was cheerful and helpful and full of fun. But something was needed to make it acceptable. Greene King need a good kick in the pants for the state of the place. The bar chair seats were disgustingly filthy, the outside of the building especially at... More 

Helpful?
Thank plannerEssex
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to hear we are closing for a refurbishment at the end of January! Thank you for your kind words about the team, I will be sharing your review with them. See you again soon! Craig and the team at The White Hart More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Met some friends for lunch and was very disappointed with the food. Portion size is very small and even after 3 courses I felt I could eat more and was still peckish. On the positive side, friendly staff and pleasant surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and you enjoyed your surroundings, although I apologise that you felt the portion sizes were too small. I will address this with my kitchen team to ensure that everything is being made correctly. Regards Craig More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

A hotel with lots of olde character and clearly a great place in its day but sadly now in need of some serious TLC. The staff although friendly lacked management and supervision. Our room was small (which was not an issue) however from here on its sadly downhill... A lampshade was missing from one of the wall lights, the bed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Merlot M
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay wasn't enjoyable for you, you will be pleased to hear that our refurbishment is now very near so the issues you encountered in your room will all be rectified. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Regards Craig More 

Travelers are raving about these Coggeshall hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

This was a one night stay en route to a meeting. The welcome from staff was warm and relaxed and the room ready for us although earlier than expected. The room was rather tired and the bathroom in need of attention - a tap barely attached to the basin. It was however adequate. The bar area was pleasant enough although... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan H
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you felt The White Hart could have been better, you will be pleased to hear we are getting the long awaited refurbishment next month, so please do pop back and see the finished result! Craig and the team at The White hart More 

Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night to go to a party, we had a lovely warm welcome from friendly staff on our arrival after a 2.5 hour drive, the room was great, very clean and cosy ,the bed was very comfy, the breakfast was lovely with a good choice and it was cooked to order which was hot, a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy H
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you had a wonderful to time with us and the staff were warm and friendly, your review will be shared with them. Craig and the team at The White Hart More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

This is the first time in thirty years of staying in hotel rooms across Europe that I have ever felt the need to complain. It was a disgrace. Let's be positive, the building looked beautiful, built in the 15th Century (but not decorated since), but the staff were polite and friendly. Sadly, the bar and public area's were shockingly cold,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy B
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. All the points you have mentioned will be looked into, we are due a refurbishment next month which cannot come soon enough which will deal with some of the issues raised. Regards Craig More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Spent two nights here recently, but unfortunately felt we had wasted our money. The room was tired and bathroom suit needs replacing. Breakfast was pretty poor and the dining room also seemed like it needed an overhaul, didn't enjoy breakfast either morning. Also the wifi didn't work at all. On the plus side the staff were friendly and the bed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt your stay was not good value for money, we are due a refurbishment very soon so hopefully you will try us again then....watch this space! I will pass your kind words about the team onto them. Regards Craig More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

We were given a 'superior double' room and I hate to think what a standard room would be like. The furnishings were badly worn, the 4 poster bed had lost its posts leaving holes where they once had been. The room was dark, lighting insufficient, and the room was not properly cleaned (waste left behind). Room was very hot without... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank parson156
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not enjoyable for you, your comments will be shared with the team in order to better the service we offer. With regards to the room issues you experienced, we are having a refurbishment very soon! We do hope you will try us again. Regards Craig More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coggeshall
5.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
5.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.8 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Drapers House Hotel
The Drapers House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay