We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Coggeshall B&Bs / inns

The White Hart Hotel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Market End, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
Hotel amenities
The White Hart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #2 of 2 Coggeshall B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Alpwalker Walkington, United Kingdom
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    56
    34
    18
    17
See reviews for
16
81
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Walkington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arranged to meet relatives in the bar of the hotel for a Sunday evening meal before going on to a family gathering. There is ample seating in a variety of rooms, each offering a slightly different atmosphere and the menu has plenty of choice to meet all needs. The regular offer we were able to take advantage of was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We really appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Dunmow, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel for one night, we had a very basic room at a basic price. The room was clean but in need of some tlc! we had no TV which was not a problem as we were only staying the one night. Bed was fine and we had a good nights sleep. The Hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a nice time in Coggeshall, and thank you for reviewing us. More

preston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

My husband and I rented this hotel for the night before and after our wedding, although we didn't actually have the wedding at venue, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They provided an evening meal for upwards of 50 guests and did a mass breakfast for all our guests who stayed at the hotel. I can't thank the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Your group were an absolute pleasure to have in our hotel, even is you did eat us out of fish and chips!! Congratulations on your wedding, and thanks for your lovely words. More

essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel 29th &30th August, very lovely oldy worldy hotel, room was very clean, bed ok but you feel a bit like being on a boat with the uneven floors, which is all part of the oldness of the hotel, so that was ok. Ate in the evening and the food was lovely, breakfast choice was great, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

The team loved reading your thoughts, thank you for sharing them. Please do come and visit again soon. More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We slept Saturday to Sunday 9 to 10 agosto.Assim we got to the room number 18, was disappointed with the bed, because instead of a well-made bed, with duvet taut, no, I was winded, looked like it had someone slept there, but no, the clothes were clean pads very low .A headboard was full of dust ... I found elastic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

The team loved reading your thoughts, thank you for sharing them. Please do come and visit again soon. More

gravesend
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

took three attempts to attract attention at reception by ringing bell to book in, then long time to check in due to printer not working eventually had to be hand written. Room fine except window at least 8 foot above floor level so could not see out. Room 4 All night road works directly outside for 2 nights and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologise we were not up to our normal high standard on this occasion and have passed your comments on to the team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had our wedding here on 10th July 2014. We had the most amazing day! The room we had our reception in was just stunning!! All the staff worked incredibly hard to make everything for our day perfect! Nothing was too much trouble and we were completely overwhelmed with how fabulous everything was! Special thanks to Paul who was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

It was an absolute please to have your wedding here with us and you all looked beautiful! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our sons wedding was held here on Sunday 6th July 2014. We had a wonderful stay at the White Hart in Coggelshall Essex. Service, food and accommodation was excellent for 3* Hotel. Thank you Paul and your very friendly staff for making this day enjoyable and memorable. Lyn, Clive Hill and our family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to be a part of such a lovely couples big day. Thank you for your comments. Hopefully we shall see you again soon. More

Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The White Hart is part of the Old English Inns group and it's exactly what the title suggests, it's very old and very English with parts of it dating back to Tudor times. Having read some negative reviews, we were concerned about what we would find. What we did find was a very clean, comfortable bedroom with a clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry about the ghosts they're not as reliable as we would like them to be! Absolutely lovely review to read, thank you, I will pass it on to all of the team. I hope you enjoyed your cruise. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

What a gem of old world charm, with the character one would expect. Staff were friendlyand welcoming, rooms were comfy and food was prompt and good value. A bit of old england like the old days, nothing was too much trouble. All in all an enjoyable stay. I would definitely stay again and hope I get to soon. A great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

We also think our building is lovely, thank you for your kind words More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: Market End, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Coggeshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Coggeshall, Essex

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay